We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We've been to Port Douglas a number of times; from staying on Macrossan Streeet to staying down near the first roundabout. This hotel/resort is the best. It's close enough to walk to the shops in maybe 10 mins at a slow amble but far enough away to get a very peaceful sleep and open the sliding doors on to the balcony and rarely hear any cars at all, and partake of an early pre-dinner drink.
We had a two bedroom apartment , which was large by modern standards, good sized bathroom and a great kitchen. The heated pool and BBQ area were impressive. Every thing was there: all the implements together oils, sauces & spices, all you need to bbq some great FNQ produce. Together with the friendliness, hospitality and assistance constantly shown by Fiona. It doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: Book early as there was no vacancy and it wasn't school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farmersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here last winter and we loved it! The pool is an absolute winner, The spas in the rooms divine. The kitchen is looking abit tired, but the apartment is spacious and most importantly very clean. Fiona is lovely and attentive, and will help you with any of your tours or
attraction details.I would definitely recommend this place. We stayed on the third floor. Not sure about the ground floor, maybe a little bit dark. Would love to go back again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, to avoid any noise and to maximise the apartments natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisemmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Booked a 3 bedroom apartment for 6, plenty of room for everyone. loved the pool & facility's. Only downside was noise from minibuses that had a stop outside the accomodation. Close enough to town, but far enough away to be away from noise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J01962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

First time to port Douglas and to be honest at first sight was not impressed. After about an hour we realized that it was quiet and peaceful and the apartment was modern and clean and the fact that we got the apartment on wotif for $80 a night we appreciated it more and more, and after about three days we love the place the pool is great and you can hire motor bikes from reception.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Darryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ian and his partner were very pleasant and helpful. The self-help grille at the pool was very nice as was the pool. The 2 bedroom suite was very spacious and well furnished. The 5 minute walk to 4 mile beach and 10 min walk to downtown Port Douglas were both very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwimmerBob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was our second visit to Central Plaza Port Douglas in 2 years so about time to review. Fanastic is the best word to describe this hotel. The location is very close to the centre of Port Douglas but without the hussle and bussle of the main street. It is also close to the beach and a short drive to the Marina. We booked 2 rooms this time and both were clean and exceptionally comfortable. Being a light sleeper I managed a relaxing sleep in a very comfortable bed and woke up fresh each morning. The pool and BBQ area are both inviting and spacious. The pool is heated in winter time (so we didnt need that in April) but it just had to right amount of refreshingness. The Managers Ian & Fiona couldnt help us enough and suggested a great place for Dinner on our first night. They even booked for us which was great. The rates we were charged to stay were comparatively low for the quality we received. Next time we are in Port Douglas we will be back to Central Plaza Port Doulgas no doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David4848Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is great value for those looking for more than just a hotel room - as two friends travelling this was what we were looking for. It was only a 5 minute walk to the main street and even less to the beach.
The apartment was well equipped, however I felt like we got an apartment with older furniture than those around us. Also the balcony did not seem to have been cleaned properly.
There were more rules than I expected as well (Use of towels, use of balconies etc).
None of this really but a dampener on the holiday, it suited our needs and was within budget.
The hosts were always willing to help, I had a mini medical emergencey, and their local knowledge was invaluable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
764 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £80 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing