We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regal Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 7 nights in Port Douglas and we were lucky to find this gem. It was a 1 bedroom apartment with a bed that could sleep a football team. All was clean and fresh. The living area was quite large with an extra sofa bed (we did not need that) and another couch, a table and various chairs. There was a washing machine and a dryer and an initial supply of towels, tea, coffee . No cleaning, but you could have it and pay extra. The balcony was nice, overlooking the nice pool, and on the balcony was a huge jacuzzi which we could heat and use later in the day. Very nice, very relaxing. The only thing that was negative with the spa, was that obviously water is being splashed on the tiles and they get extremely slippery. There is a wooden platform, but then you have to step on to the tiles and I (not a small lady) slipped. Luckily I did not really hurt myself, just a small bruise, but when I told Sheryl and suggested that maybe a sign warning about slippery tiles would be good, she did not really seem that interested. Which was surprising really as otherwise she was very friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed Port Douglas, great place to be. Surprisingly no insects around. The Sunday markets were great, much better than expected.
Love to go back one day and the Regal will definitely be booked again. Loved it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the place and it was fairly quiet because the Regal is at the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CatrinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    118
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
198
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were recently in Port Douglas for a wedding and left choosing accommodation until close to the last minute. There are a number of options in Port Douglas, however as it is a specialised tourist location the rates are very high (and well overpriced). The Regal Port Douglas was by far the best value for money. The place is nothing amazing, however it is clean and decent enough if your real purpose for being in town is to enjoy the weather and the phenomenal Great Barrier Reef. I would recommend Regal for value, staff friendliness and helpfulness and most especially the brilliant location 50m from the main street.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool receive a noisy wakeup with the fountain being turned on in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiKento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights this week and loved it! It is a great location and the Apartments are really spacious. I stayed in a 1 bdrm spa apartment. The spa is definitely a perk and it was nice to relax at the end of each day. Sheryl and Bob were super friendly, quite possibly the most friendly hoteliers I've ever come across! They have a "no fuss" attitude and go out of their way to make your stay great. On my last day, I wasn't flying out until later in the day. They were really helpful in showing me the ground floor showers that I could use, storing my luggage and providing me with a beach towel to use for the day - I didn't even need to ask! Thanks again and I would definitely stay here again. :-) Francine

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancineMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the regal for 7 nights and Bob and Sheryl gave us such a lovely welcome we wished we could have stayed longer.
Our apartment was spotless and having arrived earlier than the check in time were delighted our apartment was ready.
From that point onwards our stay got better and better.
Bob and Sheryl advised us on booking trips and were so kind and helpful to us that by the end of our stay they felt like family.
The apartment had a wonderful jacuzzi on the balcony that we loved coming back to at the end of each busy day.
The bathrooms were modern and the beds wonderfully comfortable.
Bob and Sheryl even helped us sort out booking into our flights online so we could have a later transfer to the airport.
Thank you both for a wonderful stay and will recommend you to everyone.
Josie and Emma uk

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmajanerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Where better to spend a few days basking in the sun mid-winter than Port Douglas, a mere 2 & 1/2-3 hours flight from Sydney to Cairns then a scenic 50 minute drive hugging the beautiful coastline.On arrival at this spotless,well-equipped, centrally located apartment block. greeted by the Regal's friendly managers, we were immediately shown to our spacious apartment, right on the corner of the main street, equidistant to 4 Mile Beach in one direction & the Inlet in the other, connected by tree-lined Macrossan Street, filled with bars, restaurants & charming boutiques, as well as practical places like Coles etc. Keen to hit the nicely landscaped pool, we were happy to find it almost empty as everyone was probably out touring & sightseeing, which was not the purpose of this trip for us, merely desiring a little me-time, veging out after the hard work of the last few months, & purely to escape the southern winter. We enjoyed the peace & quiet, despite it being school holidays, together with the hospitality, & are already planning a return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivvy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have just returned home from a 7 night stay here. We splashed out on one of the rooftop apartments and were blown away with the size of both the apartment and the huge private rooftop courtyard with jacuzzi. We were warmly welcomed by Bob and Sheryl with our bags carried up to our room and everything explained. Like many apartment style hotels in Australia our room was not serviced during our stay - information on the hotel website clearly explains this and it really was no trouble to take our rubbish and recycling down to the bins the couple of times we needed to. The room was spotless, with a comfortable bed and sufficient kitchen equipment to make our own meals. Although very central our room was quiet and we were in disturbed by other guests ( jus a small amount of noise on Saturday night from local bars I imagine but nothing to worry about). Bob and Sheryl were really helpful with suggestions for trips and excursions without being intrusive. Would absolutely, definitely stay here if we return to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: If you really want to treat yourselves go for a rooftop apartment 39 or 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

After staying in a number of holiday units in Port Douglas over many years we had the good fortune to stay at Regal.

We thoroughly recommend this establishment. The unit was clean, bright and roomy very comfortable. We were delighted to find the beach, restaurants and supermarkets nearby yet our unit was very quiet with no noise at all at night. The management was friendly and helpful we could not wish for a nicer place to stay.

The swimming pool and barbecue area is sheltered from the trade winds and it is immaculate. The fountain is a nice feature, which also masks the odd traffic noise during the day.

We were sorry that our holiday came to an end but will definitely return to Regal for an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Port Douglas

Property: Regal Port Douglas
Address: 51 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Port Douglas is ideally situated just off the main street of Port Douglas, this 4 star property boasts spacious, well appointed apartments at excellent value. Situated at the quieter end of Macrossan St, and just a short stroll to Four Mile Beach, Marina Mirage and the Sunday Markets. Regal has a solar heated lagoon pool, BBQ, free internet in the transit lounge, plenty of free car parking available, a conference room seating 8-10 persons, 24/7 checkin available and stair access only to all 3 levels.With a variety of accommodation options on offer, the Studio's have tea, coffee & toaster facilities only, suitable for the short stay with laundry available in the garage. All 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments are self contained with Microwave, hotplates (pots & pans), washing machine and dryer, separate bedroom to living and dining areas and balcony. All units have balconies, AUSTAR, wireless internet (payable), and offering the true Port Douglas experience at an affordable price and for a tropical holiday in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Regal Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing