We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor attitude”
Review of Reef Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Club Resort
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Phoned at 3.30pm to make enquiry's and to book accommodation for Jan 2014, I was told some one was at the desk and I would have to wait for a return phone call from Fin the receptionist. after waiting 40 minutes I called the resort back to be told to I would need to wait as it was check in time at 4.15 in the afternoon. I believe the receptionists name was fin, who was very rude so I replied and said it was ok I'd find another hotel / resort. I was really looking forward to checking out the Reef Club resort but first impression on the phone put me off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Maggiefrench2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

On our whole tour across Australia this was the 'not so brilliant' accommodation. The rooms were small, the kitchen was very basic but the staff were nice and very helpful and the washing machines and dryers were efficient. I think we could have done better with this stay, even the settees were uncomfortable although the beds were Ok. The pool looked good and the area surrounding the pool was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellody66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

a perfect holiday. resort is close to everything. clean and tidy with wonderful staff who are happy to help out. pool was great and it was in the sunshine; so many pools up there are heavily shaded. no problems with my shower. fridge could have been a touch larger. all in all, I recommend and would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: my room was 57 no noise (except the wild birds in the morning), but I had to walk up stairs a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the reef club for 6 days and it was clean but a pretty average resort. The pool was great and the rooms ok but the shower was the worst I have ever had in my life.
We have stayed at many places in port douglas and felt for us this was about one block to far from the main Street.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Hi KatieM ! Thanks for taking the time to share your Reef Club experience. We're so glad you enjoyed the pool and it's beautiful tropical surrounds. We are so disappointed you had trouble with your shower as we have someone one hand at most times that can fix items like that. We occasionally have trouble with the internal bits of the energy saving shower heads but they are easily rectified. Our rooms are all enjoying a facelift over the next few moths so we'd love to welcome you back on your next visit to Port D. Kind regards
The Reef Club Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

this is a very good spot for couples or families to stay for a weekend or week as it is so CENTRAL. 8 minutes to the restaurants in the main street and 3 minutes to the Beach! Pool is good and there is also a spa and a BBQ area in the gardens. Staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy with air con, modern TVs and satellite TV and wifi. Value for money and recommended.

Room Tip: most rooms have some advantages so I always ask for a room facing the gardens and pool area on 1st o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macktheknife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Hey Macktheknife ! Thanks for taking a minute to review the Reef Club. The crew always enjoy a thumbs up from our happy guests. Think a lot of travelers will appreciate your precise description of our awesome location so close to the beach and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Reef Club some day soon. Cheers from the Reef Club Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 12 days at the beginning of August. Unit was clean and tidy but a bit dated. The furnishings could do with replacing, the couch was a little uncomfortable. The shower, which was over the bath, was pathetic and very hard to regulate and the bath was a bit dangerous to stand in as the sides were quite curved. The lighting in the bathroom was quite dull. The kitchen tap was very difficult to swivel. The pool was very clean and just the right temperature and an easy stroll to the beach. No outlook from the unit which was a shame. The internet was a pain and not working properly some of the time but staff were very helpful in resolving issues. So on reflection an ok place to stay but not overwhelming. Port Douglas lovely and you must give the Zip Wire a go - great fun hanging upside down at ages 62 & 63!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Hi Lesley B ! Wow 12 days in paradise ! What a great trip - we are big fans of the Jungle Surfing too. Thanks for your notes on the Reef Club. We agreed that it was time to refresh the rooms and will be receiving beautiful new custom soft furnishings for all the rooms and new blinds as well by the end of this year. Have made a note for maintenance to check on those tap issues you had and am confident they will be sorted. Kind regards The Reef Club Crew !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Nice 2 bedrooms apartment that I have been sharing with my boyfriend and partents.
Good location - no t super central but 10 minutes walking and close to the beach! Every one was really nice and helpful with us. The parking is for free and also the swimmingpool wasn't bad :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Hey VickiR ! Thanks for the short but SWEET shout out for the Reef Club. It's truly appreciated. We hope you'll be back soon. Thanks from the Reef Club Crew !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#40 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#36 of 42 in Port Douglas
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Club Resort

Address: 62-64 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing the perfect base to explore the nearby Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, Reef Club Resort offers quality 4 Star accommodation in an excellent location. Reef Club is just a minute's walk from the world famous 4 Mile Beach and a 10 min stroll from the vibrant Cafes, Bars and Restaurants of Macrossan St. The self-contained apartments have a rustic Mediterranean feel with terracotta floors, timber louvers and earthy tones reflecting the tropical style of North Queensland. Offering one and two bedroom apartments, Reef Club is the perfect getaway for couples and families. After a day taking in the sights and sounds of the many Port Douglas attractions and tours, Reef Club provides a private ambience and cool retreat in the tropics. Surrounded by tropical foliage and shady palms the swimming pool and outdoor spa is the perfect place to bask in the tropical sun or have a barbeque where you can enjoy fresh local seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Club Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing