We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 Bedroom Apartment with lots of space”
Review of Bay Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Villas Resort
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in a ground floor 2 bedroom apartment, which was close to the pool and a short drive/medium walk (10mins) to Macrosson Street. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and there was no issues with noise. We found the price for 4 adults to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you have young kids it might be a good idea to get ground floor, to keep an eye on them near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed one night, we had a studio apartment on the ground floor . Out the rear doorway we had a 7' concrete block wall. No view out of this apartment . Expensive for what we were offered. Bed comfortable. Unit was clean. As we were only there one night it served our purpose. If I was staying longer I would be asking for another room.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights. The location is good as you can walk to the beach and to the town centre. We had a lovely apartment overlooking one of the pools and the pools were amazing. Everything in this 4 star resort was what I expected, except lack of information.
First the resort is 3 storeys high and there is nowhere stated that the apartments do not have a lift. Luckily we had small suitcases. If I took my mum with me she would not be able to walk to the third floor.
Secondly, a payment was processed from my Visa card during checking in, but I was not told about it or given an invoice until I was checking out and I wanted to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs by the heated pool. During checking in, ask for the invoice, since they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in an upstairs studio apartment for 3 nights. Very spacious, full kitchen and free laundry albeit down stairs. We didn't have a pool view as we came off the street and got the last apartment available but we did have a nice balcony facing the street. We were delighted with our stay and was reasonably close to the main shopping/eating area. Would stay there again if back in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently stayed with my family of 4 in a 2 bedroom unit. Was very spacious & had all that we needed including a kitchen, pool view balcony & washing machine & dryer.
If you are staying more than a couple of days, you will have to purchase more detergents etc.
The units arnt serviced unless you are staying more than 7 days, so you will need to wash your towels etc. the complex has free washing machines downstairs too.
The pools were great, one is heated which is great when it's not that warm outside. Only a 8 min walk into town. Overall enjoyed our stay & would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved everything about Bay Villas Resort! We were on the top floor in a two bedroom self contained apartment. The stairs area only short flights, so mo problem for us. The only down side is that we shared a mini foyer with the next room (12A and 12B), so you need to make sure you pull your door closed before leaving the main door. I think this so they can still book the other room as a hotel style room, or people can book a three bedroom and it is then kind of all in one.
Our room had everything we needed, and was very spacious. Was nice being able to spread out and not feel like we were tripping over our luggage or each other.
Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We all got good sleep here.
Location was great - we have young kids so hired a car to drive everywhere. Close to town but limited parking at times. You can park in the back street. At night, the street at the back was used as a race track, so try to steer clear of the back part of the venue if this bothers you.
Two separate pools, one heated and one not. The pools were never too busy which was great, and there are some sun lounges to lie on and watch the kids. Two separate BBQ areas as well (one gas, one electric). They have some supplies there like oil, salt, paper towel, tongs etc so it made it nice and easy to cook up a feast and enjoy on the deck.
One of the best parts about the stay was the woman at the reception. She was always happy to assist and gave us lots of tips of things to do and places to go. She even told us that if we were going to the supermarket, then there was an underground carpark that you access from the back of Coles. This helped us as immensely as it was hard to get a park in the main drag!
I will be recommending this venue to anyone I know who is traveling up this way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purplelion80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband, toddler and 5 month old stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Bay Villa for 10 nights in July. It had everything we required for a relaxing family friendly holiday! The apartment was huge and spacious with a garage and enclosed courtyard. Other bonuses included a bath tub and a full equipped laundry. Vicky at reception was lovely and extremely helpful, we borrowed many magazines and sand equipment throughout our stay. The two pools were great - one heated which was perfect in the evenings, and a cooler one which was great when the sun was shining!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was great for kids/pram etc. The only thing is it was a little to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammysandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,645 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
The Port Douglas Queenslander
The Port Douglas Queenslander
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing