We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa san Michele”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My daughter and I were recently at Villa San Michele and would definitely go back there again. The rooms were clean and a pleasant retreat when taking a break from all the wonderful activities. We didn't want a car so it was perfectly situated between shops and beach fronts. If we didn't want to eat at one of the many cafes we could eat on one of our two balconies and were still right in the middle of the wonderful atmosphere. The pool was well maintained and great for getting in a few laps. VSM didn't disappoint. Sometimes places don't look as good as the pics but VSM does. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and able to arrange anything we needed. We stayed 5 nights and were given room service on day 3 - came home to made beds, fresh linen etc. Highly recommend. (Trip Advisor wouldn't let me leave some boxes empty but please note, I don't have little kids any more so didn't check out if they had kids activities or a fitness centre)

Room Tip: You can have a room that overlooks the main street - great for capturing atmosphere, or if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Villa San Michele in October very much. The staff was very helpful, the room was spacious and the flowering bougainvilleas were lovely. The pools looked crystal clear and I wish I had been able to swim while we were there. One huge attraction was the location of Villa San Michelle. It is right in Port Douglas with many restaurants and shops close by. We met other tourists who had to rent a car to get into town, but we were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa San Michele. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your lovely photos of our property with others. Happy and safe travels from the team at Villa San Michele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to be central to the shops, restaurants and other attractions in Port Douglas including the marina. The staff were excellent - not just goodie I find elsewhere. They were very helpful in showing me to my apartment and looking after my luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and for rating Villa San Michele as 'The place to stay if you want to be central!' and the staff as 'Excellent!' We hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Kind regards, the Villa San Michele team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We loved our stay last week in Villa san Michele. The one bedroomed apartment was so clean and perfect – air conditioning, ceiling fans, cooking facilities and fridge. We were made most welcome by the staff who were so helpful and friendly, recommending good places to eat, trips and making bookings for us. The location is fantastic and so central – you can walk to the shops, the wharf and the beach and there are so many good restaurants close by.

Thoroughly recommended and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We felt the ground floor rooms fronting the pool were great - especially the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear that you found the apartment to be 'Clean and Perfect!' and the staff 'Welcoming, Helpful and Friendly!' You are most welcome and we can't wait until you return. Safe journey home and kind regards from the team at Villa San Michele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Friendly & helpful staff. Great location in the middle of town and close to everything. Clean, tidy apartments that where generous in size and very comfortable! Couldn't speak any higher of Villa San Michele! We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon_Gleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review and for letting us know that we 'Exceeded your Expectations!' We look forward to welcoming you back when you return. Kind regards. The team at Villa San Michele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent four nights at the Villa San Michelle and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment was clean, suprisingly spacious and comfortable. We made good use of the pool and the BBQ. Staff were helpful and friendly. So centrally located that we walked everywhere. Would definitely recommend the place for families.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 15 which is at the back of the property. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkedjadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Public Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartments spacious, clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you to Port Douglas on your next visit. Kind regards, all the team at VSM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Well, this was a gem! Just driving into it felt like we were driving into a villa in Tuscany. The decor and ambience was stunning. Our room overlooked a rain forest and was very quiet and peaceful on the balcony. It was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our two night stay.

Location is perfect - step out the front and you're right amongst the restaurants and shops. Couldn't get more central.

I don't think I've ever come across service like we got from the Villa San Michele staff/owners. It was exceptional right from the first email confirmation giving us some much information about the place and also the activities/tours they could book on our behalf. When we arrived Olivia welcomed us like we were old family relatives and all questions about the location area were answered - even finding some bars that had "Happy Hour" cocktails!!

Guests have free parking here and the choice of two swimming pools - one heated and the other normal temperature. Both are set in stunning gardens with BBQ's and lounges free for all.

I would HIGHLY recommend this property and will most definitely stay here again next time I come back to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZubyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and for describing Villa San Michele to other travellers so perfectly. It is a pleasure to hear you found the service exceptional! Safe travels and kind regards. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan St | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa San Michele 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing