We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Sensational”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We have been to the Tropical North often and stayed in a number of places. When we planned this trip i wanted a very quiet relaxing week and this is what we got at the Villa San Michele. The apartment was very clean and well appointed. We had requested a quiet room prior to check in and were not disappointed. The balcony was large and we could sit outside or go to one of the pools and feel like we were the only people there. The staff were very helpful and polite, nothing was too much for them. The location, in heart of Port Duglas meant we did not have to use the car much and could easily walk to breakfast and dinner every day. I would recommend Villa San Michele to anybody who is looking for good value, clean amd comfortable accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are nice and quiet day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We were delighted to read your review and to learn that your stay was exactly what you wanted. Our apartments at the rear of the complex overlooking gardens are perfect for those seeking quiet and relaxation. Fortunately, we have something to please everyone as we can also accommodate guests with pool view, or in street front apartments – great for people watching! Also, thanks to our central location driving is not necessary and makes it very stress-free. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

My partner and I have stayed in several properties in port Douglas but I've always been curious to try out San Micheles' Mediterranean style villas at the end of the pretty driveway right in the heart of the villages main street. A kid free weekend finally allowed us the opportunity. A lovely lady named Jenny checked us in (we were given both an early check in and late check out) and directed us to our one bedroom suite. The apartment was beautifully cool on entry (it was 32 degrees outside) the air con having been turned on in readiness for us. The apartment was spotlessly clean, simply yet tastefully decorated, self contained and had a decent sized balcony. There are two pools on the property, poolside BBQ areas, free laundry facilities and plenty of parking. The wonderful location gives you immediate access to all the wonderful shops, cafes, restaurants and is less than a ten minute walk to the beach and stinger net or in the opposite direction the Marina. There is a Post Office on the other side of the road and supermarket, newsagency and chemist within a three minute walk. I highly recommend Villa San Michele- we will definitely be back, kids or no kids.
Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the complex overlooking Macrossan St. Although inside the apartment was very quiet with the door closed there was traffic noise during the day (it is the main street) when sitting on the balcony.This didn't bother us as we quite enjoyed people watching and the traffic seemed to die down around sunset, along with the heat of the day, which made watching the world go by with a cold drink in hand a must each evening (note-the balcony is quite private) . If this doesn't appeal though ask for a room overlooking the pool, all of which are at the back of the complex, when booking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugs_scare_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for your detailed review - we really appreciate your time and effort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and like our unique Meditteranean style and fantastic central location! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Villa San Michele was really good value. The rooms were big, very pleasant, the extra roll out bed was comfortable and the location was very convenient - minutes from a big supermarket, loads of restaurants and the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cest_La_Vie_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We appreciate your kind review of our property and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay – do hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our stay at Villa San Michele was fantastic. Very relaxing and comfortable. We'll definitely be heading back there. Its location in the heart of Port meant there was no need for the car. The beach, restaurants and entertainment were all within walking distance. The rooms were large, clean and well maintained. Choice of two pools that again were clean and the surrounding area well maintained. The staff were great and gave us plenty of helpful advice on local things to do.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our stay at Villa San Michele was superb - with 2 young children it is always difficult to have a truley relaxing holiday, but here it was more than possible. The 2 bedroom apartment was HUGE, clean and extremely well appointed. The staff could not have been more helpful, the pools and BBQ areas were spotless and provided endless fun for the girls, and the location was ideal - we did not have to hop back into the car for the entire stay! We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrass_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The stay at Villa San Michele was great. The rooms were self contained, large, air conditioned and clean. The complex had a choice of two pools to use along with BBQ areas which were very clean and well maintained, The location could not have been better. We were able to walk to the beach, the prefered restaurants, the weekend markets, all of the necessary shops and even the Port Douglas Marina from our unit. We rarely needed to use our car during our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us great advice on activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Villa San Michele is a beautiful place to stay. Lovely clean, air-conditioned rooms are fully self-contained, very convenient. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops. There is 2 beautiful pool areas with bbq. The staff were fantastic! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
993 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 56 in Port Douglas
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan St | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing