We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regal Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the pool area.and a spa bath. Everything about this hotel was splendid. The owners were helpful and gave good advice. It is situated near the main street in Port Douglas and is close to the beach., The pool is lovely and not overcrowded. We ate at the Tin Shed each evening which is close to the hotel and serves excellent food in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    118
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
198
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The best thing about this place is the location and the fact that you are staying in a clean, modern place that isn't charging a ridiculous amount of money.
Service- I should start off by saying that we really did not see the staff after checking in so whilst I rated the service average we really didn't see much of the staff so they could have been very good we just didn't experience that much of them to reach that conclusion. Upon checking in though they were very polite and informative. As their were four of us we had quite a number of bags and it would have been nice to have them offer to assist - no big deal as we probably would have declined but it can be the little things that can leave a lasting impression.
Value-I searched around the net for the best price for what we were getting. We stayed in the top floor 2 bedroom jacuzzi suite for 3 nights for 900. Definitely very good price especially for the location and the room.
Sleep Quality - The beds were medium softness and pillows were comfortable. I believe you could have different choices. There was no noise to be heard from outside. Their is air con and ceiling fan which aided in a comfortable sleep during the hot nights.
Cleanliness - impeccable. When we arrived the place was spotless and the jacuzzi was clean. All throughout the halls and pool area we never noticed any rubbish or maintenance issues. The pool was very clean.
Location-PERFECT. 10 seconds walk and your on the main street. Main street includes grocery shops, the best in restaurants (may I suggest Salsa, Zinc, Nautilus restaurants!), pubs, tour agencies, fashion shops, beach at the end of the road (including the chapel and rex smeal park if you are up there for a wedding). EVen though it's right near everything it is just off the main road so it is in a very quiet street and we did not hear any noise at all.
Rooms-our room was superb. There were 2 rooms. One came with a giant indoor spa bath with outdoor balcony and a mini fridge. The other had a giant shower. There was a lounge room with bar fridge and another balcony with the jacuzzi on it. I like the fact that both couples had their own toilet and shower facilities so we never had to wait on the other.
Fitness centre - I always mark average if I had no experience with what the area is. In this case I did not come across a fitness centre at the hotel.
Room Service- As with the fitness centre we did not utilise any room service and unsure if this is available.

All in all I would highly recommend this place for people to stay. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with the room or location.

Room Tip: Top floor two bedroom with jacuzzi was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emily o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment three years ago and while we loved the location and the facilities found the apartment quite noisy, we could hear the people next door talking and moving furniture and the pool gate constantly slamming.

So this time we booked the one bedroom with rooftop jacuzzi, what a great room! Same facilities as before, a small bar fridge, kitchen crockery, cutlery and utensils a king bed and a spa in the bathroom, also laundry facilities but this time we also had a gorgeous rooftop terrace and a huge jacuzzi.

We still found the place a little noisy with people outdoor our room talking and whistling in the early hours of the morning. We had people in the next door one bedroom jacuzzi apartment for part of our stay, that can also be a bit noisy but we were lucky to have the last part of our stay with no neighbours.

As we stayed more than 8 days we received a mid-stay service, unfortunately we were still having coffee and not dressed when the housekeeper let herself in and had to scrambled into the bedroom as she was opening the door. We had yelled out 'we're coming' but regardless of all the noise we could hear, she couldn't hear us!

The place was lovely and clean when we returned but we weren't given any more toilet paper, one and three quarters of a roll for nine nights seems a little stingy so I think she may have forgotten to leave more rolls.

Regardless of these small issues, we loved the place. As everyone else seems to have said on this site, Sheryl and Bob are lovely hosts. I arrived alone with 3 bags and they carried my bags upstairs for me, which I wasn't expecting. I was given a tour of the facilities by Bob so I knew how to use the TV and jacuzzi.

The location is perfect, right on Macrossan but away from the crowds and an easy walk to four mile beach and to the shops.

We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinas001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We paid for 3 nights at the Regal Port Douglas but only stayed one night. The room was clean but dark and the staff were friendly, but the pool was tiny and in December's heat it really wasnt acceptable. We transfered to Peppers resort around the corner. Do not trust the pictures! They must have been professionally taken because the swimming pool is really about the size of a back yard pool.

Room Tip: Do not go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

My wife and I had 8 nights here and loved every minute of it. Rooms were clean and modern and they had everything we needed. Not that we cooked much, but it was all there when we needed it. We noticed a small problem (it still worked safely) with the ceiling fan and told Bob about it. An electrician was in the next morning and fixed it.
Sheryl and Bob are great people, they are very friendly and helpful. You might find a place that is nicer in Port Douglas, but you wont find people nicer then Sheryl & Bob.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wato35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel is not overly fancy but perfect for a comfortable space in the center of town. A clean pool, room and personal spa bath on our balcony made relaxing times easy and close. A quick few blocks to the beach and maybe 5 blocks to the marina while located on a quiet side street from Macrossan St puts the Regal in the perfect location to fully experience the life of Port Douglas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I returned from Port Douglas recently. We stayed here at the Regal for 12 nights, it is a wonderful place to stay and chill out, very relaxing by the pool. Centrally located the entrance is off Macrossan St about midway, so close to all the restaurants and the beach. Sheryl and Bob make you very welcome and are very friendly as are the rest of the staff. Apartments are very clean and well kept with a variety to choose from with street or pool views from your balcony, with and without a jacuzzi. We would recommend staying here very highly and will be returning there next year all being well.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Port Douglas

Property: Regal Port Douglas
Address: 51 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Port Douglas is ideally situated just off the main street of Port Douglas, this 4 star property boasts spacious, well appointed apartments at excellent value. Situated at the quieter end of Macrossan St, and just a short stroll to Four Mile Beach, Marina Mirage and the Sunday Markets. Regal has a solar heated lagoon pool, BBQ, free internet in the transit lounge, plenty of free car parking available, a conference room seating 8-10 persons, 24/7 checkin available and stair access only to all 3 levels.With a variety of accommodation options on offer, the Studio's have tea, coffee & toaster facilities only, suitable for the short stay with laundry available in the garage. All 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments are self contained with Microwave, hotplates (pots & pans), washing machine and dryer, separate bedroom to living and dining areas and balcony. All units have balconies, AUSTAR, wireless internet (payable), and offering the true Port Douglas experience at an affordable price and for a tropical holiday in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Regal Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing