We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Cayman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cayman Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A very spacious and well equipped apartment. It has everything you could want or need and is a short walk from the main street, local shops and restaurants. The air conditioning was excellent and wonderful to come back to after a walk. There is also a large swimming pool for cooling off. It was a great stay and real value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    53
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
154
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home after 8 days in Port Douglas. We stayed at the Cayman Villas - had a ground floor apartment which was just great as my elderly mother was with us. The apartments are well laid out and we had a rear enclosed garden as well as the balcony opening towards the pool.
The Villas are in a great location with just a few minutes walk to Macrossan Street, the beach or the marina.
Sue is an amazing host - nothing is a bother and she is so helpful at booking trips and useful information about the area, what to seem which way to drive etc.
We hired a car and the underground parking was great. Also, it's a much easier way to get around if you are wanting to venture further afield.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We just had 3 weeks at Cayman Villas. We have stayed many times before.
This place just gets better and better. Great pool, huge apartments and 5 minutes walk to town.
Sue is the most amazing host she cannot do enough for you.
See you next year.

Room Tip: Great pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We recently enjoyed 10 days at Cayman Villas with our friends and really enjoyed it. We had a three bedroom apartment which was very spacious and well equipped. The pool area is located to get the sun for much of the day which we enjoyed as we had come from a cold Victorian winter. We also enjoyed a couple of barbecue lunches around the pool.
The location is great- 5 minute walk to everything.
Would be nice to have free internet included - rather than the $40 fee incurred.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesmc8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We just arrived home from Port Douglas and had a good stay.Cayman Villa's is very central to shops and beach etc.Rooms are a very good size,we have 2 complaints though,the pool is rather boring just a square really,we felt a nice waterfall would be abit more inviting.Also there was no sun protection in the kids area of pool,which I felt was still a tad too deep for toddlers.Our 3 bedroom apartment wasn't the ideal one as unless we looked over the verandah we couldn't see pool we only looked into the other units,so there wasn't much privacy.But overall the apartments are very well setup and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed at Cayman Villas 3 times now but this is my first review. The reasons we keep going back are the rooms are spacious, the location is terrific - 5 min walk to Macrossen and 5 min walk to the beach. The pool is fabulous for the kids with a decent sized shallow wading area for the little kids, it gets the sun most of the day and was definately warm enough to swim in.

The only complaints would be the King bed was a bit hard to sleep on but Sue tells me they are getting "pillow covers" for them soon and that the oven wasn't all that good. We were there for 2 wks and there was a mix up with the system and we missed getting our place cleaned in the first wk but as soon as it was mentioned to the team they had someone in there the next day - very responsive.

Sue was more than just accomodating, she was helpful, friendly, full of great tips and ideas of things to do and just an all round friendly person to be around - she is much friendlier and more welcoming than the previous managers.

GENERAL PD TIPS: Hire bikes to get around - great way to get around with kids, do a supermarket shop etc. Book restaurants you really want to go to in advance. If you need a babysitter we have been using Daphne Timms (Sue should have her details) for years and she is a superstar sitter and much loved by Miss 5 and Master 7.

We can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near pool are noisy but only during the day, ok at night and nice to look out ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGiroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed any Cayman Villas recently with a few friends and found them a fabulous place to stay. Had a 3 bedroom apartment which was very spacious with a great balcony overlooking the pool. The location was perfect, just a short stroll to Four Mile Beach, Macrossan St and the wharf area. Sue was very helpful and the pool was fabulous. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMC3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Villas

Property: Cayman Villas
Address: 35 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cayman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman Villas Port Douglas offers you the ultimate luxury tropical experience with the relaxed lifestyle of the Caribbean. Accommodation features, sumptuous living areas, large tropical balconies, air-conditioning and ceiling fans, fully-equipped kitchens with granite bench tops & spa bath in the master bathroom. The large one, two and three bedroom villas have been completely refurbished and updated to provide understated elegance, with their tropical shutters and broad terraces, terracotta tiled floors, timber furnishings featuring contemporary soft furnishings, and smart granite and stainless steel kitchens. Each villa has a spa and the two and three bedroom villas have two bathrooms, all units have their own laundry. There is a large horizon outdoor pool with shallow end for children, spa and gazebo with pool-side BBQ`s surrounded by tropical gardens and secure basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cayman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Villas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing