We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not lux but a great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachfront Terraces
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We lucked into a stay at the Terrace through Expedia --- got nine days across from 4 Mile Beach for about $1,000. We were NOT on the beach facing side but in the neat little apartments out back. Here we had two bedrooms, washer dryer, full kitchen, tennis court, swimming pool -- the works in airy, air conditioned comfort. The back entrance is on Garrick so you can walk to downtown in two blocks. The front is on the beach, maybe 70 yards or so.

The place must be owned by Beaches next door (more plush, newer) because when we had trouble with the internet service (only at the Beaches lobby, not in your room), the manager at the Mowbray (even newer and nicer) next to Beaches very helpfully and competently fixed the whole issue.

The only downside is that the bed was very uncomforable. My wife and I awoke each day with stunning back aches. Now that I think of it, we should have moved to the second bedroom. By the eighth day, we had learned not sleep on our tummies -- that seemed to minimize the pains.

Still, this is the best location in Port D, I'd say, and, for the money, a super value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 215 to 218 are the best deal but check the bed before you take the room. Inspection is invited...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Terraces
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a last minute long weekend trip to Port Douglas and as pretty regular visitors knew we wanted to be close to the beach. The Terraces position is second to none but the unit really needs some maintenance. The front sliding door lock is broken, light bulbs need replacing, the blinds are broken, there is a layer of dust under the bed and I ended up cleaning the bathroom flyscreen to enable some airflow. It was absolutely filthy. More flyscreens are very necessary-had many insect bites until we purchased insect spray, which the next visitors now have at their disposal. This is all pretty basic stuff, even for lower end accommodation, but deal breakers when rebooking. With such a fantastic location, I don't understand why you would waste the opportunity to have a really great property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny_Sydney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

You cannot improve on the location, but these very shabby apartments need money spent NOW! We bargained the rate down to $272/night from a stratospheric $340.
That buys two bedrooms upstairs with a shared bathroom, a huge north-facing balcony which extends to front and offers super views of beach and sunrise, kitchen-dining-lounge downstairs.
Everything is a good twenty or more years old, the front door is a cheap louvre cupboard door, really. Louvres continue throughout, even doors to balconies, so sun is not kept out!
Kitchen benches are tired old white laminex, stove is very old and dirty upright electric. Dishwasher has seen better days, ditto clothes dryer which cuts out as it overheats on 'warm' setting.
The owners are mad to not improve these apartments, as location is the best. Only book if you are prepared for tired fit-out.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Be aware there is a company called 'Latitude 16' that own various apartment blocks in and around Port Douglas. One of them called 'Beaches' apartment which are NOT the same as Beachfront Terrace Apartments, which is what we were originally put in!

Even this review has mixed pictures of the WRONG apartment block so be aware! We had to pay AUD$300 for an upgrade to 'Beaches' apartment where the manager blamed the booking operator for booking us into the older apartments next door and told us that he gets lots of complaints from people not realising what they have booked! ..... SO BE AWARE IF IT SEEMS CHEAP!!

The apartment was very dated and all you could smell was damp especially in the bedrooms, on en-suite bathroom was linked to the main bathroom with a frosted window (not very private)! Plates were dirty, place needed a good clean! disappointing and couldn't wait to get out! We will upload pictures of the beachfront Terrace apt to show what it really is like! We ended up upgrading to 'Beaches' apartments which were directly next door, and ended up having a great time there in the end!

Also bear in mind the time of year that you visit the area, as we couldn't go in the sea, as it was 'stinger' season and there were too many jellyfish in the sea, and the weather was so rough that it damaged the stinger nets in the sea, which we should have been able to swim in, but couldn't!
We also went on the quicksilver barrier reef trip on a rough day, and were sea sick, and didn't have a good experience there either, so make sure you are aware of when the 'wet' season is in the tropics!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed here with our 3 kids for a week and wished it was longer. We absolutely loved it. The unit was clean, lots of room- we could watch the kids in the pool from our back deck and on the beach from the front. Staff were helpful, friendly but really unobtrusive. Gardens were beautiful and being able to play a game of tennis so close to our unit was great. We will definately be booking in next year. Thanks for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a one bedroom on the ground level across the street from the beach. We were a bit apprehensive having our patio door open to the garden and out to the street. It was unfounded! Port Douglas has a lovely safe feeling and we had direct access to the beach in a minute. We even rented paddleboards and stored them on our patio making us feel very local.
The tennis court was available during our stay and the pool was often all ours.
The staff at the front desk were very accommodating.
The apartment was well designed and very clean. We enjoyed having our own parking spot right outside our door making it easy to unload and load the car.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#32 of 42 in Port Douglas
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Terraces

Address: 17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Terraces 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Terraces has an enviable beachfront location on The Esplanade overlooking Four Mile Beach. The sand and sea are only metres from your front door. A short stroll away is Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The beachfront apartments have magnificent views of Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. The garden view apartments overlook the tropical gardens. The property offers a range of facilities including outdoor swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Off-street undercover parking is available for all guests. Reception is open at Beaches Port Douglas located on Mowbray Street just next door to Beachfront Terraces. From here you can also arrange any tours to the Great Barrier Reef or islands, Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Beachfront Terrace Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing