We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast”
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When I was there over a year ago, it was a bed and breakfast. It's not a resort. That was my only problem. We did not want that atmosphere. I'm surprised to see it listed as a resort, when it only has a few rooms. The men that own and run the place are very very nice and provide good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Topaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitairesort, Manager at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
I find it really hard to believe that it has taken this person “a Senior Contributor” a year to write a review and I doubt very much if in fact he or she actually even stayed at Mai Tai. If you look at this persons reviews for the Port Douglas region they were all posted on the 28th January, 2012 and they never made another contribution since 2012. Yet the review for Mai Tai wasn’t posted until 25th April, 2014 (very strange that after no postings for the last 2 years they finally decide to review our property).
If you didn’t want our type of atmosphere as you put it why would you confess that you stayed here at all. Our website clearly states we are a small boutique resort / retreat with only 6 rooms situated in the hinterlands of Port Douglas. So I really don’t understand what you were thinking when you supposedly booked to stay here when quite clearly it wasn’t what you wanted.
We don’t advertise anywhere that we are a bed and breakfast, but if that’s your believe then so be it it’s of no consequence to us.
The meaning “Resort” states “a place frequented by people for relaxation or recreation”, which describes Mai Tai perfectly. The word B &B means “somebodies private home were they rent out rooms for overnight stays to guests”. This is clearly not what we do – guests do not sleep under our roof in our private home.
Over the years we’ve had a few people / competitors trying to discredit our operation here at Mai Tai and destroy our ranking with tripadvisor by marking low and therefore increasing their own status to reach the top.
For the reasons you are stating you didn’t like it is exactly the reason why guests from all over the world book to stay at Mai Tai. Because we are small, boutique and only have a few rooms as you put it. We are indeed very, very nice, honest, hard-working decent men and pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to all those that choose to stay with us. It saddens us to read such a review from somebody who is a Senior Contributor who states he stayed at Mai Tai, who should know better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
370
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Andre and Anthony were fantastic hosts - helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Their extensive past experience working in tourism was evident - they host with flair!

We were more than happy to be within reach of Port Douglas but enjoy the seclusion of this luxury boutique resort.

The 'breakfast with a view' was a great start to each day and the rainforest setting with 'non city' noises a refreshing change.

This was the perfect place to have our celebration.

Mai Tai really is one in a million.

We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caledoniankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Anthony and Andre were very welcoming and friendly as well as helpful with planning activities during our stay. The accommodation was boutique and unique in a quiet location that overlooked the Daintree rainforest. It was a short drive from port Douglas, about 10 km out so a car is essential. We knew this in advance so there were no problems. I really enjoyed my stay and I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italiankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mai Tai for our last trip away before our first child arrives. As you can imagine, we were looking for peace and quiet with views to die for. Mai Tai provided all that and more.
The room was spotless, very comfortable and had everything you could need. The other guests were regulars (a good sign), and welcoming. Anthony and Andre had gone above and beyond booking certain attractions for us around Port Douglas, everything planned perfectly. Saying that, they also encouraged us to relax as much as possible (instead of racing round fitting in as much sight seeing as we could). We even had a massuese come to Mai Tai for us (and she is very good).
If you are looking for a big hotel, this is not it. However, if you are looking to go somewhere they know your name and actually care about your well being, this is the place. My husband and I can not sing their praises enough, they really do love their business and it shows.
Go here to relax, sleep, indulge and take in the tropics.
As soon as we can, we will be back to stay again!

Room Tip: If you can book the room with the out door shower, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After a long flight, a couple of hectic days in Sydney and a few days stay in a large hotel further down the coast my husband Barrie and I arrived at the Mai Tai and it was like stepping into another world. The entrance to the bedrooms gives the appearance of entering a temple. The Orchid room is delightful with the outside shower and seating area with lovely views of the rainforest and the mesh over the windows means that the sounds can be enjoyed without fear of insects encroaching. We felt so welcomed by our hosts Andre and Anthony who we enjoyed chatting with over breakfast and they shared their knowledge of the area which was very useful and interesting. We only stayed for three days in December but wished we had stayed longer. This place touches your soul once you relax into it and after returning home to the UK after a month in Australia it is one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Well, what else is there to add? The house, location and view (see photo) are absolutely stunning. The deluxe suite and the outdoor shower are super. Showering was a great experience with the sounds of nature in the background! Andre and Anthony are perfect hosts and very interested. Nothing seems too much for them. We have really enjoyed our stay! When we left, I even got a little Christmas present. Thanks, the chocolates were lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecko2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed with Andre and Anthony for the Great Barrier Reef portion of our Australian honeymoon. I have been contemplating this review for awhile, because I am not sure I can do justice to how great our experience was.

First off, the resort is AMAZING. The beauty of the surrounding area is incredible, but Anthony and Andre have managed to create a beautiful oasis in a well-appointed, relaxing, and beautifully designed property, overlooking the cane fields, mountains, and rainforest. Anthony described the renovation, gardening, planting thought, and care that went into every detail, including planting the trees coming up the driveway, and the various sources of fruit that are utilized to create a fresh, hyper-local breakfast every morning. The room was spotless (never did I see a single bug, spider web, or any of the evidence one might expect of nature when staying in the rainforest!), and the outdoor shower (which I was hesitant to try), was actually a perfect fit for the location, and was just as private as any indoor shower at another hotel. All these things are the big details, and I think each one was exceptional.

The medium details are important too. For example, both Anthony and Andre were interested in hearing of our plans, adventures, and feedback of our local experiences, and both were quick to provide advice and input on our potential plans. They are always searching to make sure they can provide good recommendations, and they helped us to pick the perfect snorkeling company, an amazing Daintree day hike, and smaller activities in and around Port Douglas.

Finally, the little things. Amazingly, each time we rolled up the driveway, there was Andre to greet us, ask how we've enjoyed whatever we were doing, what else we had planned, and whether he could help with anything. One day, we returned to our room to find that our beach towels had been cleaned, dried, and folded (without us even having to ask!). Andre and Anthony even helped us with our laundry - very important when on an extended stay! No detail was too small! In fact, one night we fell asleep without finishing one of our drinks. Anthony said he had noticed that we usually put away our bottles when we finished drinks, and so made sure that we didn't plan to finish them before he removed them from our room for cleaning.

Both Andre and Anthony were so considerate, kind, and service-oriented that it is hard to imagine that any place near Port Douglas could compete. They truly are excellent at every level.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Practicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing