We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restful week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful restful week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by Andre and Anthony who are such fabulous hosts. The quality of the service, the wonderful Balinese and Indonesian decor, the attention to detail and the amazing location make this place a true paradise on the Queensland coast and instantly booked another four days on our arrival. We would not hesitate to recommend Mai Tai and we look forward to coming back. Sharon and Gordon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShebraSheret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
362
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Mai Tai Resort is unbeatable for quality, setting and service. Built on Mt Molloy about 10 minutes outside Port Douglas this boutique hotel is beautifully decorated in balinese style, the care and attention of the owners Andre and Anthony evident in the furnishings inside and out. Although stylish the hotel is also incredibly comfortable, a feat partly due to the welcome afforded to you by the hosts. They are present but unobtrusive, always available to offer advice, arrange trips and suggest possibilities as well as providing a great breakfast and sharing stories of their experience living in the area. There is a great deal to do and see in Port Douglas but the view from the verandah makes it very difficult to leave the hotel itself! We'll definitely return to Mai Tai.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, we were offered one with an outdoor shower which was a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcsullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon at Mai Tai. We had a fantastic and relaxing time. Andre was welcoming, funny, friendly and full of stories and our little day trip packages were all arranged, no worries or changes. The view from our villa was breathtaking, the sounds of the forest in the background - we can't speak highly enough of the setting, service and cleanliness - we didn't want to leave !! Randall& Steph

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We've just returned from a four night stay at Mai Tai and had an absolutely wonderful time. So many places fall far short of what they portray on the web, Mai Tai was a pleasant cut above and then some.
We were specifically looking for a romantic retreat for two, having not been able to get away much in the last few years with young children occupying our time, this was our first trip without them and we were looking forward to some peace and quiet. With a small resort, even when almost full, the stay was utterly tranquil. Being an adult only destination, the lack of noisy kids (ours included) was exactly what we needed.
Andre was a fantastic host, welcoming and knowledgeable of the surrounds, places to eat and things to do. He adds charm and charisma, as well as setting a great breakfast.
We stayed in the Lotus room and were very happy with the presentation/cleanliness. The outdoor shower is a great touch and was most welcome in the heat.
All in all, a great destination that we have no hesitation in recommending to friends/others. We look forward to returning and spending a few days in the executive villa.

Room Tip: The deluxe room we had was fab. Had a sneak peek at the executive villa and would book this if avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a blissful three night stay at the beautiful Mai Tai resort in the hills above Mossman, North Queensland. There are only a few rooms, with a private outdoor pool and lounging area, all decorated with authentic carvings and furniture in the Balinese style. Our room was stunning and the whole place was a peaceful retreat - just what we needed after a few weeks of travelling the country. We could not do justice here to the view from the breakfast terrace across the rainforest terrain down to the coast. You have to see it to believe it. Andre our host was charming and knowledgeable about the area, and recommended some excellent local restaurants. (One, Mojo's Bar and Grill in Mossman was superb - so good we went twice). I have specific dietary requirements and Andre made sure I had everything I needed for breakfast, catered just for me. We really enjoyed feeling so pampered and looked after. There is plenty to do and see in the local area but we also made sure we had one day just for relaxing in and around the pool. It was so fantastic we didn't really want to leave. Maybe we will be back one day...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I have just had 10 fantastic days at beautiful Mai Tai. Everything about this place is just perfect for a wonderful, restful experience – especially for honeymooners or couples seeking the ultimate indulgence in a quiet, romantic getaway.

Andre and Anthony have carefully created this unique resort with all the right elements, so it is no surprise that it has won so many well deserved awards, and is so popular. Thank heavens they dared to be different with a specially themed hillside Daintree rainforest retreat, just out of town. In our opinion, Mai Tai is the ONLY alternative in the region to all the other resorts huddled together in the noisy streets of Port Douglas. In fact it is the only resort of its kind in Australia as far as we are aware.

There were so many features that particularly appealed to us, ensuring a perfect romantic holiday. It is adults only (as in no children under 18), so being a small resort we were able to enjoy the early morning and evening rainforest wildlife chorus – or any other time of day for that matter – in peace. We loved the Balinese theme throughout, the huge comfy beds and pillows, and the fact that each suite had its own private courtyard with outdoor furniture. Our preference was for the Orchid suite (in which we stayed) with its outdoor (but private) shower. It was so special being able to leave the screened shutters and curtains open on our corner suite, and having the freedom to enjoy our private hillside courtyard as we so chose (clothing optional of course) – with rainforest on one side, and a magnificent distant view on the other side. This, along with the clothing optional pool all added to the romantic experience of a tropical holiday – with its mix of overnight rain periods, warm sunshine and balmy breezes. Despite it being April, the pool was still warm enough for swimming.

The amazing so-called “light” breakfasts were a highlight of the day. Our breakfast typically consisted of a choice of cereals, a fruit platter with yogurt, croissants with home made jams, some cheeses plus tea/coffee. Anthony and Andre were always very obliging, ensuring all guests always had plenty to eat and plenty of choices – no chance of being hungry with a Mai Tai breakfast! Other reasons why breakfast was a highlight, is that it was unhurried with plenty of time to enjoy the incredible view, chat with other guests, and chat with Andre and Anthony – who were always ever helpful with information for our travel plans for that day (including discount vouchers, various helpful tips etc). Their restaurant recommendations were spot on too. In fact Andre and Anthony are the perfect hosts, ensuring the best possible stay, yet being discreet and otherwise respecting the privacy of the guests. What a difference it makes when the owners of the resort, run the resort, and are so passionate about their business.

By the way, whilst our preference is for the Orchid suite, if an outdoor romantic shower is not your thing, then a couple of the suites have showers inside the bathrooms instead (though those suites therefore are not as large). Similarly, if the thought of a clothing optional pool area worries you, then you need not worry. We noticed that being a small resort, generally guests had the pool to themselves anyway – and afterall, clothing optional is just that – optional. If you don’t mind stretching the budget a bit, we recommend the Mai Tai’s executive villa a little further up on the hill. From what we saw it is truly awesome with so much space, is self-contained, has the best views, and even its own plunge pool.

Andre and Anthony have a great collection of DVD’s, so if it’s raining and you plan to stay in for the evening with some takeaway from nearby Mossman, we recommend borrowing some DVD’s and watching them in your suite. They have a well stocked bar fridge in the room too which we found really handy.

Obviously you need a car to stay here, but then to make the most of your holiday in this region you need a car anyway. Having done your day’s exploring however, it’s always great to be able to head back up the hill to restful Mai Tai.

We look forward to an opportunity to stay hear again soon. Thank you Andre and Anthony for being the perfect hosts – you made our stay so special. Loved our chats, your sense of humour and the many laughs we had. We arrived as guests and left as friends. Our time at Mai Tai passed all too quickly, but will be remembered as the best holiday of a life time.

Cheers, N & V

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NV_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

When I was there over a year ago, it was a bed and breakfast. It's not a resort. That was my only problem. We did not want that atmosphere. I'm surprised to see it listed as a resort, when it only has a few rooms. The men that own and run the place are very very nice and provide good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Topaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maitairesort, Manager at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
I find it really hard to believe that it has taken this person “a Senior Contributor” a year to write a review and I doubt very much if in fact he or she actually even stayed at Mai Tai. If you look at this persons reviews for the Port Douglas region they were all posted on the 28th January, 2012 and they never made another contribution since 2012. Yet the review for Mai Tai wasn’t posted until 25th April, 2014 (very strange that after no postings for the last 2 years they finally decide to review our property).
If you didn’t want our type of atmosphere as you put it why would you confess that you stayed here at all. Our website clearly states we are a small boutique resort / retreat with only 6 rooms situated in the hinterlands of Port Douglas. So I really don’t understand what you were thinking when you supposedly booked to stay here when quite clearly it wasn’t what you wanted.
We don’t advertise anywhere that we are a bed and breakfast, but if that’s your believe then so be it it’s of no consequence to us.
The meaning “Resort” states “a place frequented by people for relaxation or recreation”, which describes Mai Tai perfectly. The word B &B means “somebodies private home were they rent out rooms for overnight stays to guests”. This is clearly not what we do – guests do not sleep under our roof in our private home.
Over the years we’ve had a few people / competitors trying to discredit our operation here at Mai Tai and destroy our ranking with tripadvisor by marking low and therefore increasing their own status to reach the top.
For the reasons you are stating you didn’t like it is exactly the reason why guests from all over the world book to stay at Mai Tai. Because we are small, boutique and only have a few rooms as you put it. We are indeed very, very nice, honest, hard-working decent men and pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to all those that choose to stay with us. It saddens us to read such a review from somebody who is a Senior Contributor who states he stayed at Mai Tai, who should know better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing