We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we had a great time the owners Andre and Anthony are fantastic hosts.
The resort is nicely decorated and the rooms are very comfortable, It's a little way outside of port douglas but don't let that stop you I booked 3 nights here and 3 nights in port and wished we booked all 6 at Mai tai. Great place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Antjmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
364
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hillston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have almost competed 7 nights here at the Mai Tai and to be honest would be stoked if we had another 7 !!!
If you are a couple who really wants privacy and an unusual setting then we recommend this for you. No children running around and no busy resort style feel.
It is quite unique in the sense that once we are in our Executive Villa upstairs away from the suites we could almost think we are by ourselves which is exactly what we were looking for.
Just awesome waking up to the view we have here in the Villa. We have wanted for nothing in the Villa, beautifully decked out throughout .
Having our own kitchen has given us the choice to eat in when we haven't felt like driving into Port to go out.
The owners have gone out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay and always keen to recommend activities, restaurants etc
If you decide to stay in the Villa you will not be disappointed .

Room Tip: Executive villa for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by Andre and Anthony who are such fabulous hosts. The quality of the service, the wonderful Balinese and Indonesian decor, the attention to detail and the amazing location make this place a true paradise on the Queensland coast and instantly booked another four days on our arrival. We would not hesitate to recommend Mai Tai and we look forward to coming back. Sharon and Gordon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShebraSheret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Mai Tai Resort is unbeatable for quality, setting and service. Built on Mt Molloy about 10 minutes outside Port Douglas this boutique hotel is beautifully decorated in balinese style, the care and attention of the owners Andre and Anthony evident in the furnishings inside and out. Although stylish the hotel is also incredibly comfortable, a feat partly due to the welcome afforded to you by the hosts. They are present but unobtrusive, always available to offer advice, arrange trips and suggest possibilities as well as providing a great breakfast and sharing stories of their experience living in the area. There is a great deal to do and see in Port Douglas but the view from the verandah makes it very difficult to leave the hotel itself! We'll definitely return to Mai Tai.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, we were offered one with an outdoor shower which was a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcsullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon at Mai Tai. We had a fantastic and relaxing time. Andre was welcoming, funny, friendly and full of stories and our little day trip packages were all arranged, no worries or changes. The view from our villa was breathtaking, the sounds of the forest in the background - we can't speak highly enough of the setting, service and cleanliness - we didn't want to leave !! Randall& Steph

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We've just returned from a four night stay at Mai Tai and had an absolutely wonderful time. So many places fall far short of what they portray on the web, Mai Tai was a pleasant cut above and then some.
We were specifically looking for a romantic retreat for two, having not been able to get away much in the last few years with young children occupying our time, this was our first trip without them and we were looking forward to some peace and quiet. With a small resort, even when almost full, the stay was utterly tranquil. Being an adult only destination, the lack of noisy kids (ours included) was exactly what we needed.
Andre was a fantastic host, welcoming and knowledgeable of the surrounds, places to eat and things to do. He adds charm and charisma, as well as setting a great breakfast.
We stayed in the Lotus room and were very happy with the presentation/cleanliness. The outdoor shower is a great touch and was most welcome in the heat.
All in all, a great destination that we have no hesitation in recommending to friends/others. We look forward to returning and spending a few days in the executive villa.

Room Tip: The deluxe room we had was fab. Had a sneak peek at the executive villa and would book this if avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a blissful three night stay at the beautiful Mai Tai resort in the hills above Mossman, North Queensland. There are only a few rooms, with a private outdoor pool and lounging area, all decorated with authentic carvings and furniture in the Balinese style. Our room was stunning and the whole place was a peaceful retreat - just what we needed after a few weeks of travelling the country. We could not do justice here to the view from the breakfast terrace across the rainforest terrain down to the coast. You have to see it to believe it. Andre our host was charming and knowledgeable about the area, and recommended some excellent local restaurants. (One, Mojo's Bar and Grill in Mossman was superb - so good we went twice). I have specific dietary requirements and Andre made sure I had everything I needed for breakfast, catered just for me. We really enjoyed feeling so pampered and looked after. There is plenty to do and see in the local area but we also made sure we had one day just for relaxing in and around the pool. It was so fantastic we didn't really want to leave. Maybe we will be back one day...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
521 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing