We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private beach front was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Private beach front was awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I enjoyed my time at the resort. It was relaxing. Staff members are very friendly. There is a very cute bar tender. It is a bit far (15 minutes drive) from Port Douglas especially if you are not driving. That makes day tour a bit early.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtleCove101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
thanks for your lovely comments.
The great thing here is that even if we get a rain shower,
the rain is still warm and does never make you shiver like the rains in colder climates.
The beauty is in the eyes of the beholder (cute bar tender he...he...)
Hope to see you back soon.
Hugs from all of us (including the cute barman) at the Cove
Bert Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    88
    26
    16
    7
See reviews for
2
228
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very friendly, great location with a good private beach and lovely pool area, good food and good rooms. What more could one ask for in a gay resort. The staff go out of their way to make one feel welcome.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are the best but over time I've stayed in all parts of the hotel and have enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your kind and true words he...he..he...
And yep... that is all of us and about us, we just want you to be your self
and let go of all the troubles, stress and dramas in the world.
We have our own special little free world here at Turtle Cove.
Hope to see you back soon again.
Hugs from all of us at the Cove
Bert
Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner and I recently enjoyed a joyful eight days at Turtle Cove. We have returned home tanned, relaxed and carrying memories of a fun time at this beachfront location.

Accommodation: All rooms in the resort are of a good size and are well serviced. Many rooms have a view of the sparkling ocean. We stayed in a Beach Front Suite, which opened to green lawns with an uninterrupted view of the ocean. Many rooms in the resort have beautiful views.

Absolute Beach Front: The beauty of Turtle Cove is its location with access to an exquisite private beach. Turtle Cove is a place to be as playful as you like while tanning and swimming to your hearts content. If an escape from the beach is needed the beautifully clean pool and delightfully hot spa provides a great alternative.

Restaurant: The menu in the Sandbar Restaurant is excellent and portion sizes very generous. We enjoyed each meal with good wine, too many cocktails and friendly company from fellow travellers.

Staff: A highlight of our stay was the professional and attentive staff who take obvious pride in the resort and work well to ensure guests are looked after appropriately.

Turtle Cove is situated on a private section of the coast between Cairns and Port Douglas. It's slight isolation contributes to the charm of Turtle Cove. We enjoyed our stay without a car but did venture out on the odd occasion with other guests.

Turtle Cove is a holiday destination to be cherished and enjoyed by the Gay and Lesbian Community.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and independently saying what
we try to achieve to make all our guests feel at home here.
It is so rewarding for us here, when the hard work pays off.
We hope to see you back soon and we'll keep on improving.
Warmest hugs from all of us at the Cove.
Bert
Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was my first time to Turtle Cove and it wont be the last. What makes me give this resort a 5 Star rating.
- The Staff - Burt , Dan , Karl , Ray , Max , Mikai , Tony ," Thank you guys" for making me feel so comfortable and part of a family. I stayed solo for a few days and have never meet these guys prior , they make you feel like a long lost friend , always have a smile , nothing is a bother and they are genuine, real down to earth human beings.
- The Food - Chris is the chef , he knows his food and you know he is proud of his trade by the way of presentation, a very high class standard equal to that of a silver service restaurant, and the night time menus change daily. Local produce and meats were used which just puts another feather in the Cap that this resort wears. Breakfast which is included in your room rate is Continental and plenty of it, my favourite was the fresh fruit salad. The prices for lunch and dinner are duly justified and value , especially for this region.
- Location - Beachfront , and it is literally on the beach , the main road is behind the resort and the road noise is muffled by the dense tropical vegetation.The resort has its own private beach area clothing optional. Even though I stayed mid winter you still have to slip slop slap, its so tranquil calm and quite , perfect if you want to unwind in the sun.
- Accommodation - Rooms are large and well equipped and serviced daily . The choice is beachfront which is a separate wing, then behind them another wing of upstairs sea view or garden view, all with large balconies. Don't expect shiny brass handles and marble flooring being a gay resort, some may assume this to be the norm, the " Bling" so to speak is the resort itself, where it is located, and the "Staff".
This is a tropical relaxed lifestyle resort you will be holidaying in , there are no bells and whistles about this resort , everyone is equal and you become part of a large family and meet new friends. You can party if you want , or just simply relax absorb what this wonderful resort has to offer, the choice will be yours.
Thank you Turtle Cove resort and All who sail in her for making my stay one that will be remembered and talked about , and i will visit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Southern Wing either Sea view or Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Whoooowww that was a long one so to speak.
Thank you very much, you said more than any web site can ever try to achieve.
And we didn’t even pay you he…he… (A bubbly awaits you though when you stay again)
My children, as I call my staff, just love doing what they do and just have so much
pleasure in making our guests feel at home and relaxed.
And as I always say, no guest is a room number here, we try to make you part of the family.
But still as you say, nothing is pushed upon you, you just do, say and look what you feel like with us.
And that is part of the reason we don’t pretend to be 5 stars, to many rules and regulations then.
Thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you back when you can.
With hugs from all of us at the Cove.
Bert
Queen “B”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

There is simply no better place to go to wind down, relax in a sexy and naturally beautiful resort and be cared for by friendly staff. We love this place and the staff at Turtle Cove! This is a place that we DO keep coming back to, time and again. Jim and Nic

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Jim and Nic,
thank you for your very nice words and yes
our staff family, just love taking care of our guests
like its their family also. And with the wonderful Barrier Reef and Rain forest
right on our doorstep its heaven on earth here.
Looking forward to you next visit.
Love from all of us at the Cove
Bert
Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just spent a few nights at Turtle Cove celebrating a dear friends birthday. Must say that it hasn't changed, since the last visit, which is just as well. The location is stunning, the staff, more like good friends, are just brilliant and make this place, the food..... some of the best. Been a long time between drinks but will definitely coming back very soon. Don't change. Thanks to Bert, Dan and all of the boys.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
And yes it is great to celebrate birthdays with friends here at the Cove.
What a crazy and fun night it was.
And regarding my staff (family) they will never treat you like just a room number, like other resorts.
Here all our guests are treated like friends who just want to let go, be and do what you like so to speak he...he... and still get good service like other resorts.
Hope your trip to the freezing south was OK and hope to see you back soon.
With love from all of us at the Cove
Bert
Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Turtle Cove boasts a beautiful private beach, friendly staff, and an amiable, casual atmosphere. My husband and I recently vacationed there for the second time, and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing return trip. We love the poolside deck, and the sexy, fern-enshrouded hot-tub.

We had booked a garden room, but upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the fantastic beach-front rooms, which was very comfortable, with a lovely semi-private porch on which we could read and nap in the sun, or take in the stunning ocean view.

The prime draw of the resort is its gorgeous clothing-optional beach, and we spent most days there, returning to the resort for lunch (the chicken breast burger is amazing) before heading back out to the beach to swim and take in more sun. All chef Chris' meals were varied and tasty (his menu changed every night), and the bar and admin staff were always welcoming and gregarious. Recent upgrades to the gym afforded me some great workouts -- I was very impressed with these improvements.

Our meals, drinks, accommodation and even our massages were very affordable. My husband and I loved our stay at Turtle Cove and already look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: The beach-front rooms sport beautiful views, and you can also see the ocean from the second level of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you guys for your very kind words.
yes our private beach is just soooo amazing,
no public access and just for us resort guests.
Sorry that you had to do all those work out in our now totally upgraded gym.
But then again you had to work of all that extra weight from the scrumptious meals.
I could not dream of better staff and we are all like a small family here.
Trust that you had a great flight back and hope dearly to see you again at the Cove one day.
With love from us all
Bert Queen "B"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
13.5 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Property: Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing