We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Port Douglas Plantation Resort
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment we drove into the Plantation Resort, we knew that we were going to have a lovely stay. The lush surroundings were a great setting for the different sized accommodation units and the the faint sound of the waterfall in the pool area was tempting us to kick back, relax and dive straight into the gorgeous pool.
We were greeted at reception by a very friendly lady who told us all we needed to know about the resort and showed us to our rooms. You never get a second chance at a first impression and our first impression was a very positive one. Friendly and welcoming are a few words that spring to mind.
Our room was clean and tidy and we agreed that the furnishings reminded us of the type you'd find in a Caribbean Island resort. We didn't intend to stay in our room long, so quickly unpacked, got changed and headed to the pool.
There were plenty of loungers to relax on. We took a dip in the pool and then treated ourselves to the jacuzzi. One of the staff walked past and offered us a friendly smile and wave. Once again, in the short time we'd been here we were reminded of how friendly the staff were.
We were obviously so relaxed that we spent the rest of the day by the pool, and were aroused by the smells coming from the on site restaurant. Soon the place was getting busier, and we were greeted by other guests or residents of the Plantation Resort. Again, the welcoming nature of this place made us know straight away that the next few days were going to be exactly what we wanted from our little mini break from cold New Zealand! The menu in the restaurant was simple, but the food was well presented and tasted delicious. The prices of both food and drinks were very reasonable. What astounded us most was that the owners (one being the receptionist from earlier in the day) were mingling with the guests, making sure everyone was ok. Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. What we both agreed on after our stay at this resort (and there will definitely be more!) was that we were made to feel like friends, rather than guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RG3982014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    29
    2
    5
    9
See reviews for
42
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed that the resort in October 2013. We all loved it very very much. The resort is nothing fancy, but offered everything we needed to have an excellent and confortable stay. The apartments were large and well equipped. The kids LOVED the pool, and we loved that we could have lunch/dinner/drinks by the pool while we watch them play. It is definitely a little away from the town and the beach, but if you have a car, it really doesn't matter. We got great advice from the front desk on activities, and although we didn't like the food much, we ate at the resort a few times for convenience (pretty cheap prices too). We would definitely come back. The kids have been asking to go back pretty much every week since we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 70acl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The apartment we stayed in has two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
The bedrooms were large and each one had a huge bed and and en-suite bathroom, perfect for two couples or as in our case parents plus one teenager. We found the the beds comfortable. The showers are ok and everything was clean in the bathrooms.
The kitchen is dated but clean and had everything you need to be self catering.
The lounge is quite a good size with sliding doors opening out onto the back of the complex. Our only complaint is that the insect screens on the sliding doors had seen better days and didn't look like they would have kept much out.
The apartment also has a washing machine and drier.
We liked very much that pool towels were supplied in the room at no extra charge. The pool area is delightful and even though the resort is next to quite a busy road there is little traffic noise do disrupt your relaxation.
The resort has a restaurant by the pool, we had a meal there and found it very enjoyable.
This is not a five star resort but it is a good resort for families with nice facilities and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We only had a short stay at the resort during the Port Douglas Marathon, but took advantage of all the facilities that was on offer. The pool and spa is beautiful as is the bar/dining area .The food in the café was very good and drink prices reasonable, the service was great and the staff friendly. Our unit was exceptionally clean and spacious and both bedrooms have their own toilet and bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return next time we visit Port Douglas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Resort for 5 nights which gave us an excellent rate for families - including a $10 breakfast for the whole family. Can't beat it for value. Beds were comfortable, with 2 bedrooms - each with their own bathroom - perfect for a family of 4. Included a lovely pool and spa area, a tennis court, they provided board games and boulles - well thought out facility. Excellent location with easy access to Port Douglas town and on the doorstep to the beautiful Daintree. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillsMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathie D, Manager at Port Douglas Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Millsmob, thank you for your lovely revue, I hope you had a great holiday in sunny Port Douglas and look forward to seeing you next time. Hurry back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a fabulous three week stay at The Plantation resort. Having spent weeks in hotel rooms it was great to have all the facilities of a home so we could cook in the unit and eat dinner off our laps if we wanted to, but also to have the convenience of a really excellent restaurant right on our doorstep. The food is excellent, portions are large and the service is really friendly. Bar prices area also as cheap as any of the pubs in downtown Port Douglas.

The town centre is about 7km away so you probably need a car (it's the best way to get from CNS airport anyway, I would recommend East Coast Car Rentals as easily the cheapest) although you can now hire bikes at the resort, and you can actually cycle quite easily on the beach as the sand is very compact. There is an IGA supermarket about a ten minute walk away, or a Coles in the town centre. The far south end of four mile beach is about a twenty five minute walk or a ten minute bike ride - the roads are quiet and there are cycle lanes - and you can walk along the beach to the town centre in about an hour. The bike ride takes about 15 or 20 minutes.

There can be some road noise in the units by the tennis courts but I ever travel without ear plugs so this was not a problem for us.

In all, a great place for an extended stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conchwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathie D, Manager at Port Douglas Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Conchwillow, thank you for your lovely review, we miss you both, hurry back from your travels. Can't wait to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was a perfect place for my friend and I. 2 large king size beds with two bathrooms, kitchen, dining area, living room, and laundry. The villa was perfect. Plus we had mango trees right out the back doors. I couldn't eat them all there were so many falling from the trees. Just had to get them before the bugs did.

Great place, especially if you rented a car. It's set just outside of town. But it's only a 5 minute drive to get to the main street, or the 4 mile beach.

Rooms were clean. Towels were plentiful. Pools was clean and warm. The cafe wasn't open while we were there. But that really didn't matter.

would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the mango trees in back are 45 and 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#33 of 43 in Port Douglas
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Plantation Resort

Property: Port Douglas Plantation Resort
Address: 1 Captain Cook Hwy | Cnr Cook Hwy & Boer Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Douglas Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Plantation Resort is a private and spacious oasis comfortably located just outside Port Douglas. Modern, contemporary style accommodation set amongst 4 acres of lush manicured tropical gardens, offering 2 bedroom 2 bathroom fully self-contained apartments ideal for families. Perfectly positioned to embark on all the adventures this magnificent region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Port Douglas Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Plantation Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing