We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Slacks Creek, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Awesome place to chill out on the beach. pool or spa, great food and drinks too. I was here for new years and again now in June and loved it both times. Staff are always helpful. May I suggest you have your own shuttle service to and from the airport, it would be a lot easier :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
And you remembered New Years Eve with us whoooow, say no more he…he..
Was so great to see you again and yes I am proud of my staff family who do everything,
to make you feel at home and relaxed.
We do our own Limo service on request and one day will have our own bus again.
See you soon again, with love from all of us at the Cove
XXX
Queen “B”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    88
    26
    16
    7
See reviews for
2
226
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are Sydney based couple arrived for chill out long w/e and not disappointed. We stayed here a few years ago and the place was getting tired however the new owners have spent some money and all rooms and general areas have had a well needed "facelift" - so ambience is private, relaxing and fun - rooms are very clean and good size and to a "standard" - its not Grand Hyatt/Sheraton and doesn't try to be - but fun resort, very comfortable beds and great location with its own very private beach and pool/spa. Dining was tasty and good size and chef has some interesting dishes on menu - and if you do need fine dining you can always venture up to Port Douglas or down to Palm Cove - 15/20 min either way. Staff are excellent under the "command" of Bert and always attentive and making sure everyone feels included - so everyone can mingle - or not - if they just want to have some quiet romantic me time with their partner/lover...:) Bert was also always making sure transport was sorted out even offering to drive us up to Port Douglas one evening so we could have a drink and enjoy a b/day celebration. All in all a very enjoyable break and recharge from the bustle of Sydney.

Room Tip: We like the upper level rooms effectively 3rd level as you get good view out to Coral Sea - queen si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YodaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks guys for your kind words.
You so right, we don't want to be 5 stars, because then you must be dressed up for dinner,
Whisper, not laugh aloud, pool closed at 8, no noise after 9 he…he…
We want you to relax, have a great time and be your self,
I was only to pleased to drive you to Port for your birthday dinner,
But you kept it secret, so a belated “Happy birthday” from all of us at the Cove.
Hope to se you back one day
XXX
Queen “B”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Over the last twenty years I have visited Turtle Cove Resort on numerous occasions. I saw it in its hey day and also as it started to slide.Fortunately, the Resort was eventually sold and the new owners have set about bringing it back to "the good old days" and being a place that you can be yourself and comfortable in.
I stayed in a beach front room which was exceptionally clean and comfortable
The staff were very obliging in meeting the guests requests and the current chefs consistently produced first rate meals
Turtle Cove, in my estimation, would currently be comparable to overseas gay resort icons such as "Island House" in Key West USA where I have also stayed many times

Room Tip: Try the Beach Front rooms. They front a large expanse of grass which leads down to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 501IanDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Whoooww, yes I remember the good old days.
And yes you’re so right that the new owners, totally committed to the gay scene,
Bringing back the good old days. And we are very excited that you notice the massive improvements.
Hard work for all of us, but we are loving, taking care of all our guests and making them feel at home and free to be what you want to be.
Hope to see you back soon again,
With love from all the team at the Cove.
XXX Queen “B”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The location of this resort is excellent we stayed in the beachfront rooms that were the best location in the resort . The food was amazing with different selections every night because if you wanted to drink the resort is some distance from Port Douglas well done to them on the food . They could work on the cleanliness of the room paying attention to the bathrooms . The staff were friendly and very helpful . I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi guys,
Thank you for your kind words.
I acknowledge the room, but our regular cleaner was away and forced to use agent cleaners.
Say no more, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon
Love from all of the team.
Queen “B”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The place was great. I stayed 7 nights. From what I understand it's had a face lift (first time for me). The rooms are clean with ample space. The bathroom a bit dated but again clean with everything you need. Who goes to Port Douglas to spend all day in the room anyway!!

The bar staff were lovely, the chef delicious, and the owner was there when I was and it's clear he's making every effort to make it a great destination.

I organised a day trip to the reef and another to the Daintree from reception and was picked up from the resort for both. I also took advantage of the masseuse that visits who was excellent. There's also a well equipped gym for those so inclined. I preferred the bar!! As I didn't have a car I ate every meal there, except for the tours, with a menu that changes daily with great food.

The only thing I'd say is make sure you search their deals section and use the promotions code as the standard prices seem a bit exy but I got a great deal when I went.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to the beach front deluxe rooms which were great. All rooms are away from the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ScottG718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Turtle Cove for the third time, in May this year. We will be back before the end of the year. It so relaxing, the new owners are very nice people, and the staff always make us welcome. For any body wishing to travel to Cairns, and need a place to stay, they really should consider Turtle Cove.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the only way to go, a little bit more expensive, but great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at Turtle Cove with my partner for three days. It was really wonderful. The setting is great, a secluded beach, but still close to Cairns or Port Douglas. The rooms are clean, and well maintained. The staff are really friendly, and the food and drinks are wonderful. One of the nicest features were the evening meals, where all the guests ea together (you can eat alone if you prefer). It's a very friendly environment, great for couples, solo travellers or groups of friends. Turtle Cove is a beautiful spot, and a real gem. Don't believe any of the few negative reviews on here. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proincais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
13.5 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
459 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing