We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daintree Experience”

Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer the more intrepid Traveler a complete departure from the usual tours. The Grandeur of these forest's rich in Flora Fauna and biodiversity can only be truly appreciated in small exclusive groups on natural trails far from the Boardwalks, Buses & Crowds gaining a true appreciation of the Wilderness. First class touring in the Wet Tropics, Daintree Rainforest and Cape York areas. all our tours are Half Day and explore areas beyond the normal touring destinations...AM tours are referred too as "Beyond the Bump" Traveling up past the historic "Bump Track" to the higher lesser known reaches of the Daintree Rainforest, We spend time on our own Private wilderness reserve where nature rules and in absolute small highly personalised groups only ... a true representation of Far North Queensland's wildlife, fauna and remote areas...
geelong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Daintree Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently my son and I had an incredible experience in the Daintree. We were treated to gorgeous off the road scenery and were shown some incredible plants and trees. The tallest tree in the Daintree - wonderful. Cycads 100's of years old and oh so tall!- Amazing. bird life - incredible and a beautiful peaceful billabong.

The diversity of the rainforest and its vegetation was amazing too.

If you have a love of plants then this tour is a must. If plants are not you, the tour and the scenery will have you changed.

Our tour guide was great, very informative and passionate about the Daintree.

The tour takes you away from the mainstream tourist trail and gives you the Daintree in the raw. The best and only way to see the Daintree. Thank you so much

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyweekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odysseybound, Owner at Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Great to have you onboard, the forest's of the upper Daintree are wonderful to show and experience daily, see you again on your next trip to port.. kind wish bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schwerin, Germany
1 review
“The hunt for the platypus”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was our last day in Port Douglas and we still wanted to do one great tour before we leave so we found out about the rainforest tour with Bill.
We got picked up early in the morning by Bill our fabulous guide.
We were aonly a group of three friends so he asked us what we wanted to do.
Because we werent really interested in Kangoroos and Emus we went on the hunt for platypus and ekidnas.
Bill is a very knowledgable guide and went with us on a track to see the old rainforest.
The track we went on was beautiful and Bill could tell us a lot about the plants and when could identfy the sounds in the rainforest for us.
We went to a lake up on a mountain to see some platypus in the water and we were really lucky Bill knew exactly where to look for them and we really saw a wild mountain platypus in the water.
This made the day perfect ! Already the walk on the track was worth going there but to see some wild platypus made the day even better.
I can only recommend this tour it is a unique tour that gives you even better impression of the rainforest.
Bill can tell you everything what you want to know and he will mix his programm for your wishes what you want to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odysseybound, Owner at Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am so glad we found the platypus for you, it was a great morning regards bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Tour with Bill!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I chose the the half day morning tour and it was the best tour I joined during my time in Port Douglas. Bill Tours are very individual and so we went to place far away from all tourism. Mount Lewis is one oldest parts in Daintree Forest and one of the few places where you can still see the real and wild jungle. On our tour to Mount Lewis we spotted Kangaroos (Pademelons), Barramundis and nice coloured Kingfishers. Bill was a very knowledgeable and so the tour was informative as well.
The highlight of our tour was spotting the shy platypus on a small creek on Mount Lewis.
All in all it was an excellent tour and I would recommend that tour for everybody who is staying in Port Douglas !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaxler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odysseybound, Owner at Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Great mornings walk thanks for taking me along, regards bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy afternoon”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Bill took my wife, 1Oyr old son & I on a very enjoyable afternoon from Port Douglas up to the Daintree river cruise.
The best part was the local history and scenic route we took getting to and from the cruise.

Helpful?
Thank dmp0665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odysseybound, Owner at Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for the review, nice to have you onboard regards bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Bill's the Bomb!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Bill Crew took us places far from the maddening crowd and his knowledge of the flora and fauna of all the rainforest ecosystems in the area was amazing. We enjoyed his humor, his stories and his insider's perspective. My daughter suggested calling our review Bill's the Bomb Dot Com. Thanks again for a great tour Bill! From Dawn, Ray and Maya (your newest 14-year old fan - who says thanks for the cool book - much better photos than mom takes - and for introducing her to Convict Cakes.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odysseybound, Owner at Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
A reply from "bills the Bomb" always good to have good people on tour, especially 14 year olds. kind regards bill "the Bomb"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Odyssey Bound Half Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing