We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reef family connection”
Review of Reef Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Club Resort
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reef family connection”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We met up with our daughter, husband and our youngest granddaughter at Reef Club. It was a great family location with its closeness to the beach meaning it was easy to get to the water. The pool was a treat for the baby and the families staying loved that family atmosphere. The rooms were lovely and set up for the meal at home as going out every night was not possible. We loved our stay and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been renovated and others haven't so you could ask if this influences you. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    84
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
85
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well located with a short stroll to the beach and an easy 10 minute walk to Macrossan St. Rooms are basic and the shared bathroom got a bit cramped with Mum Dad and 2 boys trying to use the facilities at once. We were unlucky enough to get a room close to the main road with our balcony (and the only dining area) overlooking the ongoing roadworks. As it was school holidays a room swap wasn't an option. If we went again we would definitely ask for a room in tower 2. The staff were very helpful and the pool area with well set up BBQ facilities made up for any shortcomings our room had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJohnnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well after spending a week at the Reef Club Resort it was a very relaxing and quiet experience even thought the school holidays were on .We used the great Bbq area and it was only a short walk to the 4 mile beach .The undercover parking was great and kept the car cool..The bacony with a outdoor setting was great we were located on the second floor.The bit of excersize on the stairs does you good you dont need a lift.The pool and spa were perfect .The only hick up was there was no hot water in our apartment on one morning I reported this to the young lass at reception she was very helpful dealing with problem and the problem was fixed very quickly.The apartment was well equipped and the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. Overall we will be back a very relaxing atmosphere exists. Great value for what you pay and close to Macrasan st with all the restaurants.We were in apartment 12

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rosko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Older style apartment but maintained very well. Position was perfect close to the beach and only 10 minutes walk to town. Very helpful and friendly staff & very knowlledgeable of the area. I recommend for families .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at the Reef Club for five nights last week. Overall a quiet and clean stay - no frills. However the furniture could use some updating. The couch was not comfortable at all and the beds were a bit saggy. We had a top floor room and there is no lift so be aware of the 35 steps you will need to climb with a large heavy suitcase if you are traveling for apx. 3 weeks. Also, note, with the no frills, there are very little amenities included. They don't even include a box of tissues in the bathroom. However, Coles is only about 2km away so you can walk to buy necessities. Location is about 1.2km from the main street with all of the shops and restaurants which is good and there is a good sidewalk leading from the resort to the main street so it is a safe walk at night. Resort staff arranged for our transfers to and from the airport which was very helpful. Used Tropical Journeys for our Rainforest and Reef tours and they picked us up from right outside the resort which was great and not to mention, the tours were fantastic! Overall location and experience was fine since we were hardly ever there except to sleep since we spent most of our time on the beach, at the reef, and in the rainforest. If you plan to spend more time in your apartment it could be tight and crowded and uncomfortable, especially since there were no windows in the second bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdoreEurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Myself and my 2 teenage daughters stayed here for a week. We loved Reef Club Resort. Our room had a balcony with an outdoor setting looking over the pool. It was such a relaxing, easy place to stay. We were so impressed with this place. Quiet, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful pool and spa and a short stroll to the beach. We never heard noise from other guests and the gardens and BBQ area are lovely. Staying here was the best choice we made.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R0sie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I think we were given one of the worst rooms - it faced onto the main street leading into the town centre so the traffic/street walker noise was pretty constant. Additionally, the blinds were poorly fitting meaning that light streamed in first thing in the morning. The room in general was run down - a lampshade was balancing on top of the light globe as it was broken, the walls were covered in scrapes and marks, etc. I liked the decor though - nice wall light fittings and terracotta type tiles. The balcony was tiny but that didn't matter - too many mosquitos to go outside anyway!
I was a bit surprised that they decided to put us on the third floor (no lift) when they were aware we were travelling with a young child - not convenient at all. The car park under the building was handy and we always found a park. An okay walking distance from the beach, but it was too far to walk to the main road with a youngster. The pool and bbq area was nice but the pool was freezing (I think they were planning to fix up the heating).
The reception staff were very friendly and happy to answer questions and book trips.

Room Tip: Try to get the back of the resort - away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Caliphry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.1 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Club Resort

Property: Reef Club Resort
Address: 62-64 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing the perfect base to explore the nearby Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, Reef Club Resort offers quality 4 Star accommodation in an excellent location. Reef Club is just a minute's walk from the world famous 4 Mile Beach and a 10 min stroll from the vibrant Cafes, Bars and Restaurants of Macrossan St. The self-contained apartments have a rustic Mediterranean feel with terracotta floors, timber louvers and earthy tones reflecting the tropical style of North Queensland. Offering one and two bedroom apartments, Reef Club is the perfect getaway for couples and families. After a day taking in the sights and sounds of the many Port Douglas attractions and tours, Reef Club provides a private ambience and cool retreat in the tropics. Surrounded by tropical foliage and shady palms the swimming pool and outdoor spa is the perfect place to bask in the tropical sun or have a barbeque where you can enjoy fresh local seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Club Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing