We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Bay Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Villas Resort
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed in a studio apartment at the Bay Villas Resort for 6 nights in July. The room was quite clean and spacious, and within walking distance to Macrossan St. and the beach. The free laundry service was also a nice touch.

The only two complaints I might have are: (1) in our 6 night stay, we were given two rolls of toilet paper. Any extra roll could be purchased for a "small" fee; and (2) the showers are put on a timer, so you can only have hot water for four minutes at a time. As someone who likes taking long hot showers, this was quite a hassle.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Bay Villas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

We had 5 nights at Bay Villas in a 1 bed apartment on the second floor. It was clean, spacious, nicely furnished and included a washer and dryer. Staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and nice to deal with.
It was more than adequate for our needs as you are really only there to sleep as you are out and about during the day.
I can recommend Bay Villas as being excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acutlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights over Easter 2009. Very nice, clean hotel. It is a complex of apartments that are rented out to visitors, and there were a couple of rules which were no big deal at all. (It’s not difficult to be sure to throw your trash out, and to clean the dishes that you’ve used!) The front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. They were easily able to book us a couple of tours as well! The location was perfect. It was not right in the middle of everything on Macrossan St, but it was about an 8 minute walk and in a quiet place. (although 8 minutes is a long way away if you get stuck in a downpour like we did a couple of times!) There were also 2 pools which were nice and clean, although they were just a bit small. We actually had a small studio with a small dining table, small kitchen area and the bed, and then a nice separate bathroom. There was also free laundry area for guests which was wonderful because for the first time in my life I actually USED the laundry area! I’d easily go back to this resort again the next time we make our way up to North Queensland!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Bay Villas Resort is a lovely place. The cleanliness is second to none. Very comfortable and well equipped appartments. With two swimming pools (one with spa) we had a choice of which to use. It is located just out of the main area which is a good thing because it was nice and quiet but near enough to all amenites.

We would have liked the option of a welcome pack on arrival because we had to go out shopping for essentials (milk etc) after a long flight and an hour's journey from Cairns airport.

It would also be nice to have the option of 'serviced' accommodation as we wanted the freedom of self-catering but would have liked the beds to be made and towels changed daily. It didn't really matter though as we were out a lot as there is so much to do in QLD.

We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Stayed here last october for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Apartment was very nice, clean and the staff were very helpful in providing information and help with booking trips etc.
The pool was pretty quiet when we were there, which was nice for a decent swim.
Pretty short walk into town from the back of the hotel, straight up the road takes you to the main street, lots of nice restaurants nearby.
All the buses and pick ups come straight to the front of the hotel and I would recommend the daintree tour and definately go to cape tribulation!
We also went horse riding across a beach up at cape Tribulation; do it if you feel up to riding a horse, i've never done it before but it was amazing, definitely something different and exiting.
All in all, i'de definitely return here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyscot86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights & after the hustle & bustle of Sydney it was a nice change. The Bay Villas is a fairly basic but clean apartment complex. It has everything you need in the apartment & the outdoor spaces are clean especially the gas BBQs. I would suggest you go for a 1 bedroom apartment rather than a studio as you get much more space. It is less than 10 minutes to walk into town where there is a reasonable selection of bars, restaurants, shops & a couple of supermarkets for supplies. 4 mile beach is beautiful & unspoilt but when we were there in January it was the stinger season so swimming in the ocean is unadvisable. Both ladies on reception were very helpful in arranging trips & advice on where to eat & drink. We went to the GBR with Quicksilver which although they take a lot of people per day you don't feel cramped or rushed while at the reef due to the size of their permanent platform & the lunch was really good. We also went to the rain forest at Kuranda which is a worthwhile but long day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We found Bay Villa Resort to be the perfect resort for us. It was central to everything, the cafe's, pubs and shops. The VERY friendly staff were so helpful, wether it was making a booking for one of the cruises or just answering our questions, nothing was too much trouble. The resort has everything you need for a very enjoyable stay. The unit we stayed in had air conditioned rooms, fully equiped kitchen, laundry. It had a great pool/spa area plus bbq facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £58 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing