We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spacious accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spacious accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This superior apartment was exactly as portrayed on the website. Modern, spacious, clean and in a perfect location. The room was spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the pool. All the appliances were in good order and there was everything we needed. Would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Superior room looked bigger from the balcony than the some of the others. Well worth paying the few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    163
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
565
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Meridian during our recent visit to Port Douglas for our wedding. We had a superior 1 bedroom apartment which was spotless, modern, lovely furnishings, decent size, had all the facilities required, very quiet and was beautifully located over the pool away from other apartments.
The superior studio did share the same entrance foyer and washer/dryer. This suited us well as our friend was in this room. The outer door to the entrance foyer can be locked and inner doors opened to allow the feel of a large 2 bed apartment. The shared washer/dryer outside the room, only meant that it was quieter inside the actual apartment -fantastic.
The jacuzzi was heated and comfortable for 2 people, and the pool was beautiful - clean and refreshing. The option of a pool deck room was great - your own private deck!

The staff here, in particular Daina, were amazing! Friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Daina went out of her way to make our special time extra memorable - a big thanks ! :)

The Meridian is centrally located and waking distance from the Main Street and attractions of Port Douglas. The no kids under 16 policy meant that the hotel was quiet, tidy and respected. I know that if you book the same room we did, you will not be disappointed. We could not fault the Meridian and and would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My (now) wife and I first stayed at the Meridian in August, 2010, in a 1 Bedroom Superior Apartment with a pool deck. We fell in love with the place instantly! Our room was spacious, modern and sparkling clean. The pool was heaven and both the beach and the main street were just a few minutes' walk away. Our stay was lovely and quiet, and John and his staff were very friendly and helpful.

Fast forward to June, 2012 and newly engaged, my wife and I chose to base ourselves at the Meridian again, this time, in a Studio Premier room. We travelled to Port Douglas this time around to plan our August, 2013 destination wedding. Though a smaller room type than that which we stayed in originally, we loved our studio room and thoroughly enjoyed the Meridian once more. In April, 2013, we were back for our third stay (!), this time with our parents, in order to meet local providers and finish planning our upcoming wedding. We each had our own studio room and it is safe to say, our parents loved the Meridian as much as we do!

August, 2013 came around very quickly and we were very excited for our 1 Bedroom Superior Apartment with pool deck for our wedding stay! Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed back by John... Who very kindly surprised us with an upgrade to a Honeymoon Deluxe Apartment! We were thrilled with our room and felt so spoilt having both a pool deck AND a jacuzzi, it was such a treat! We were even treated with a bottle of champagne upon arrival! We felt so special.

This year in April, we stayed at the Meridian once more. This time, we chose to stay in a Superior Studio with pool deck. As usual, the Meridian shone through on all fronts! If you are looking for modern, quiet and comfortable apartment-style accommodation in Port Douglas, close to Four Mile Beach and Macrossan St, then the Meridian Port Douglas is for you. We cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 12 nights. The room was very small with no soft easy chair to sit on in the evening. The balcony only had one chair. The room felt like a dungeon after a few days with no sun reaching it at all as the room was tucked up in a corner set back from the room next door. The shower was over the bath so you had to shower with the window closed or other guests could see in when walking by. The toilet seat and lid had that horrible BO smell that plastic gets when it's old. The sink had a film of scum over it which was still there after the room had been serviced. The top bed sheet after the room service had two holes in it - unacceptable. The washing machine and dryer which you share with the room next door was hopeless. The dryer, even on the coolest setting, kept overheating and then stopping so it took hours to get anything dry. The fridge kept us awake at night with the weird clunks and noises it made. I can't believe there was a plastic scruffy and dirty dustbin at the end of the corridor. Then when you check out they ask the guests to empty the rubbish bin in their room into the disgusting dustbin so as to help the cleaners ... isn't that part of their job ? On arrival we were asked to pay upfront as we had booked through an internet site and not directly with them. The place was adults only but was like a ghost town. There is undercover parking. The pole where you insert your key to open the roller door down the drive is too hard to reach from your car which we found very irritating. All in all we did not enjoy our stay at this place. The only good thing it has going for it is that it's only a short walk to Macrossan Street and the beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hellsbellsaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmer, Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time & effort to post a review. It is unfortunate however to be made aware of these complaints when at no time during your stay you made no mention that the accommodation provided was not to your liking. Our studio accommodation is a hotel style room with a small balcony. It provides a small dining table and chairs however does not have a sofa. Studios are more suited to short stays and we agree not really ideal for 12 nights. If you had contacted us directly, rather than booking through a 3rd party website, we would have been able to advise this prior to booking. All studios and apartments share a washing machine and dryer with the adjoining room , there are many of them located on the property. We immediately replace or repair all appliances when we are made aware that they are faulty. As a simple request we ask guests on departure day to place unwanted food/rubbish in the bins located on all levels, we assume this is something that we all do before leaving our homes to head off on holiday – there is no obligation however to do so if you do not wish to. The policy for payment upon arrival is a standard procedure of the booking site used, and usually does not raise an eyebrow. It appears our adult only policy works a treat, during your stay it was extremely quiet considering our occupancy was at a high level. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Port Douglas in the future and enjoy this tranquil part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our first time staying at the Meridian. We had booked a studio room, but on the second night we decided to pay the extra and upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. As we wanted more space,, and a lounge room & full,kitchen.. Our was facing the road, and also had a jacuzzi on the balcony. The furnishings were good & the rooms very clean. Also very private as beautiful tropical trees secluding the balcony. It was very quiet, which was fab for me as I am a light sleeper. The front desk ladies were very friendly, and also helpful on what tours to do which in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments great, chose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimz140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent Christmas here and we we not disappointed.

We had a one bedroom apartment, which was well air conditioned (it was needed at this time of year!) it had a large balcony over looking the pool. The fridge was stocked with a few essentials on our arrival (however there is also a mini supermarket and bakery a short walk away and the main supermarket is also walkable.)

the apartment is equipped with a fridge, freezer, microwave, each apartment also shares a washing machine with one other apartment - washing powder can be brought from reception. Wifi was also available (extra cost) - we had a few problems picking this up on our Ipad but the lady at reception was very helpful.

On Christmas day we barbecued (gas provided) by the pool, sharing it with a few other residence - however, it was not over crowded and we could cook our meat no problem) we brought this from the butchers near supermarket on Christmas Eve and they had plenty of stuff left.

Children under 16 weren't allowed which suited us (a couple in our early thirties)

It is very close to all the bars and amenities on Macrosson street - highly recommend a breakfast at peninsula hotel - we ate here on Christmas morning and there is a great place on Macrosson street where you can buy a take away tub of ice cream - yum.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a Studio spa room for 3 nights. On arrival we were upgraded to a fantastic spa suite with lots of room and a great balcony with the spa.
We found that it's convenience to the main shopping area was a real boon.
We did have to pay extra for internet access and found we could only get wireless on the balcony, not in the room.
Would strongly recommend for older couples (children under 16 not allowed).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David and Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing