We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and stayed for 3 nights in a spa hotel room. The location is amazing, 2 minute walk to the beach and right on the corner of the main street (2 minute walk to the best gelati). The room was clean and tidy, and overlooked the southern pools. We really appreciated the cutlery, crockery and toaster that was provided in the room - in some other hotel rooms we have stayed in you only get a coffee cup, spoon and glass! The staff were very friendly. Would defintely stay here again, if staying for longer than 3 nights I would get a one bedroom apartment next time.

Room Tip: The southern side of the building is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed our location, the room, our facilities, and our friendly staff.
We look forward to having you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful condo-style hotel in a wonderfully quaint town! My mum and I stayed for 3 nights in a 1-bedroom with 2 twin beds on the 3rd floor and could have stayed for a week or more! There was so much to do and see. The hotel was great- prompt check-in, assisted in confirming tour reservations and organizing our shuttle back to the airport. They didn't have 24 hour reception, but that was no problem for us.
The pool area was fantastic- especially since it was around 35 degrees! The pool deck was hot, but the chairs were perfect and the pool very refreshing. The Jacuzzi tub on our patio deck was used every night! So awesome to have a bath under the stars! In room wifi was expensive and not worth it considering all the restaurants in town have free wifi (it makes for unsocial dinners though!).
Location was perfect to get to our tours of the reef and there were so many fantastic restaurants it was hard to choose! Great experience for the first part of our month long trip to Australia's east coast!

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the pool, there is less privacy although the pool as reasonable hours. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Courtney-and-Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback. It is excellent to hear your experience of travelling down the East Coast of Australia had such a positive start, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your journey, and we hope to see you again some day in Port Douglas.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights here. It is much preferable to Cairns. You can do all the usual trips from here (Barrier reef etc) and the surrounding are not quite 'oldie-worldy' but still very pleasant.
The hotel comprises of bedrooms and apartments. We paid an extra $10 a night and had an apartment. It was much larger and included cooking facilities. We found this very convenient as the hotel has no restaurant even for breakfast. Breakfast had to be taken at a nearby sister hotel about 5 mins. away. We chose to have breakfast in on the balcony overlooking the pool and eat other meals out. It is only a 2 storey hotel and the ground floor rooms had their own terrace directly onto the poolside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Port Douglas, it really is a beautiful part of the world where one day you can be out snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, and the next in the wonderful Daintree Rainforest! Our friendly staff are more than happy to give guests detailed information on activities and tours, and book directly with the operators.
We appreciate your comments regarding the facilities included in our 1 Bedroom Apartments for those who need that extra space and cooking/ washing options. As we are also located close to the corner of the main street in Port Douglas, there are many options for our guests for eating out at some of the great Cafe's or restaurants the town has to offer.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again when next in Port Douglas.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 10 days at the end of June. We loved our time here and thought it was everything we needed. The apartment seemed modern but not over the top fancy. Our apartment was on the top (third floor), had a secluded spa on the deck and overlooked the lagoon pools below. I can't say there were any down-sides to our stay, except we faced the back of the building block on the main street (restaurants etc.) and the extractor fan noise was quite loud. Additionally, every morning a recycling truck collected the glass which was very loud - but this isn't the hotel's issue as such. The location was excellent being on the corner of the main street with all the shops and restaurants and also a 5 minute walk from the gorgeous beach. Would definitely come back and recommend to couples or families with young children.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main street side are nosier. Rooms on bottom floor have access to pool directly from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank C_Rosey246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent facilities and location.
Rooms and pools are just what we wanted. Location means you can walk to everything but remains quiet at night. Cannot fault the helpful and friendly staff , we enjoyed our stay and plan to return.
What is with the car park enterance, it is at set up for right hand side driving as per the USA. Not normal for aust and a bit confusing

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Andrew E for taking the time to pass on your kind feedback from your recent stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and location, and the staff were helpful during your visit.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Port Douglas.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently spent 5 days in a hotel spa room (all rooms overlook the pool). Great location for the beach and village shops and restaurants. Reception staff extremely helpful with tour bookings and general information. They were a pleasure to deal with. Well maintained facilities, clean and comfortable rooms. We will certainly be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Suzanne D for leaving such wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us, in particular regarding our friendly staff, the cleanliness, and location. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Port Douglas, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

this hotel is very centrally located to the main street. The rooms are a little dated but we had one that opened out to the pool which was lovely. The staff at the desk were very helpful with booking tourist attractions and that made things very easy. Good hotel for families being self contained

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive experience whilst staying at Mantra Aqueous on Port. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious One Bedroom Swimout room type you stayed in, which as you mentioned, is popular due to it also containing cooking and washing facilities.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
523 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing