We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Mantra Aqueous has it all. Pools and located close to Four Mile Beach and restaurants and the main street, Macrossan Street, Port Douglas. The room was comfortable with a spa and close to four huge pools. Secure car parking and easy access and half a block from the shops.
The bottle collection noise early in the morning was disturbing.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms larger and more fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kert739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Hi Kert739,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. As so many have mentioned before our location and facilities are the best in Port Douglas and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    422
    129
    52
    19
See reviews for
215
618
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

What a great little apartment we stayed in a 1 bedroom swim up It had everything we needed but the bed was very firm however after a few extra blankets on top of the mattress it become bearable. Everything was close to the shops, restaurants and the beach there was no problem with parking the car either. Because the apartment was located close to restaurants their staff used to sit outside when they finished their shift and drink and talk very loud and with no windows in the bedroom and only wooden slats it was very noisy. Also very early in the morning the bin man would come and collect the empty bottles from neighboring resturants which made an almighty racquette. The apartment is starting to become dated but with new cleaners that have come on board recently the place is starting to look very nice. For the price we paid for the room I would have ecpected free Wifi however it wasnt and It was very costly. It would have been a bonus if the pool was heated. Also alot of AC noise

Room Tip: The Central pub have resonable priced meals with great food and service. The Yacht club also has gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback on your recent visit to Mantra Aqueous on Port.
As you mention we are ideally located in Port Douglas with great restaurants, shops and famous 4 mile beach all within easy walking distance. Our 1 bedroom swim out apartments are definitely our most popular and provide everything you could need for your holiday.
In regards to the restaurants next door, we are working with the managers to improve this noise issue of staff leaving their property and also their noisy bins and apologise for this disruption during your stay.
The body corporate are also looking into heating options for our pools as this is also a common comment from our guests and Mantra Group are also looking into options in regards to offering free Wifi. Please note there are 2 x computers in our lobby area which are free for guests use.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Port Douglas soon!

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location, a few minutes from the beach and the restaurants and shops in Macrossan street. Stayed 7 nights in a hotel spa room, which was reasonable for a solo traveler, but I think it would be too small for a couple for that period of time. No couch or sitting room inside, but a table and chairs outside on the balcony, which was ok as the weather was very pleasant.
Spa was on the balcony, but reasonably secluded. Bed was not overly comfortable. 4 large pools available, with the ground floor rooms having direct access.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Would stay again, but not in the hotel room. Had a look at the apartments, and think they would be better suited for a couple than the small hotel room.

Room Tip: Hotel spa room is quite small, would not recommend for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hi MiniMelb,

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us in particular for our location, and facilities and we would love to welcome you back into one of our 1 bedroom apartments.

Please feel free to give the resort a call or send an email to aqueous.res@mantra.com.au when you are next looking to travel to stunning Port Douglas.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Unfortunately the northern side of the complex is dark which necessitates turning on the lights in the daytime. The windows in the bedroom are timber slats which are satisfactory only when it is hot but not so when it is noisy or cool which it was at the beginning of our stay! We paid extra for the swim-up pool but the water was frigid so we didn't use it. Most of the guests must have thought the same as we only noticed a few people swimming. There was alot of dust behind the bed and bedside tables which was a bit disconcerting when I pulled out the table to use the plug. The glass door to the pool was dirty and covered in fingerprints so hopefully was cleaned after our stay. We have stayed in better and probably wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: A room on the south side or an upper level may be sunnier and the pool that side warmer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emeralda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hi Emeralda57,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Aqueous on Port.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the resort which is ideal for anyone looking to visit Port Douglas.

The resort has been designed to make the most of the tropical weather we experience all year round and the timber slats in the apartments are a godsend in the warmer months as you mention. Whilst it doesn't often get cool up here we do supply blankets and reverse cycle air conditioning in each room to allow for our guests comfort.
As you mention, the pools aren't heated due to our natural climate being quite hot and humid, however I do understand that this may not suit everyone and I apologise for this.
I have also passed your comments on in regards to the cleaning to our Housekeeping team and sincerely apologise that we did not hit our usual high standards in this regards.

Once again thank you for providing your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of plenty, new Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

What a great little apartment had everything we needed bed was comfortable. Everything was close shops, restaurants and the beach there was no problem with parking the car either.

The worst thing about the apartment was that across the way was a restaurant who's staff used to sit outside when they finished and with no windows in the bedroom and only wooden slack it was very noisy. Also in the morning the bin man would come and collect the empty bottles not really the sound I wanted to be woken up by

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xpome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Hi Xpome,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. I was glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment and the location of the resort. We are situated in prime location in Port Douglas with great restaurants, shops and of course beautiful 4 mile beach all with in a short walk from the property.

I am sorry to hear of the issues with next doors noise, both late at night and early morning. I will be speaking to the staff about keeping the noise to a minimum when finishing up for the night.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Port Douglas soon!

Kind regards
Matthew Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed at this resort before. This time booked a swim out unit (No 3). Clean & neat, with everything you'd expect in an apartment. Bed was not that comfy but pillows were good. Didn't use the swim out or the pool or spa due to the weather but would have BM a great convenience if weather had Ben a bit better. Sun lounges & pool look a little tired & spa seat in pool noisy when guests using it. Underground sucre car park with lift. Staff very friendly. Definitely good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit with us, and we also appreciate your comments regarding the bed comfort and pool facilities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope next time you visit the usually beautiful weather of Port Douglas is here also!
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Within seconds to restaurants, bars and shops and two minutes away from a beautiful beach the location is perfect! Oh and having a bakery next door with fresh bread and pastries was a treat too.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with views over the pool. The pool wraps around the complex so everyone gets a pool view in a tropical setting. The ground floor apartments have direct access to the pool from their rooms and all apartments have a private spa bath on the spacious balcony, great to unwind after a day on the reef or exploring the area. The apartment was spacious with comfortable bed, large bathroom with a large shower, fully equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher and a great lounge area with TV and DVD - but with so much going on in the area you don't spend much time in the room! The staff could not help enough, recommending tours, making phone calls for us and generally ensuring we had a great stay. Cannot recommend this place enough and hope to return one day!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a fully equipped apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckleyfamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the resorts location, facilities, and that our staff looked after you well. I'll ensure I pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to seeing you again when next in Port Douglas.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing