We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...great place to explore Pt Douglas from..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Aqueous On Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location...great place to explore Pt Douglas from..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We really enjoyed our week at Aqueous on Port..yes, the rooms are not as clean as they could be, but all in all a very handy place to stay, fab pools, spa on balcony is great and close to everything in Pt Douglas. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    353
    112
    46
    16
See reviews for
179
522
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed two nights here
Yes there are marks on the wall and carpet in some rooms BUT..........................
the location and value is fantastic

The pools are fantastic
BBQ is terrific
Location is the best just around the corner to the main street
Staff very helpful

Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgehog6865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

The location was fantastic but i thought for a 4.5 star apartment it should've been cleaner. There was a bobby pin on the floor when we got there so the room hadn't been vacuumed properly, there was a lot of dust on the bedside tables and the mirrors on the wardrobes were smudgy. The stove top also hadn't been cleaned properly. I also thought the hallways and stairwells could've been cleaned a bit. We stayed at Peppers on our last trip and that was immaculate. If it had've been cleaner i'd stay there again as the rooms were nice and the bathroom big.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April15Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 7 February 2010
Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. It is pleasing to note you thought the location was fantastic.

We are regretful that these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise.

Once again my sincere apologies and do hope you choose to stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port again.

Kind Regards,

Jodie Midson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western australia, australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

So nice, better than expected. 4 pools and nice views. Quiet and very private. Good location, walk to all the shops, very central, close to all the major attraction! 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank startravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Spa on balcony was fantastic - amazing way to end each evening. Receptionists helpful with local info and the whole place is just lovely. I want to go back NOW!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopPopSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Found our stay to be enjoyable overrall. The Aqueous has two main claims to fame. One-location, just around the corner is the main street. Two-swim out pool from the ground floor rooms. We found this to be the best feature of the hotel.
There are zero bar/dining facitlities which was not an issue for us as we were happy to explore Macrossan street each night. Anyone with children or someone looking for the in house option had best book an apartment.
There is no 24 hr reception here. You are issued with a number to key in for entry after hours. Its easy to forget the first day, as we did. One would think it would have some correlation to your room number but its an obscure totally related number specifically designed for you not to remember easily- annoying.
Only real criticisms are that the carpet and paintwork was looking a little tired for an establishment which otherwise didnt seem that old .
Additonally there is a shared entrance area off of the main corridor which is tiled and acts an amplification chamber for noise coming from the adjacent room. If you are looking for a sleep in, and not that we were, then you can rule that out.
As a general comment I'd allocated this place about a 7/10 and most likely would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

This hotel was in an excellent location, close to main street, shops and beach. Parking was provided and reception staff were friendly offering useful advice on tours and letting us check in early.

The spas on the balcony were an excellent touch, especially if you’re up for a relaxing holiday and the pool was also good.

The main problem was the hotel was very dirty, from the carpet to the walls to ledges abd surfaces. Our carpet was very badly stained (see images) and the walls were covered with marks (although our friend stayed in a room which was tiled and therefore did not appear so dirty).

The rooms were quite small and it was difficult to find space to put 2 suitcases on the floor.

The rooms were also very bright in the mornings and the wooden blinds were locked in places so this could not be prevented (obviously this bothers some people more than others).

We paid $117 a night through the getaway (TV) website and I thought this was reasonable for what we got, however if I had paid any more than this I would have been disappointed.

I do not believe this qualifies as a 4.5 star hotel as it is listed 'sun lover' travel brochure, however due to location and facilities I probably would stay here again (at a discounted rate).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, 7 February 2010
Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. It is pleasing to note you found our staff friendly and helpful and yes the spas on the balconies are fantastic.

I am disappointed to hear your feedback in relation to the cleanliness and I am regretful that I was not made aware of your room cleanliness issue during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise. We make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise property information including room types.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope to welcome you back to Mantra Aqueous on Port .

Kind Regards

Jodie Midson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing