We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent a week at this great gay resort. This was the first time we have visited a G&L resort and were a little apprehensive at first but that soon vanished after the friendly welcome we received from both staff and other guests. We found the location excellent being only a short drive from Port Douglas and under an hour from Cairns. Having a car is a definite advantage here. The atmosphere is very relaxed and casual. The staff are just fantastic, Bert, Ray, Dan and the rest made us feel most welcome. The Turtle table was a good place to meet people and break down the social barriers, we met many nice people here as well as in the spa which was a friendly place to relax. Both beaches are good with most people preferring the more sandy Northern beach. We were upgraded to a King room on our arrival - thanks guys. The room was very clean with a balcony and a sublime view. Will definitely visit again when we need to unwind and recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you’ve dreamed of relaxing on a beautiful deserted piece of coast with other like-minded folk – get yourself to Turtle Cove. The beach with its soft sand, rocks and gentle waves is sublime! The rooms are simple, spacious and clean (perfect for their beach setting). Cool off in the retro, pebbled pool or warm up in the spa surrounded by a rock garden. When it’s time to eat, head to the open-plan bar/lounge/restaurant (protected by a very effective wind break) and enjoy hearty holiday food with a sophisticated twist. Dining for singles is made easy by the Turtle Table: a long board at which anyone can sit and find company. The most important element of the success of the resort is: the staff (supervised by Bert the Queen B manager). Their friendly, but efficient manner promotes a casual atmosphere. Turtle Cove is NOT the place if you are hankering for the hollow glamour of the five star resort experience. Turtle Cove’s luxury is of the natural kind; take pleasure in the landscape, humanity and humour!

Room Tip: there are several room options: the ones on the beach are fantastic, the next best are the ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Turtle Cove is a wonderful Gay hideaway and a great way to experience the sights of Northern Queensland. Their staff-to-guest ratio is impressively high (all staff except the chef live on the grounds) and they've been able to maintain that "gay guesthouse" experience that has been vanishing faster than the Great Barrier Reef!

The guests were of mixed ages and backgrounds, but everyone was friendly, and the atmosphere led to a great group dynamic by which to meet people at dinner, on the private beach, etc. There was a good mix of flirtatious singles and content couples.

The dinners always had a good variety of entree and main options, but sometimes the quality of the food could be hit-and-miss, and the service (timing of the dishes) could be a little off. But given the size of the establishment and the unpredictable time that guests would show up for dinner, I think they did a pretty good job.

We would definitely consider coming back again, if we find ourselves in that corner of the world again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Had such a great time!! I was a bit tentative about the resort as I thought it was really only for gay men. There's was nothing to worry about. We were the only lesbian couple there, but felt so welcomed by both staff and other guests. A beautiful location, great rooms and a really relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbtravel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a great time.

From the minute we arrived, at 8.30 pm, we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel part of the 'family'. Queen 'B' (aka Bert) made sure that we were comfortable in our room before ensuring that we had any food we might need. Everyone at the Turtle Table welcomed us warmly too, so when we went in the next morning for breakfast it was with no worries at all.

The staff are, without exception, wonderful, managing to strike the balance between friendliness and service without missing a beat. Nothing was too much trouble, even to the point of being offered lifts into Port Douglas to collect our hire car - which had to be done twice because we forgot our Driving Licences the first time (I know, daft so-and-so's).

The other guests were all friendly too, and after just one day it felt as though we were at a house party rather than sharing a hotel with other paying guests, and by the second day we were relaxed almost to the point of being horizontal.

There are 2 beaches belonging to the hotel, one directly in front, the other a short walk along.
Almost the whole of the grounds are Clothing Optional, including the pool and the spa bath area. Bert encourages all his guests to feel free to dress, or not, as they please, everywhere except the bar/restaurant area, and this too helps the relaxed atmosphere.

The Turtle Table was a revelation. For the first couple of nights we chose a table for two (English reserve?), but changed our minds when we saw how eating together helped to break down barriers and made the conversation flow. We met some wonderful people and every night seemed to turn into a party with much laughter and fun. We teamed up with another couple (from down south) and enjoyed an excellent day on the Skyrail near Cairns, an outing I would highly recommend.

We travelled a long way to sample the delights of the Cove, and we have returned home very well satisfied. We would both highly recommend the place as somewhere to stay. We would even go so far as to say that any Gay man or woman who is visiting Australia should make a visit here part of their itinerary.

Take my advice, go and enjoy it.....

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Ocean Front rooms and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillMakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful break. Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and the location is sublime. Bert has done a great job of revitalizing this Australian Gay icon. If you've never stayed or visited this place your missing out on a real treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WG3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My third sublime stay at this hidden gem has left me totally relaxed and defrosted from Melbourne. The service was extraordinary (6stars if I could!), and the ambience and peace unforgettable. Incredible value for what you get - I can't understand why it isn't more popular with a younger crowd so I'm planning to get a group together to share the joy with me :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uralive75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
11.6 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
513 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
11.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £107 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing