We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The Meridian is in the best position in town - quiet but on the doorstep of all of the wonderful restaurants of beautiful Port Douglas. John and Sue, our hosts, were terrific! Nothing was too much trouble. They made is feel very welcome and had great advice about the best places to see, and the best place to play golf. Thanks John! The Meridian is very well maintained and so comfortable to come back to. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed as part of our honeymoon.
Received free bubbly from hotel!! Rooms are very good, with kitchen facilities, free washing machine etc!
pool is lovely with free bbq area- only downfall being that its quite shaded and as Im a sun worshipper Id prefer less shade! No biggy tho as the beach is about 5 min walk away.
Hotel offer free underground parking which is handy. Hotel is right beside the main st of Port Douglas where all the bars, restaurants and shops are. Really enjoyed our time in Port!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here for five nights for our wedding anniversary. It had come highly recommended from my parents, and with such a wealth of hotels to choose from in Port Douglas, decided to go with this one. Owners John and Sue were wonderful hosts - helpful, welcoming, and above all eager to tell us all about the many things we could do in Port Douglas. They booked three trips for us - just ring them or speak to them at the desk - and were clearly genuinely interested in their guests' well-being and enjoyment.
The rooms are fine - ask for one that overlooks the pool - and the amenities are good too. There's a DVD player in each room, as well as good TV with a range of channels. The microwave and fridge are useful too, as you can buy food at local supermarket and prepare it in the room.
All in all, a great place to stay in Port Douglas - the service with a smiler is what really makes it special. Sit back and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAdelaideMcCanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We honestly couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. We're a young and adventurous couple and wanted a good base for our activities at Port Douglas.

Pro:

~ SUPER close to everything that is Port Douglas. It's a short walk to the beach and the main stretch of Port Douglas. We didn't bother with a hire car, and saved a lot of money because of that. All the activities we did (cape tribulation, daintree rainforest, great barrier reef, etc) had free pick-ups from the front door of the Meridian. For everything else, we just walked up the footpath and we were there. It relaxed the mood a lot. We could just walk out the door and keep walking.

~ We are both perfectionists when it comes to cleanliness. The room was spotless and aired out.

~ We stayed for 8 days and the rooms were plenty well enough geared out for a long stay. We stayed in a room that had its own laundry facilities and a well-equipped kitchen. The room wasn't ultra-modern; it was simple, fresh and comfortable.

~ The staff are great. Really friendly. I had some communications with them over email before our stay, and they were just as friendly then too. They were all too happy to answer our questions for us and help us out during our stay.

~ The pricetag is amongst the cheapest you'll find inside of Port Douglas. Sure, they don't have a restaurant or bar or spa at the hotel, but all those things are just a short walk away. You still have perfect access to these facilities, yet you don't have to pay all that extra money for the 'convenience' of having it in the hotel.

~ No kids under 15. Need I say more? :D

Con:

~ Uhhhh..... I really don't know....... maybe just that people who are particularly tall may have to slouch a little under the shower head?

We booked the Meridian because of all the fantastic reviews we saw here on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecityrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Friendly staff, and very convenient to the center of Port Douglas and its restaurants, stores and marina.
We shopped at Coles market and had breakfast in every morning.

As the resort is Adults only the pool was never crowded and we could swim as late as we wanted, very romantic at 11 o'clock at night .
If you want night life, the main road is 3 minutes walk with pubs and clubs
We went in jun which was very warm but wet,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rondun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We were made most welcome by John even though we were late in arriving due to the arranged transport not appearing at the airport in Cairns. He could not do enough for us, booked trips for us, gave advice on local facilities etc. The room was spotless and comfortable. Well done to both John and Sue for making our 'trip of a lifetime' even more special. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindabhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed at the Meridian in a Standard 1 bedroom apartment for 7 nights and it was everything we expected and fitted appropriately with information on the website. Our trip was just a de-stress so only went on 2 organised excursions which suited us fine. The Meridian was the perfect place for peace and relaxation in close proximity to the Marina, shops and beach where we spent many hours walking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £86 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing