We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You turn up as guests and leave as friends”
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed in Port Douglas before and this time we were looking for accommodation that was more intimate and not so commercial. So we decided to stay at Mai Tai Resort for 5 nights. From the moment we arrived Anthony & Andre made us feel comfortable and went out of their way to ensure our stay was relaxed and enjoyable. It was relaxing, enjoying breakfast each morning on the terrace, overlooking the panoramic views. Our room was well appointed, clean & the bed was comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded, luxurious boutique style accommodation that caters for adults only then Mai Tai is for you. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday, unfortunately it wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We enjoyed a three day break at Mai Tai. The hosts Anthony and Andre went out of their way to make it memorable, I celebrated my 50th birthday during my stay and there was a suprise box of Swiss chocolates on the bed. We got handy tips of where to go in Port Douglas which were right on the money, local knowledge really helps!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights at Mai Tai Resort and while the weather was less than perfect the accommodation and the hosts made easily up for this. Everything was like described on their website and better. The room, hallway, verandahs were tastefully decorated in Balinese style, the rooms were clean, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast fresh and tasty with a beautiful view from the terrace. Combine that with the very friendly and helpful attitude of the hosts and it makes for a wonderful experience. If you are after a quiet relaxing place with only a few rooms and adult only guests the Mai Tai is highly recommended. You do need a car but nice restaurants are just a few minutes drive away and all attractions are easy to get to by car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

From the moment we arrived Mai Tai resort we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Anthony & Andre. This is the first stage of what promises to be a truly relaxing holiday in this picturesque setting on the boarder of the Daintree Rain forest :)
We were escorted into the Amazingly luxurious Villa with the Best of everything at our fingertips !
Instantly relaxed & now time to crack open a bottle of wine and take in our panoramic views .
Whilst it is a short drive from port Douglas this isn't a problem at all if your wanting luxury, seclusion and privacy .

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really nice and well appointed, however for the ultimate luxury break we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyzsaShar-pei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was fortunate enough to get 3 nights at Mia Tai, and wish I could have stayed longer, the owners Andre and Anthony made the stay of mine ant my partner very comfortable. From the moment we arrived we were greeted and welcomed to the Resort. After a brief introduction Andre showed us to our room that included a guided walk through of the room amenities. The room was lovely, an out door shower was a nice change to the standard bathroom. The hand carved bed was I'm pretty sure a king size and was comfortable. Andre offered some suggestions of day trips of the region and some brochures for us to look through. Each morning we enjoyed a delightful breakfast of local fresh fruit and cereals overlooking the Valley, before heading out to explore. If you want a unique experience located perfected for day drives of the region and into the Daintree, then Mai Tai is the perfect place to stay. I look forward to another Mai Tai experience one day again, next time hopefully for longer.

Room Tip: We had the room at the back of the resort with the outdoor shower, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyRexW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our time at Mai Tai was like an overseas holiday in the tropics situated high on the hill between Port Douglas and Mossman. The owners are passionate about their business and we were treated like we were friends that we haven't seen for a long time. The rooms were very clean and tidy with your own private patio out the back with views outstanding looking over Cassowary Valley. Breakfast was filling with a mixture of cereals, fruit and bread for toast. We were provide with lots of information about the area and information of what was in the area of things to do and go and see. When we go back to the Port Douglas area I know where I will be staying for some R & R and that will be Mai Tai. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the rooms on the right have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Have been amazed at other reviews which has pushed me to actually write this. whilst extremely picturesque & friendly there are no amenities or services, tiny pool & continental breakfast with weetbix in Tupperware. You have to drive 10-15 mins just to get food which u have to do for ever meal... Good but massively overpriced and overrated tripadvisor score, rooms cost double that of the 5star resorts in Port for what is simply a glamourous B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Many thanks for your review we always appreciate positive feedback. However, if you had indeed read the other reviews on Tripadvisor you should have known our location and that we were situated in the beautiful Hinterlands of Port Douglas and not down town. I can’t understand if you believe we are overpriced and not central why would you book and stay here. It’s because of our natural unique location that guests travel from all over the world to stay at Mai Tai. Our fresh salt water pool is approx. 8m X 6m – quite adequate when you consider the size of our retreat. I’m not sure what amenities or services we lack that other places offer?? It sounds to me that you would have been far better off booking one of the cheaper “5 Star” resorts that you talk about with all the services you require ?. As far as breakfast is concerned a lot of your “5 Star” resorts and hotels don’t even provide breakfast or charge $30 plus for the privilege. I’d like to also point out that we serve Weet-Bix, Cornflakes and Muesli in Tupperware containers (which keeps them hygienic and fresh). We serve different types of breads, warm croissants with jams, fruit platter with yogurt, tea, coffee and juice (so I’m not sure why you only mention Weet-Bix?). This is all served complimentary every morning for our guests and we’ve never received any complaint in the past. We know that Mai Tai is not for everyone and we appreciate that, but when you talk about being overrated I presume you’re saying that over 200 guests who reviewed our property got it wrong?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
990 reviews
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
642 reviews
10.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
5.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £95 - £681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing