We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what I was looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just what I was looking for”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

lovely place, very helpful staff and spacious room with all the facilities.
we arrived the day after a cyclone and were due to be staying in Daintiness but couldn't get there because all the roads were shut. we went to the port Douglas to plead our case and hope they would let us move forward our booking with them. well they couldn't have been more helpful, the staff were so happy to help. they were also really good about recommendations, when we finally did get to to Daintree they showed us all the good spots to visit, places we wouldn't have noticed on our own so it really made the day. the room was big and clean with kitchen facilities and plates.cutlery fridge etc. this was really helpful as we often packed a lunch for the day and was able to keep the bits in pieces in the room - also handy for a cold beer after a long day out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    125
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
200
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel direct due to it's savings for booking in May & it's ok reviews. As a solo traveller with no knowledge of Port Douglas and a budget I just wanted something simple, clean, close to the main strip & a decent price. Well I got it - It may not be the fanciest place I've stayed, the bed it's the most comfy I've ever slept in & the shower is extremely small for anyone bigger than a child but it's clean and close to everything. The pool is nice and the trees do get in the way of the sun but they also provide shade. The owners are very nice - They even offers to arrange my airport transfer & early check in for a decent price because I landed at 4.15am in cairns. After a late night flight from Perth I was happy find a letter with my name on it at the reception and my room ready for me to crash by 5.30am. The only thing I can recommend is paying the little extra for the pool view rooms - Trust me the afternoon sun will be worth the extra money!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stay here in May, nice and close to the Marina, the beach and main high. Good value for money, nice and clean rooms. Pool heated and nice area, could trim some of the trees to let more sun in but I suppose in summer might be to hot ??? would stay here again.

Room Tip: try and get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were 4 people staying for 4 nights in April and had a nice stay at the Port Douglas retreat. The rooms are clean and nice, but basics like Shampoo not provided (only a bar of soap). The common area is very nice, and used by us frequently, both the nice lagoon like pool and the bbq-area. The location is perfect, 5 min from the beach and the main street with all the shops and restaurants. One comment though is that there was no room cleaning or free changing of towels all though we stayed for 4 days. Beach towels were for rent in the reception.

Room Tip: The rooms with the easy access to the common area was very practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Brilliant for the money! Couple of minutes walk and you are in the centre of Port Douglas with all the bars and restaurants, and in the other direction you are at the beach. The owners are fab, so welcoming and friendly. Rooms themselves are fine, fairly basic but very very clean. Pool area is lovely as well, with a nice (and again, very clean) BBQ area. Highly recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room overlooking the pool with a bit of a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankland_jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very friendly and welcoming. Jenny is very informative and helpful when planning activities she really is a great asset can't praise her enough.

The room we had was 'bedsit' layout and not luxurious but more than adequate and spotlessly clean. Great location to base yourself, as the driver said "turn right to wet your toes, turn left to wet your whistle!" It has a lovely pool area with superb BBQ for your use. At night it has flares lit all around making it atmospheric and relaxing, a great great place to end the evening with a poolside nightcap.

Free wi-fi for the duration of your stay and laundry should you need it. This is a great value for money location we highly recommend it and would definitely stay again if we're ever lucky enough to come back to Port Douglas

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deejay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

So glad we chose this place for our 5 night GBR stay. Port Douglas is a smaller, more intimate type of town from which to enjoy the GBR than Cairns and there turned out to be 2 more location benefits. Firstly, Port Douglas is closer and has better access to the outer reef than Cairns. Secondly, the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the marina (from which all cruises sail), from the only patrolled beach in the area and from the centre of the town with all it has to offer. This compares with most other hotels in town which are located on the approach to Port Douglas from Cairns. So there's no need to rely on shuttle buses and there's plenty of choice of bars and restaurants nearby.

The room and en suite shower room were a good size and well equipped for self catering. There's a large supermarket in town - easily walkable. The balcony overlooked the secure garage and adjacent property but still felt like being in a secluded tropical forest. The pool complex was beautiful amongst the palms - one of the prettiest we've seen anywhere and deceptively large. We were a little surprised to find the hotel is self serviced - so no room service and we had to pay $3 each for beach towels but we threw the bath towels in with our laundry!

The husband and wife management team were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and booked all our trips and made numerous other helpful recommendations for activities in the area. We loved the Kuranda train and had an amazing helicopter flight to the reef with boat back - both thoroughly recommended at $106 and $489 respectively. A fantastic experience at the end of our long trip to NZ & Oz.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms around the pool have nice patios leading outside but we were perfectly happy upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Property: Port Douglas Retreat
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing