We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sandwich ever”

The Little Larder Port Douglas
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best sandwich ever”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful friendly girls, sandwich 10/10. YES the do have gluten free, just ask. We highly recommend and we will be back. The slow cooked, pull apart pork sandwich was a hit. Vegetarian beautiful too.

Helpful?
2 Thank snapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    465
    80
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service was so good and food so tasty I had to write the review”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We don't usually eat sandwiches and this boutique sandwich joint specialises in gourmet sandwiches but we didn't know where else to go as we had not researched the area, so we came here and we were immediately greeted warmly by a lovely team of wait staff who responded to us as if we were in a nice restaurant rather than a little cafe so we were most pleased. Staff were friendly, attentive, communicative, and well dressed. The sandwiches were very good with a fantastic selection, carrot cake was the best carrot cake we've ever had (that's a big call) and the coffee was robust also. Do stop and say hi and enjoy your street side picnic!

(they do have gluten free options in the cabinet mind, we just didn't know this at the beginning)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WeloveNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches and smoothies”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had the Royal Salad sandwich today. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich, they were both really fresh and tasty. My daughter had the mango smoothie which was also apparently very yummy. Friendly staff and lovely food. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy sandwiches”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Designer sandwiches which are so yummy for lunch. Can be a bit busy so it pays to arrive slightly early for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous for brunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped in at the Little Larder several times during our weekend in Port Douglas. The first time was for brunch and despite having to wait about 5-10 minutes to be seated (we came just as the rush started) were quickly served with drinks and breakfast. Despite there being few seats we weren't rushed to finish our meals and leave - but instead given lots of time to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. I had the eggs benedict while my boyfriend ate the mushrooms on toast. The food was delicious.

The second time we dropped in for an early lunch, getting there just between the 11.30-12pm gap between brunch and lunch. We were happy to grab a few drinks and wait until we could put our lunch orders in. Unfortunately our waiter was a bit dismissive and despite asking her once or twice if she could take our order (once it turned 12 o'clock) she never came back (even though she kept walking past us). Happily we were finally able to grab the attention of another waitress who quickly noted down our order. Loved the Vietnamese Bahn roll I ordered. Delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidefrogcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Larder Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to The Little Larder Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing