We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a minutes walk to the heart of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only a minutes walk to the heart of town.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located right on the intersection of Macrossan and Davidson st - the Mantra Aqueous on Port had everything we were looking for during our 4 night stay. Although the room was quite small - it was still light and airy. We ended up spending the majority of our time in the spa - or out in town. The large spa on the balcony was one of the highlights, along with the peace and quiet during the nights, we could hardly hear a whisper from any of the neighbouring rooms. Although it didn't bother us - the room was never serviced during our stay - so the rubbish did tend to build up a little, also - the balcony shutters have about a 2 inch gap and allow a lot of sunlight through in the early morning - no sleeping in for us. All up we had a great time - would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Felicity W for your wonderful comments and feedback on your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the private spa on your balcony, this is a special feature for all of our room types and is a nice way to unwind after a long day of sight-seeing around Port Douglas. We do also offer fully self-contained 1 bedroom apartments equipped with a kitchen and laundry facilities which would give you that extra space and facilities when travelling away from home. My apologies that you were not made aware that our rooms are self-contained and are not serviced daily. Our staff are more than happy to assist with rubbish removal if you need, and in your welcome pack there is information on where to dispose of your rubbish. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    398
    124
    51
    19
See reviews for
198
592
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We Stayed at the Mantra Aqueous on Port for 16 days, we couldn't have asked for a better location right next to beautiful restaurants we could walk everywhere but away from loud pubs with loud night time music. The spa was amazing. The staff at reception were so helpful with anything we needed, gave us advice and booked tours for us. Every evening when we came home the staff enquiries about our day and what we had done. We had a laundry and dryer so we could wash our clothes and were provided with washing powder sachets so we wouldn't have to buy it.There were 4 large pools which meant you virtually guarantee a pool to yourself most of the time. My only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer (but that was our fault). Hopefully we can come back next year and if we do will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you MeganandSam for the wonderful comments made from your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and I will ensure I pass on all your great feedback to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights, unfortunately I wish we had been aware of a few facts before we booked. No free wi-fi and the cost of a days use is more than I pay for a month in the UK. There are two complimentary computers but it says you have to purchase an access code! Finding out on arrival that there is no housekeeping, if required it's an extra cost. You only get a visit from housekeeping after 8 days, can't imagine the state of your towels by then. You are given one pool towel for the lengh of your stay. Reception closes at 7pm and the front door locked at 7pm, if you forget the door code or key, you get charged.
The rooms are clean although we did find a dead cockroach in the shower. All in all too many rules and hidden cost, we found it a sole less place, it does have a novel swimming pool lay out and BBQ area, if thats what you want, but it's not for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Dave-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent 2 night stay with us. We appreciate all feedback given, which helps us provide the best experience possible for our guests while visiting Port Douglas.
To clarify your comments to ensure travellers are not misled, we would like to address the concerns you have mentioned.
The 2 computers with internet access in our foyer are complimentary and can be used at no cost to guests. Access to these is done by simply gaining a code from reception. There is a charge for use of Wifi in rooms for guests who would like this service.
Pool towels are complimentary and are given to guests when welcomed to the resort. These can be swapped for fresh ones when needed at no cost, although guests who have booked an apartment with washing facilities are encouraged to re-use these.
For obviouse security and safety of our guests, our main doors are locked in the evening, and guests are given an access code to gain entrance when reception is closed. If by chance guests lose or forget this code, there is an intercom at the entrance for guests to have easy contact to our after hours team who can give them entrance. These details are clearly visable at the front door, and there is no charge for this, and there never has or will be.
The self serviced rooms are not cleaned daily, but housekeeping or reception are on hand to replace any items or towels whenever needed by guests at no additional charge.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Port Douglas.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The apartment was just lovely to stay in.
Lots of room crisp white sheets nice soft white towels. Everything you would want at your finger tips.
The staff were so helpful an friendly booking our tours checking our shuttles just could not do enough for us
We always had a chat with the cleaners as we were passing and they gave some useful information very friendly and it is always nice to hear some local history.
I asked if they had any books I could read and within 5 mins a very nice staff member had brought some novels up for me that is what I call fantastic service.
We are fussy and have stayed in many apartments over the years and the Mantra aqueous has been far the best.
The swimming pools 4 in total all large nice and deep at the ends were clean an clear.
We swam everyday which for us was wonderful coming from the winter in Timaru Nz
We are coming over again next year and it will be longer than 7 days we stayed this time.
Thankyou to all the staff it has been our best holiday ever.
Highly reccomended.
Jill & Pat Jordan Timaru NZ

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Jill & Pat for the great feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and our staff will be over the moon in regards to the comments made of their service.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the resort only to find out that our booking had not been upgraded by Mantra booking office.
Instead of saying sorry, we were told to prove it.
Eventually they realised it was a Mantra mistake, we were offered the room we booked for 2 days then would have to shift. People coming in were more important.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies if this reservation request was not transferred to our system for your arrival. I have passed on your feedback with our team in central reservations and at the resort, and we always appreciate constructive comments to improve on the high level of service we strive for. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Port Douglas dispite the room upgrade oversight, and once again our sincere apologies this request was not fulfilled.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great position. Was very supprised as to how small the unit was for the price, 2 people couldnt lay beside the pool and there was no sun! Unless we walked to the other side and in doing this we could of got a cheaper room. No house keeping which should be said on your site prior to booking. This wasnt a problem but for the price we were supprised! Cleaning staff when approched for directions didnt know anything - didnt even know where reception was - they sent us to the carpark! Great position and staff always smiled, when leaving there was no "thankyou for staying with us or how was your stay?" If wanting just a room - great spot, but wont pay the extra for the spa and walkout pool!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Colleen K for passing on your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location. To expand on your comments, all units have a spa on the balconies, whatever the position or level in the resort, and the swim out units have direct access from their balcony to the pool. We have 4 pools around the resort with quite lengthy pool decks for sunbathing, and I am sorry to hear that the layout was not what you were hoping for. Our pools receive a substantial amount of sunlight, but of course this can be affected by the time of day and season of the year with where the sun is located. As we only have one wing in the centre of these pools, the reception area is quite easy to find by going towards the front entrance on the ground floor where you were situated, which I can assure you all our staff know, but please accept our apologies if there was a communication breakdown when you requested directions from your room.
Thank you again for your comments, and we will hopefully see you again in Port Douglas in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was surprised about the big size of the apartment. An open kitchen, a nice bathroom, a wonderful bedroom and of cause the spa pool on the balcony were more than I had expected it. The hotel is in a good condition, it only could be a little bit cleaner in some courners.
The reception service was always helpful and very friendly.
A five minute walk to the beach and one minute walk to the main street make a good location in my opinion.
I would have expected that WiFi is included in the costs.
All in all I can recommend Mantra Aqueous on Port for every type of person.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annidue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will pass on your feedback to our team members. In regards to WIFI, I appreciate your suggestion, and another option for guests are the two complimentary internet kiosks in the foyer.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing