We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!”
Review of Regal Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regal Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Port Douglas for a few days to hangout and dive the Great Barrier Reef. We stayed at the Regal Port Douglas and were so happy with our choice! The location is the best you can get, as it's right around the corner from all the bars/restaurants and nightlife. Also the famous 4 Mile Beach is a short walk away. Most of the other hotels were either bus rides away or actually on the main drag, which had these super loud squawking birds that lived in the trees outside. The managers of the Regal were so welcoming and friendly too. Our room was very clean and nice. The only downsides were that the rooms are only cleaned if you stay there 5 or more days, and we were forced to take baths instead of showers because there's no shower curtain (just a huge tube and showerhead). If you shower, water goes everywhere (I mean everywhere)! That must be why the rooms are stocked with a push broom. We found we could live with those two things and loved our stay and would definitely stay at the Regal again if we come back to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    127
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
47
217
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire England
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights during glorious weather which included snorkelling on the Barrier Reef. Experience at Regal was all good. Hosts are very welcoming and helpful with eating recommendations. Units are spotlessly clean and well appointed - if a little on the small side. There is also free underground safe parking. There is free internet at a terminal but it closes at 1700 and you need to buy it if you want wi-fi in room. It's a bit of a hike from reception up stairs only to rooms with luggage. All in all very good though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 8 nights, very clean well maintained. Hosts were very helpful with local attractions and locations on what to see and where to go. Very close to everything. Had a great stay, would go back anytime.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January 2013.

The room was comfortable and clean - we had a studio indoor spa room which also had a balcony. It was great for what we needed and well located for getting to the local shops and restaurants (which was just as well since we had some heavy downpours). Also close to the beach and marina.

The hosts were very accommodating, offering advice on local restaurants and tours.

There were no lifts so bear in mind you may have to carry your luggage up and down stairs, but all in all a great stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic walking distance to all amenities, shopping and restaurants.
Stayed here for 2 nights after a 10 day fishing charter which returned to Port Douglas. 1 bedroom unit had spa bath, washing machine and small kitchen again with all the crockery needed. Great value for money, only down side is only stairs no elevator! Pretty rough when we had lots of fishing gear to carry up 3 flights if stairs. Room 34 views where great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniLats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, hard place to find in the dark, main entrance is on the side street. There was a phone we used to call to get the key safe combination. We let ourselves in and stayed for 3 nights. Great location, full kitchen, separate bedroom and balcony. Pool and underground parking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porky113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at the Regal for a week before heading up to Bloomfield Lodge. Not only is it reasonably priced but it is located perfectly at one end of the shopping precinct in the main street and a short walk to the beach. The room was clean, functional, spacious and had a spa on the decking overlooking the pool. While the location was in the shopping precinct there was no noise at night. The hosts helped us with tours and organised a bus trip back to Cairns at 4am in the morning to catch our flight to Bloomfield. Great value for money, will stay there again when I return.

Room Tip: Stay in the room overlooking the pool with a spa on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthPacificWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Port Douglas

Property: Regal Port Douglas
Address: 51 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Port Douglas is ideally situated just off the main street of Port Douglas, this 4 star property boasts spacious, well appointed apartments at excellent value. Situated at the quieter end of Macrossan St, and just a short stroll to Four Mile Beach, Marina Mirage and the Sunday Markets. Regal has a solar heated lagoon pool, BBQ, free internet in the transit lounge, plenty of free car parking available, a conference room seating 8-10 persons, 24/7 checkin available and stair access only to all 3 levels.With a variety of accommodation options on offer, the Studio's have tea, coffee & toaster facilities only, suitable for the short stay with laundry available in the garage. All 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments are self contained with Microwave, hotplates (pots & pans), washing machine and dryer, separate bedroom to living and dining areas and balcony. All units have balconies, AUSTAR, wireless internet (payable), and offering the true Port Douglas experience at an affordable price and for a tropical holiday in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Regal Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing