We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, will go again.”

Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$26.96*
and up
Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildlife Habitat in Port Douglas is an immersion exhibit - an open and interactive environment for guests and animals to mingle in a spacious natural setting. Visitors wander along elevated boardwalks as birds fly and roam freely. Experience wildlife from the surrounding Rainforest, Wetlands, and Grasslands environments, and learn with our guided tours and presentations. Enjoy Breakfast with the Birds or Lunch with the Lorikeets as birds wander freely amongst the tables.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Beaconsfield, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely place, will go again.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

By the time you pay entry fee, you might as well pay a little more and have the breakfast or lunch. We came in the morning and stayed til late afternoon as we enjoyed ourselves so much there. Would recommend the breakfast over the lunch as I thought there were more critters around then. Lovely atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful and informed staff. Tours are interesting and some of the birds have gotten to know that food is being handed out and follow the tours around which is fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ros m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,345
    647
    142
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast with the birds - delicious!! We held a koala and fed the kangaroos and wallabies! So amazing that you can interact with these animals!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Breakfast with the birds”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

They do a nice breakfast buffet with all sorts of birds walking all over the place, including on your table. It is a unique and fun experience, and the whole park is included in the price, so after breakfast you can walk around petting and feeding the wallabies and kangaroos, having your photo taken holding a koala, and visiting an excellent rainforest environment full of amazing birds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Micropete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very well presented!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As these things go, I'm usually a little skeptical and it bothers me how unnatural the habitats are for the animals. This could not be further from the case here. The habitat seemed very natural. The layout of the trails and walkways was very well done. I imagine this is a tourist site that may get overlooked by most, but I highly recommend it. Rarely do you see much wildlife when you go on a tour of the rainforest beyond maybe some birds or lizards. Here you got to see all the animals that reside in the rainforest. Besides the reef, it really was one of my highlights of my visit to Port Douglas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CC_N_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great information and so free range.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Pretty much everything that has wings and is able to fly can freely move around. It is like walking into a variety of habitats and seeing what you would out in the wild. We attached ourselves to a feeding tour where the keeper fed the animals and explained things as he went along. He seemed very passionate about his animals and that made it a lot nicer. The kangaroos and wallabies are free range and are able to be fed. They also have some crocs down the back that you can look at.
There is a cafe too but we didn't use it. I think there are activities like lunch with the lorikeets which would be nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Wildlife Habitat Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing