We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty...but BAD ATTITUDE!....”
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a really pretty boutique resort away from the usual hotels, with great views and lush greenery. Be aware some attitude problems that totally ruined it for me!
And they have 3 large dogs hanging around (st Bernard's I think) and a couple of cats- it's a small place so you can't get distance and it wasn't mentioned to us before. I'm not allergic but found the dog smell overwhelming, especially over breakfast. And the cats found their way into our room sometimes- I usually love animals!
We had to actively ask for toilet roll to be replaced each time, and they would sigh and give us one roll. they kept re-arranging our things and towels etc when we asked them not to, and then had a go at us for not folding our towels neatly on the hand rail?! They also 'told us off' for leaving a lamp on, and other petty things.
Me and my friend felt patronised by them, and they commented and judged us quite a bit. I noticed they treated couples with more respect and didn't comment or judge them in the same way.
I also got really sick whilst I was there with gastro, and they we're very unhelpful and flippant, making a joke about how weak I was after I fainted.the usual banter is one thing but these guys were not putting their customer service skills into practise!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
14  Thank EbbsAndFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights! This resort is truly unique in every way, right from the friendly host, to the rooms, pool and the views over breakfast.

Andre is the most gracious host tending to your every need. He welcomes you personally and gets to know each and every guest. This personal service allows him to recommend activities suited specifically for you such as which reef cruise to take or rainforest trip to do.

The rooms are beautifully appointed with the best furnishings. There is attention to detail in everything. The 4 post beds are just luxury.

The pool area is special, we had the pool to ourselves on each visit. The views are stunning and there are plenty of sun loungers and even a cabana to relax in.

The breakfast with fresh fruit, bread, croissants etc... is excellent not to mention the breathtaking view while you are eating.

If you want to get away from it all in a peaceful and tranquil setting, would thoroughly recommend! Way better than any of the big resorts! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dach1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've been meaning to come back to trip advisor to write this as I couldn't recommend this place enough. My Fiance and I stayed for 3 nights in October and had the BEST time. We chose Mai Tai Resort based on the fantastic reviews here and we were delighted. Andre and Anthony were the most welcoming hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in one of the deluxe suites with the outdoor shower (Loved it). The view was amazing and the breakfast and room were perfect. The attention to detail at Mai Tai sets it apart from other '5 star' establishments. Absolutely exceeded out expectations and we cannot wait to return! Perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: Go the Deluxe suites, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights and loved it. Was debating between here and a couple of the larger 5 star places but this was just sooo cool. Loved the fantastic view with brekky and in fact usually sat out there with a few drinks after returning back for the day to chat with Anthony and Andre, who were awesome hosts. Rooms were gorgeous and clean. Would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend them to anyone going up that way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquaticaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My boyfriend and I loved our stay here - we were there for 4 nights. The whole place is beautifully stylish and the beds really comfortable. The view from the veranda is breathtaking and overall it's perfect for those looking for somewhere peaceful, calm and secluded.
Andre and Anthony are wonderful hosts and so helpful in terms of recommendations for tours, restaurants etc.
You do definitely need a car but that comes as expected with the uniqueness and seclusion of the location. As long as you are prepared to drive to restaurants for dinner each evening it's totally worth it.
Also - we love animals so the cats and dogs were a big plus! But probably something to consider if you have bad allergies as I know some people do (but they are never in the rooms etc, just the outside veranda area).
Overall we loved it, and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Thank you Andre and Anthony for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank auntierach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

There is not a lot to add to what has already been said. Small, quiet and excellent.
Andre and Anthony were away for our first three days, but Dave, their stand-in, was excellent. Nothing was to much trouble.

If you want peace and quiet, charm and a fantastic view with your breakfast look no further.

The only criticisms I have relates to maintenance. Guys, check the room for sticking doors and the shower room cupboard top could do with varnishing. Picky I know, but to be the best etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edcullatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here based on recommendations from TripAdvisor. Not disappointed. The location and surrounding views was excellent. The surrounding well maintained. The room was in perfect size, very clean and comfortable king bedding. Decoration was professionally designed with a good taste. If you care about beauty, comfort, class and very friendly staff (thanks to Andre and Anthony) then, you can't go wrong with this resort. We would definitely stay there again. Alex & Olga.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
770 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
691 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £87 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing