We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Pahiatua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were part of a group of three couples that stayed at the Mandalay in August this year. We had a ground level 3 bedroom Beachfront appartment and it was fantastic. Wonderful amenities, very comfortable apartment with plenty of room. All of us has king beds (one was a smaller room but very adequate). All rooms had ceiling fans. LOVED the complementary fruit bowl that was filled with lovely fruit on our arrival. Don't forget to take your own beach towel. 10 min walk will find you in the centre of town. Great service at Mandalay by very helpful reception staff who will do all your touristy booking stuff - who needs hassle while on holiday!! You don't actually get to see the sea as there is alot of tropical trees etc between the Mandalay and the beach but thease same trees actually protect you from the sea breezes (was windy while we were there!!). 3 min walk and you are on white sand! Definitely would stay there again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved the quietness of our room located far away from the heated pool where all the kids were!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    101
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
315
124
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Mandalay apartments in Port Douglas. The apartment was clean and spacious and the staff were all very helpful and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. If we visit Port Douglas again we won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank teddy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us and that we could make your Australian holiday a memorable one. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good location, good sized accommodation. Nice pool and very easy access to Four Mile Beach. Easy walking distance into Macrossan St (the main street for restaurants etc) and to the Marina for trips out to the reef.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The name can be a bit misleading as the apartments don’t really directly overlook the beach, but there is a good reason. There is a barrier of trees and other vegetation between any hotel and the beach that protects sand blowing inland due to the prevailing winds. But it is just a short walk of about 40 yards (meters) through the grove to a magnificent beach.

The check in lady was as gracious as could be with her helpful information about how to find restaurants and how to walk to town and explaining the facilities.

We had a 3 bedroom apartment so we shut off one of them entirely and turned off the AC’s as the outdoor temperature was perfectly comfortable. We found the supermarket in town and purchased a few things for a couple of breakfasts and snacks. We also used to the washer and dryer to refresh our laundry from visits to Melbourne and Sydney.

As it was winter in the southern hemisphere we sought out Port Douglas to re-discover summer temperatures we were missing from our home in Chicago. But we did need light jacket or sweater in the evening.

The walk to town is about ½ mile and to the bay about ¾ mile so one must be healthy enough to make a daily trip or more to find lunch and dinner, or to shop. All in all, the Mandalay is located convenient to the beach more than the town but we had no complains about this.

We spent a day away from Port Douglas to tour the rain forest nearby which we recommend.
The facility has a nice tennis court and a very small pool. The day it rained we spent most of our time on the outdoor covered patio. Access to the internet is provided by an outside carrier which cost extra.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment which was more than enough space for our family of four. The location across from the beach, and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in Port Douglas is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The apartment did smell a bit musty, but given the humidity in Port Douglas it was probably unavoidable.
We would have appreciated some basic things like laundry detergent, food wrap, etc. being provided given the cost. However, overall a very good choice for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having been to Port Douglas a few times and always stayed out at one of the resorts, I wanted to be closer into town this time when I brought some friends from the US up to experience Far North Queensland for a few days. The Mandalay apartments were perfect - tucked away on a quiet street, a block off the beach and 2-3 blocks off the main drag of Port Douglas. The apartment was lovely and had lovely pool and outdoor bbq. Have since recommended it to friends who also really enjoyed it. Will definitely stay there again next time - nice to not feel so restricted to the resort and have easy access to explore all of Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaleMcLardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are always pleased to hear feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends, we hope they also enjoy their stay. We do also like to believe our location, apartments & staff are all pretty special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Mandalay for 9 nights at the end of our 4 week Australian holiday and very pleased that we had chosen a very comfortable and well located appartment resort. These appartments are less than a minute from the beach and a 5 minute walk or slightly longer "stroll" (for 2 teenage girls) from the top of Macrossan Street where it all happens in Port Douglas. They are about 10-15minutes from the marina.
We had originally booked a two bedroom appartment, however upon our arrival which was after reception hours we discovered that a minor plumbing problem had rendered our appartment unsuitable for a long stay. This problem was unforeseen and management moved quickly to provide us with an alternative arrangement. As we were inconvenienced for that night management upgraded us to a three bedroom beachfront appartment. I should point out that beachfront do not mean beachview as there is a line of trees in between but this enhanced the privacy. I was impressed at the two bedroom appartment however I was blown away by the three bedroom. The living, dining and kitchen open plan area is very spacious, well furnished and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped although it took me some time to work out the functions of the cooker.
This appartment has a large balcony with a simliar sized dining table to that inside and room for extra chairs and two sun loungers. The master bedroom has an good sized ensuite which includes a corner/jacuzzie bath. The other two bedrooms were large and had good sized walk in dressing rooms. The appartment also had a separate toilet, bathroom and a well equipped utility room.
There are good facilities and my children enjoyed the larger of the two pools.
We were on the second floor which I notice some other reviewers have mentioned in having difficulty with their luggage. This could have been inconvenient however we were assisted with our baggage by staff so did not prove to be a problem. I would agree that there are some noise issues in that one can hear furniture being moved around in the appartments above however this is nitpicking because I'm sure we did the same to people below us.
I was originally going to award 4 points however due to excellent customer service I have awarded 5. Staff provided good advice re trips and indeed made the bookings at competitive rates for us. As mentioned management moved quickly to resolve any problems and staff were very courteous. I had a mishap upon departure in that I forgotten some art which I had purchased locally which I only remembered that Ieft in the appartment when I had reached the airport. The Mandalay upon being informed recovered this immediately and have since posted it to me in Ireland and I received it within a week. Special mention should also be given to "Denise" on reception who acted on behalf on the Manadaly in the aforementioned incident and for her local and indeed further pan Asian knowledge which proved invaluable to us on our homeward journey during a stop over.
I would have absolutely no problem recommending the Mandalay for a family stay.

Room Tip: if you have a family beachfront rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
David & Jacquelin, We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and your holiday in Australia and it is good to know you received your parcel. It was a pleasure having you all with us & we appreciated you fine sense of humour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Property: Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing