We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival which was very much appreciated after our somewhat lengthy journey. To our delight we were upgraded to a beach front suite which proved to be very comfortable, clean and convenient. We were just metres from the beach and the restaurant/bar area. The self serve tropical/continental buffet breakfasts were delicious as , in fact, were the evening meals. We were pleasantly surprised at the high calibre of the dinners and, bearing in mind the relative isolation of Turtle Cove, the range of choices available. Throughout our stay all the staff were cheerful, efficient and helpful.. We have no hesitation om recommending Turtle Cove as an ideal place for a relaxing holiday. Thanks Bert!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank desjohni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
Nothing worse after a long trip to be treated like a new room number
Instead of a person.
Our chef changes most dished daily, to ensure you have a variety of choices
each night. Thank you for recommending us to your friends.
As I always say: “If you enjoyed it, tell all your friends and if you did not,
Please keep us a secret” he…he…..he…
See you soon again (we hope)
Love you long time, from all of us at the Cove.
XX
Bert
Queen “B”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Been meaning to write this up since June. Love the place. Right on the beach, good waves in the sea, not frantic nor over-crowded. Love: large grassy lawn in front, breakfast, lunch, dinner on your own or chatting with someone new at the Turtle table. Its really about all those things you can't get at just about any other place on the east cost of Aussie. That's why we come back each year - and each year stay a bit longer.

Some reviews complain about rooms being tired and pricey. But if you want:
- flash, modern rooms with marble
- parents who don't control their rug rats
- to be intimate with someone and made to feel a freak by other guests
- to be naked sometimes and told its not OK
- to fool around in the spa-pool and told its also not OK
THEN ... go just about anywhere else and you'll certainly pay the same or more.

Long may Turtle Cove exist. Its a short hop from NZ and we love it. We've stayed in all room types. You don't end up spending much time in them as you're on the beach, in the sea, reading on the lawn, around the pool, in the spa or meeting new people in the dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Perplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for coming home again and again.
You indeed said it all.
We don’t want to be a 5 star property, can you imagine:
Pool closed at 8pm, no noise please after 9 and light off at 10
Yep, our motto is: ” look what you like, say what you like and do what you like “(sort of he…he…)
No one can see our hear us, so go for it and be your self.
Thanks again for staying with us yet again.
And we look very much forward seeing you back again.
With kissie kissies from all of us at the Cove.
XXX
Bert
Queen “B”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from 7 wonderful days. Where to start - the staff and hosts were as friendly as always and made us welcome and were helpful with getting us in holiday mode as soon as we arrived. We were in a Beach Front Suite with a stunning view out the ocean, King size bed and easy access to the beach. The meals were fantastic - items changing nightly to provide variety - giving a taste of local produce. The Turtle Table is an institution, a great way to meet people and make friends and swap stories. The place just keeps getting better.

Room Tip: The beach front suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely remarks here.
What can we say; you more or less said it all.
We just keep updating and improving facilities.
But here, we are right on the beach and no other resort can equal that.
By us you can even use the massive pool and hot Jacuzzi 24 hours a day.
Mind you the sea salt and warm ocean winds play havoc with the up keep.
Our chef loves using local fresh produce and indeed changes dishes all the time,
So even dinner is an experience not to be missed.
Hope to see you back soon again.
With fondest regards, from all of us at the Cove.
XXX
Bert
Queen “B”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fifth stay at Turtle Cove Resort (TCR) in 20 years. The Resort transfer on arrival worth the money unless you’re a newbie; then I suggest a car hire as there is terrific sightseeing in the vicinity. With the Barrier Reef day trip from Port Douglas a must.
Travelled alone for a seven night stay, knowing I’d not need to leave the premises. It’s not GLBTI friendly it’s GLBTI FAMLEE. Manager Bert’ has literally been sucked away out to sea over the years but is joyously back reinvigorating the place with his fabulous original VISION’. Also got to meet the new owner Kelvin who with his wife bought the place and then proceeded to seek out Bert in parts foreign and convince him to return to help recapture the original intent. It’s a match made in heaven and between them are hosts extraordinaire.
BUT, if personality doesn’t do it for you just bring along a collapsible Esky. Fill it with ice, pop in a beverage of choice, grab a towel, beach brolly and scamper on down to your very own beach & luxuriate. Wander homeward at the end of the hard day to comfortable accommodation with all the required accoutrement and movies to boot. Poop, shower, shave and shampoo then meander on down to meet the BEST of TCR.
EMPLOYEES & GUESTS! Without fail on every one of my stays the troops relate stories of lives lived, places born, places seen, people loved, those lost, businesses owned, businesses squandered, medications, passions, politics, property, adventures, astonishing achievements and remarkable 6 degree separations that amaze. The FAMLEE share much to marvel upon.
So I’d like to RECRUIT, RECRUIT ’. TCR delivers grand welcomes, generosity of spirit, hysterical laughter, stories that’ll keep you invited out to dinner for years and grand company on a pristine foreshore swathed in the sound of ocean.
Food terrific, massage REAL FIRM and the nature magic. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pineapple_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
You are so right; the owners are determined to get Turtle Cove back to the famous old days.
They, like me are determined to make every guest feel at home and free to be, what they wish to be.
Although I was away for many years and indeed the Tsunami (2004) did not kill me after all.
So getting my lost baby (Turtle Cove) back on the world gay map again is just so rewarding.
And making our guests feel like if they are at home away from home works wonders.
Some arrive totally stressed out and leave totally relaxed and ready to tackle the stress at home again.
Any advertising can never supersede the word of mouth.
So again thank you for your great comments here.
We look forward welcoming you home for stay number 6 soon again he…he…
With lots of love from all of us at the Cove.
XXX
Bert
Queen”B”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was my first trip to Australia in 2013 as one side trip from Sydney took me to the north east of Australia.

For my planning i was looking for accommodation in this area. In my research i have found the resort Turtle Cove between Cairns and Port Douglas.

The point which makes my decision for Turtle Cove was one review here on Tripadvisor. Because of the reason I was traveling for my own, and sometimes you need on your travel somebody to speak with to share the experience of the day and so on.

So I read all the reviews from people who were traveling alone too. And one person was describing the turtle cove as a place where somebody who is staying here will never be alone for a long time. He described the warm welcoming atmosphere form the staff and the other guests on the dinner table in the evening.

And now I was never disappointed that i have chosen this nice beautiful resort with the amazing natural beach.

At first I passed the resort because of the whole green vegetation, I didnt recognized the rainbow flag on the entry. By the way the flag was battered from the climate and tropical storms. So I was getting a little bit scared, because i didnt find the resort on the way to Port Douglas, and I was getting a little bit nervous to get lost in the left hand side traffic in the australian wilderness ;-)

But I found some people ask them and they advised me to the right direction.

The welcome on the resort was very warm from a friendly staff. The rooms are very large and clean. I booked a room with sea view.

The resort have a nice comfortable bar, where your can have a drink all the time. Beside the bar a pool is located with a whirlpool on the side. The whirlpool ist very busy in the evening.



Every day dinner from the menu card will be served. The Dishes what i have ordered some evening was very delicious every time.

The dinner will be served every day on a big table where the other guests had dinner too. So you haven't got a chance not to get in contact with each other there. I loved it.

I met some friends with whom I am in contact on FB now.

If you are going to go to Turtle Cove it is better to rent a car, because it is located between Cairns and Port Douglas. And If you want to explore Port Douglas, the Daintree Rain forrest to Cairns you need a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hagen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.
As I always say, web sites can show and tell you anything they want you to see and hear,
But trip advisor comes from visitors staying with us and we cannot control that.
And yes we get many singles here and indeed the “Please Join me Turtle Table”
get people to meet and mix.
We are very much tucked away between Cairns and Port Douglas and that gives us total privacy.
The moment you arrive we make sure that you are feeling if you are a friend returning.
After all you spend a day traveling and the day you leave, yet an other day of travel.
So two days lost of your holiday already.
Hence we want you to feel relaxed and free the moment you arrive.
We hope you will return one day.
With hugs from all of us at the Cove.
XXX
Bert Queen’B’

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A while ago now but I remember it fondly.
The rooms, the grounds, the bar, the pool, the service, the extras; all brilliant.
Of course the company you take makes a huge difference and mine was superb but I will always highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor; more exercise & less traffic walking past after late night bar, pool or spa fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for staying with us.
It's just so rewarding to see more and more girls coming back.
After all we are GLBT and the mix is just so nice and fun.
Hope to see you both back soon.
With love from all of us at the Cove
xxx
Bert
Queen"B"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ooh Queen B you have done it again !! Just back from 4 days of pure Bliss @ Turtle Cove. Thanks to the wonderful staff Bert, Dan & Karl (omg). As a guest you are made to feel part of one big happy family. Special thanks to the Chef amazing meals on 3 nights,. The Turtle table continues to bring fellow guests together. It was cool to see the owner on site being approachable to fellow guests & doing chores around the resort. August is a great time to visit, the beach the pool & spa & nearly forgot the View !!!!! Drove up to Port Douglas & Cape Tribulation can recommend The Daintree Tea House Restaurant for a meal as well.
It is a pleasure to return to Turtle Cove & my Holidays now revolve around coming back each year.
I will continue to support this great Aussie Icon & Encourage all like minded to give it ago.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms if you can but hey they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rio1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlecovegayresort, General Manager at Turtle Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for your kind words and my little family were only to happy
to have you here again, so to speak he…he…
Don’t blame chef Chris, if you did put on to much weight, our new gym could have fixed that part.
Whooowwww you have to wait a whole year, this old queen could be in a Zimmer frame
by then he….eh…. Yes you are right, we all treat our guests more like friends and that makes it just so
relaxing here. And the bonus is that the owners are the best and join in the fun.
Book your ticket early he…he…... and hope to see you next year.
With love from all of us at the Cove.
XXX Bert
Queen “B”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
11.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,052 reviews
9.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
945 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £104 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing