We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and appartments - expensive Wi-Fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great location and appartments - expensive Wi-Fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Appartment was really great, heaps of size and had everything. All in all great value for money. Only problem was the wi-fi was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    163
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
565
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We recently stayed at the Meridian and would have no hesitation in recommending it to future travellers. We booked a Superior one bedroom apartment and weren't disappointed. We had a private balcony with direct access to the swimming pool. Just perfect! The rooms are very clean and tidy, with a lovely decor. The apartments are very quiet although being a downstairs room you could hear scraping of chairs and heavy footed people in the rooms above.
The Meridian is in a perfect location, a very easy one block walk to the main street and a two block walk to the beach.
Just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2create
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Sue and John made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Their quiet professional manner was excellent. Room first class, especially the cleaniness great. Beautiful white towels, with extras provided . Beautiful view of the tropical gardens and l Lagoon pool from our room. Pool kept in superbl condition, ideal temperature and offering a range of options in the shade and sun during the day. As part of our packge we were given a complimentary sunset sailing cruise with champagne in hand. Peaceful, quiet, realaxing holiday was also one block from the main street and one and a half blocks from the beach. Couldn't ask for any more. Certainly a resort for couples or those without children. First class stay. Try it and see!!!!!!
Louise and Denis
Victoria

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic. The rooms was very clean and tidy. The lounge area in the room was great for relaxing after a day out and about. The location is spot on and I would not bother with a car unless your going to be going out of Port Douglas a lot. It was great to have a full fridge and kitchen for when we did want to eat in, and it was fully fitted out with pots and pans.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightTravelerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

I booked this hotel as it was close to the town centre, we were staying for just 2 nights for a tour of the Daintree Forest and Cape Tribulation (which was great by the way!). I must say I didn’t think PD was that special, pretty little town, 2 nights is more than enough. Nice to have a meal in the evening to one of the restaurants in town. The hotel was ok in my view, had everything you needed, we were in a standard room, had a flat screen TV, boiler, toaster, coffee, sugar and milk to get you started and the bathroom was large for the room type. I booked a room on a higher floor because I wouldn’t like people in the pool to swim by my room…you would need to keep your blinds shut all the time for some privacy. The pool was fine but only a few spots have sunlight. After I had a shower I felt all sticky and I thought this was caused by the sunscreen…but I realized it was the towels! They wash them with too much conditioner to make them softer but they become sticky!!! Anyway there is a washing machine and drier every 2/3 rooms, so no problem, you can wash them up again! I didn’t like the fact that the room was only cleaned every 3 days and if you wanted cleaning every day you needed to pay for it. The couple at reception were not the owners as they were on leave….they asked for our credit card 3 times (took the money for the stay in advance as soon as we arrived, then money for the tour and then again at check out…) and I felt it was weird. They didn’t overcharge but I just thought it would have been normal to get the credit card as an assurance at first and then charge us for the stay at check out. I didn’t really like that, it did put me off as I had to double check all the invoices they gave us so I think next time I would spend a bit more and stay in a chain hotel like the Sheraton as it has breakfast available, a free bus to the centre and restaurants in the hotel premises.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmer, Owner at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Thank you for your review. It does seem a little crazy that the managers requested your credit card so frequently, I cant imagine why. Your observations regarding the towels are interesting , I will pass on your comment to the linen service. It doesn't sound usual and I am certain they would have been replaced them if it was brought to their attention. Anyway, please accept our apologies for making you feel uncomfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Sue and John made us feel very at home during our stay and always go the extra mile to make your trip the best it can be. The room we had was great and the towels were serviced and smellies topped up even though it's self catering and we were only there a short time. The location is spot on - very close to the main street and 4 mile beach but in a quiet location. The pool was very lovely and very relaxing especially with the hot spa! Thanks for a great tip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at the Meridian for 3 nights and loved it! The room is really well maintained, clean and very comfortable. All the rooms had a private balcony overlooking the pool which was very relaxing. The pool area had sun beds and a BBQ, but unfortunately the pool was situated so that it only received the morning sun. This also meant that the pool was refreshingly cool!

The Meridian is a very short walk to the main street for restaurants and and pubs, and only a couple minute walk to four mile beach. There is a public bus stop right outside of the hotel too. The owners were really friendly and very helpful when arranging tours for us. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing