We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Aqueous for our honeymoon just recently and let me say, I wish i was still there!!!

The place was very clean, and the pool area was superb, the pool was nice and warm (I guess most places up there are the same due to the heat).

Hotel staff were nice and friendly and always up for a chat. The room was nice and clean and had every ammenity you could think on, we stayed in the apartment style room, so it included a kitchenette, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, and plenty of dishes etc. The swim up pool was great, with only 3 steps to the pool from the room it was nice and close :).

The hotel itself was very clean and the spraying down of the decks was an added bonus so you didn't have to walk in bird crap every day!

All in all, I would defintley stay there next time I visited port douglas.

Highly recommended, thanks to all the staff who made our stay special.

I have attached some pics of the room and pool area, make judgement for yourself but it was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank iBROX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    355
    112
    46
    17
See reviews for
180
527
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2006

Stayed at the Aqueous in Port Douglas the end of September. The accomdations are very clean and the staff very friendly. It was in a great location, walking distance to the beach and Port. The pool was very nice and clean. The only negative I is the quantity of dishes available. The apartment only had place settings for 3, so we were washing dishes very frequently.

Helpful?
8 Thank AlwaysPlanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2005

I was happy with our two week stay at aqueous on port, we stayed in a one bedroom swim up apt. the rate for this room was around $320 a night, it was not worth more than two $200 a night.

pitty the pools are so cold and they have a poor selection on cable tv.
(how many of the guests would choose to watch chanel v?)

also confused as to why the pool decks are washed down every day?

and why is there not an entry from the rear of the hotel for guests?

the staff seem nice.

wouldnt stay there again for this price, just as happy with the breakfree portsea or reef club.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MelbourneMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 12 November 2005
As a representative of the Mantra Aqueous on Port, I am happy to respond to these points. We strive to deliver a premium product & service and to do so, presenting a sparkling clean exterior such as the pool decks is paramount. Being so close to the beach, sand is always present and not to everyones liking both in and around pools (not to mention the night creatures ie fruit bats who leave their mark on all exteriors ....Not pleasant for any one to see...)

Our spacious 4.5 star Apartments boast small luxuries such as dishwashers,laundry facilities, King beds and Spa Baths on every balcony overlooking our superb,'refreshing' pools for this hot climate and are priced accordingly. Not to mention the best location!

Paramount also, is to protect our guests security, hence the one entrance at the front of the building to stop anyone off the street from wandering in and encroaching on our guests tranquil areas and well deserved privacy.

The Austar is the standard 3 movie channels, 2 sports chanels, Sky News channel, nikelodeon, 'V' music channel as well as the 4 normal channels...

We are very proud of this Resort and will strive to continue to present it to our guests highest expectations and beyond.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a stay in Port Douglas and Cairns. Needless to say we are suffering from withdrawl symptoms already.
Aqueous on Port was quite simply.....outstanding.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Lisa and Robin (I wish more resort managers were as professional, friendly and cheerful as this team.) Even the bloke vacuuming the floors was cheerful everytime I saw him.
The room was spotless, modern, and well laid out. The spa on the balcony set-up is brilliant.
The position of the apartments at the quieter end of Macrossen street is perfect, a short stroll to everything.
Very very impressive. Next visit to Port will be so much easier to organise, I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Bick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing