We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Be Better! Perfect in every way”
Review of Cayman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cayman Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Better! Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We booked through wotif at the last minute for Easter week for six days. These villas are exceptional and so is the service and location. We were greeted very warmly by Jenny who lugged my 20kg suitcase up a flight of stairs despite my protests. She was incredibly helpful and booked all our tours helping us with selection for our needs.

Our two bedroom apartment had the WOW factor. Spacious, gorgeously decorated like something out of magazine, and highest quality fittings like Smeg kitchen appliances, it had two large bedrooms, one king size, both had their own bathrooms with full size baths which is unusual. The real wow was a corner triangle of the spacious living area was carved off as a breathtakingly beautiful conservatory like verandah, with full size outdoor dining and fold back white plantation shutters so you could step from the air conditioned living room through to outdoor conservatory overlooking a tropical park, creek and birdsong. It just oozed relaxation and understated luxurious elegance.

The infinity pool was large, and equally as stunning with inbuilt spa and waterfall cascading over each edge and pagoda area cut into it. Perfectly just heated enough to take chill off. Everyone talked about how gorgeous it was to swim in.

If this was not all good enough the location is a standout. It is just one block from the "main drag" of shops cafes bookstores restaurants. At one end of the street is the marina to catch your reef tours from, at the other end is the incomparable four mile beach.

The pricing was competitively priced via wotif for the quality and look, truly, if you want self contained apartments with onside reception, in paradise, Look No Further. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_professional9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    54
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
156
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Cayman Villas for 4 nights in March 2013. I would look no further for a great place to stay! Sue, the manager, is very thoughtful and efficient. We arrived after closing and the instructions provided to us to get in were excellent. After a day of travelling, Sue ensured that our suite would be welcoming - the lights and airconditioning were turned on for our arrival. It was so homey to walk in and settle down after a busy day.
Cayman Villas is one block from everything. One block to the left is the Marina. One+ block to the right is the beach and one block straight up is the main street. It's close enough to the action without being on top of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just spent a fabulous 4 night stay at the Cayman Villas. Apartments are excellent. Luxurious and in lovely quiet locale. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious and well presented, with everything you need - a home from home. Pool and BBQ area lovely. Great location with a 5 minute walk to restaurants and supermarket. Will definitely go back again, and recommend to all friends and family.

Room Tip: My mum has bad arthritis in her knees and finds stairs a problem. Although not many stairs to our fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Loved it! For a family of 5 the 3 bedroom apartment was perfect. We were pleasantly surprised by how large and well furnished it was. All facilities in the apartment were of high quality and the pool and bbq area are inviting and easy to use. We loved the nearby restaurants and cafes and walked to these for a number of meals. We had a hire car (from East Coast Car Hire - recommend them also, just be aware you need to use a complimentary bus, takes about 5 minutes from the airport, to get to their office) which made the nearby Coles easy to use but there is a smaller supermarket even closer. Sue (and Jenny) was wonderful in suggesting what to do and how to get places. Very relaxing stay in a "home away from home" environment. We were made to feel very welcome and at ease and would gladly return to Cayman Villas.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem for you ask for ground floor. Not a problem for us but we had three small fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beer_connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Recently stayed at Cayman Villas with family in a three bedroom villa.The villas are spacious & very nicely furnished. The pool is great the only problem is it shuts at 8p.m. which is too early for the tropics also the gate shut at 6p.m. We would not stay there again and would not recommend these villas to anyone too many rules.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clifford1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caymanvillas, Manager at Cayman Villas, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Cayman Villas, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. It is unfortunate to read that because we ask guest to comply with rules inplace that you would not to return in the future. These are rules are in place for the comfort off all guests choosing to staying with us. Our pool is open daily from 8am - 8pm daily, with bbq area open until 10pm and am surprised to have received a negative comment regarding these pool hours. Parents generally appreciate the peacefulness at the end of the day when trying to put children to sleep after a fun filled day in the sunshine.It is also noted your dislike for the main gate being closed at 6pm - again for the comfort and safety of all.The gate is clearly marked to remind all guests to take a key when going out of an evening, even when management are onsite. We hope you are able to enjoy a return visit to Port Douglas in the future- regardless of where you choose to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Cayman Villas is the perfect location for a holiday in Port Douglas. With 3 teenage children who are quite independent this is the best place to let them have their space and still be part of a family holiday. Plenty of space in the apartment to relax, read or watch movies. Serviced half way through our 10 days was great. Pool was excellent with great barbecue facilities as well. Loved the location and ease of access to the village, beach and Marina. Sue and John were extremely helpful. No complaints what so ever from our family. We will be coming back with our friends!

Room Tip: We loved the third floor 3 bedroom apartment as very bright, breezy and spacious. Very tropical aspe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie and Charl... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Great accomodation! Location is perfect being a 5 minute walk from Macrossan street, 2 minute walk to 4 mile beach, 5 minute walk to the marina. The facilities were exceptional, good size pool, barbecues and plenty of sun lounges. The apartments themselves were well equipped with A/C in all the bedrooms and the living quarters (which made things very comfortable!) Beds were super comfy, the rooms themselves were quite spacious, everything you needed was in the apartment so you could self cater. The managers were very welcoming. Another thing to note was it was SUPER quiet both at day at night (we did not hear anything at night which made for a pleasant sleep!) We'll be back!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Villas

Property: Cayman Villas
Address: 35 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cayman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman Villas Port Douglas offers you the ultimate luxury tropical experience with the relaxed lifestyle of the Caribbean. Accommodation features, sumptuous living areas, large tropical balconies, air-conditioning and ceiling fans, fully-equipped kitchens with granite bench tops & spa bath in the master bathroom. The large one, two and three bedroom villas have been completely refurbished and updated to provide understated elegance, with their tropical shutters and broad terraces, terracotta tiled floors, timber furnishings featuring contemporary soft furnishings, and smart granite and stainless steel kitchens. Each villa has a spa and the two and three bedroom villas have two bathrooms, all units have their own laundry. There is a large horizon outdoor pool with shallow end for children, spa and gazebo with pool-side BBQ`s surrounded by tropical gardens and secure basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cayman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Villas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing