We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Andre' and Anthony were amazing hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. Great restaurant recommendations, delicious breakfast every morning, let us watch their DVD collection on our lazy day in and even supplied us with cutlery when we had takeaway! The room was beautiful and clean and they just had soundproof glass doors installed so there was heaps of privacy. The resort is tucked away in the hinterland which is perfect for escaping the hustle and bustle of Port Douglas, but close enough to pop in for food and activities. Could not recommend Mai Tai more - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_Hack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
362
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent three nights at the Mai Tai resort and just loved it. It's nestled up in the hinterland about a 15 minute drive from Port Douglas. It was perfect for us as we had spent 4 nights down near the beach and then wanted to be closer to Mossman and the Daintree for a few nights. You couldn't ask for warmer and more hospitable hosts than Andre and Anthony (and their gorgeous fur family of Burmese mountain dogs and cats). Andre had great tips for our travels everyday and we basically based our itinerary around his suggestions. The resort is like a very elegant and tastefully decorated B&B, with only 6 rooms and incredible views which you take in over breakfast each morning. The Balinese-inspired decor really makes you feel like you're a world away. Can't recommend Mai Tai enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We found the Mai Tai Resort one of the nicest places we have visited in the Mossman Daintree area.
The superior apartment at the top was fantastic, the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful.
Only criticism is that they were so hard to find on Trip Advisor, I believe they should be listed under at least Mossman area, if not Daintree. Port Douglas listing does not do them justice

Room Tip: The big place at the top was special but we looked at the other rooms and loved them too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I were recently at Mai Tai for 4 nights/3 days and totally enjoyed our stay. After taking a bit to find the resort (silly GPS), we pulled up to what I can only describe as Bali in Oz. The view was gorgeous, which the resort itself was in competition with. We were warmly greeted and shown to our luxurious room. Seriously, I had to wait until my husband and I were alone to jump up and down from happiness.

But you don't care how emotional I am, you want the details.

Room:
Amazing. Full four poster bed with extremely comfy mattress and pillows. The decor was beautiful, but not overdone. It was just my husband, me, and three bags, and we had plenty of space once we put the bags in the closet area ( which had plenty of hangers. Such a plus!) There's a tv, small fridge, and tea kettle. There is air conditioning, although we were fine with just the fan. The wi-fi worked great, even when my husband had a work emergency in the middle of the night.

Bathroom:
It was small, but you're not going to Mai Tai for that, are you? It has everything you need. The only complaint I might have is that water from the shower seemed to have no problem splashing out to the floor area near the door, no matter how I positioned the shower head. This wasn't issue for me, but may be irritating to others. Positives, though, were the hand soap (my hands became so soft!) and the toilet paper (not scratchy at all!).

Breakfast:
Basic, but with options. We were offered fresh fruit (lots), a variety of breads for toast, two different cereals, granola/muesli bars, and croissants with jam. All in all, good stuff.

Your hosts:
Two of the nicest people you'll meet. Both Andre and Anthony are friendly and personable. Andre offered really great suggestions from where to eat and what to do on a rainy day (Anthony was out of town during some of our stay). Yes, they do have dogs and cats, but we love animals and were thrilled to see them, especially the puppy and kitten! The animals could be a con for some, but we honestly didn't see them that much. I'm sure if you have allergies or any other issue with dogs and cats, Andre and Anthony would be more than willing to keep them inside. Like I said, though, we rarely saw them.

Location:
Mai Tai is ~15 minutes from Port Douglas. It is in between Woolworths and IGA (~10 minutes from both). We loved being a little outside of everywhere because we really got to enjoy the surroundings. Going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of nature beats hearing traffic and/or people any day.

Would we stay there again? Definitely! We don't relax in the same way most others do, but Mai Tai made it easy for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenJennyJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we had a great time the owners Andre and Anthony are fantastic hosts.
The resort is nicely decorated and the rooms are very comfortable, It's a little way outside of port douglas but don't let that stop you I booked 3 nights here and 3 nights in port and wished we booked all 6 at Mai tai. Great place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Antjmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have almost competed 7 nights here at the Mai Tai and to be honest would be stoked if we had another 7 !!!
If you are a couple who really wants privacy and an unusual setting then we recommend this for you. No children running around and no busy resort style feel.
It is quite unique in the sense that once we are in our Executive Villa upstairs away from the suites we could almost think we are by ourselves which is exactly what we were looking for.
Just awesome waking up to the view we have here in the Villa. We have wanted for nothing in the Villa, beautifully decked out throughout .
Having our own kitchen has given us the choice to eat in when we haven't felt like driving into Port to go out.
The owners have gone out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay and always keen to recommend activities, restaurants etc
If you decide to stay in the Villa you will not be disappointed .

Room Tip: Executive villa for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RohNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by Andre and Anthony who are such fabulous hosts. The quality of the service, the wonderful Balinese and Indonesian decor, the attention to detail and the amazing location make this place a true paradise on the Queensland coast and instantly booked another four days on our arrival. We would not hesitate to recommend Mai Tai and we look forward to coming back. Sharon and Gordon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShebraSheret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing