We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays in Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is an excellent place for a Holiday. There are no children under 16 allowed. The location is perfect, close to everything. The Apartments are ideal and there is a beautiful pool. Make sure you ask for Sue the hostess/Manager she is excellent. There are a couple of minor points which whilst not paramount for your enjoyment should be attended. No Fox News on Foxtel when the Hand book says it has. Powder for the washing machine $2 per small container. Should be free. Wi FI $40 a week unless you check Trip Advisor where this week it is free for Trip Advisor Contributors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Meridian Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked due to trip advisor reviews but to be honest we're really disappointed. For some unknown reason we were unable to book through Tripadvisor so booked through Wotif. Our studio room was tiny. Just a hotel room with a tiny kitchenette (sink and microwave with a kettle, toaster and microwave. (no microwave dishes though)
Despite the Wotif website stating we would have a washing machine and dryer we had to share these with our neighbours in the next apartment. This was difficult; as well as coordinating the use with neighbours, due to the noise factor we felt we could only use it during the day when we wanted to be out exploring. The room was clean and the towels were white and fluffy but the sheets were the scratchiest I have ever slept on. I think having the pool in the centre of the hotel magnified every noise- as our neighbours sounded like they were in the same room as us. (Why do grey nomads get up so early?)
The manager was very friendly and helpful.
We felt that despite its good location, it was overpriced and shabby. (Perhaps the the larger apartments are better)

Room Tip: Don't get the studio rooms - they are rather dark, there is no couch and and they are very small...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We decided to do a 4 weekend in Port Douglas to get away from the Sydney Winter in the July 2013 School Holidays. As it was just the two of us, the child-free pool was a must have, making the Meridian an obvious choice.

The location is excellent, easy walking distance to everything you need in Port Douglas, be it the main strip, beach, port, restaurants, pubs etc.

Our room was a ground level apartment with direct access to the pool. It was well appointed, homely and provided a great balance of accessibility to the pool and privacy from the other guests. Service was great, the rooms were perfectly clean upon arrival and we could book all our daytrips from the front desk.

The pool itself is great, with plenty of deck space for reading books and sunbaking ensuring the guests of this small hotel aren't too crowded.

In all, a great option for couples looking for a child-free getaway in Port Douglas. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have enviable access to the pool, with rooms facing west getting the best sun.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed a short stay at the Meredian. The proximity to the heart of Port Douglas was a deciding factor in our choice of accommodation. We were not disappointed. Literally a 3 minute walk to the shopping Center and 5 minutes to the beach.
The room we were allocated was a deluxe spa room - basically a motel room with small kitchenette. The room was fine for 2 - 3 nights, but too small for longer stays. They have many more larger units and we would choose this next time - even for shorter stays.
Everything was provided in the units, although with no spares1 (2 knives, 2 forks, 2 of dishes etc)
Starter kits of tea & coffee provided - enough for 2 days.
A shared laundry with one other unit was appreciated. Rooms are only serviced weekly & a broom to sweep the floor woulds have been appreciated (due to sand on shoes). Rooms are air-conditioned and have fans - a necessity in this climate.
Staff were professional, if not a little harried. But that said we were there during their peak season.
The pool and surrounds were very well maintained, spacious and well designed.
I would recommend this place to anyone travelling, & I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Pay a little more and take the bigger units / rooms if staying more than 2 nights
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon from the UK and upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony which is a nice touch in a few of the rooms.

The room was one of the biggest I have seen in my life. Very clean and has everything you could ever need in it whilst away on holiday.

The Meridian is about a 30 second walk to Macrossan Street meaning you are in the heart of all the action too.

The pool area is small but very clean and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joerudd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 11 days in a studio apartment. The hotel was very clean and nicely maintained but I would recommend payiing the extra for a bigger apartment. The kitchen had no hob, just a microwave and very pushed for space.
It was worth it though to have a child-free pool. It was so peaceful with no screaming, splashing or crying - almost like sunbathing in a library...sheer bliss!
The location of the hotel was very good, close to all the shops and restaurants. The reception was rarely manned as they had other tasks to do around the hotel - you had to phone them if you wanted to see them for anything, but once you found them they were very helpful and friendly.
Overall, a nice place and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spanishsarah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This facility has studio (bedsitter) and one bedroom apartments - king singles or king size beds. People under 15 years of age are not allowed in the pool. Therefore, this place is not for families.
We had a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. As well as a 2 hotplate stove top there was a microwave / convection oven. There was a dishwasher and an adequate amount of crockery, cutlery and cookware. There is a BBQ by the pool which is also able to be used.

The pool is quite large and several rooms have direct pool access from their deck.

We had a first floor room with a jacuzzi on the balcony - how fabulous!

Rooms are serviced and linen changed every few days.

Four mile beach is only 8-10 minutes walk, and Macrossan street with the supermarket and a large number of restaurants is the same sort of distance,

I'm sure there are lots of great places to stay in Port Douglas but this suited me just fine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natandmiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £88 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing