We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2006

We stayed here for a week at the and of October.
We found the apartment to be spotlessly clean and beautifully prepared.
We were lucky enough to be given a 2 bedroomed apartment alothough there were only 2 of us.
We ate all of our meals on the outside balcony - listening to the sounds of the tropics and watching the local birdlife.
The pool was much larger than it appears on the website and very clean. It also has lots of shaded areas.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Four Mile Beach and also 5 minutes from the Town Centre.
We followed the advice of John and Shirley who were looking after the property whilst Johnny and Kay were away and booked the HABA cruise for snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef - it was a wonderful experience and much nicer as the boat was much smaller and more personal than the Quicksilver cruises.
We would definately recommend a stay at these apartments

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank P&P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    88
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
140
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

This is a great place for families, with a really good location - you don't need a car as its an easy walk (5 minutes ) to the beach and town.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

The Central Plaza Hotel in Port Douglas is an excellent place to stay for a holiday. We stayed there for 4 nights in a one bedroom apartment and were given an apartment that had two bathrooms and all amenities in the kitchen that you could want. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was near to the main street where there was a big supermarket and lots of shops and cafes etc. We hired a car and were able to park easily in the hotel car park at no extra charge. We travelled up to Cape Tribulation which was fantastic with rainforests and beaches. We went on a crocodile tour and saw lots of wild life. We went out to the Barrier reef and went snorkelling. All of which were highlights of our stay in Queensland.
The Central Plaza was an ideal place to tour the area and was a lovely home from home while we were there. I can thoroughly recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — viewfrom the balcony
  • Disliked — quite a distance from shute harbour for the ferries
  • Tips/Secrets — snorkelling is easy and brilliant
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Our Family of 5 enjoyed our stay of 5 nights here in a 2 Bed Appartment.
In August most Guests seemed to have very young children.
This leads to peaceful evenings after a day out on Tours which are bookable from the Reception.
It was great to just leave the car alone completely as everything is within 5-10 minutes walk.
Rooms are adequate. Air Con OK.
As previously mentioned, try and get an appartment away from the road because the main footpath runs very close to the property and you do get to hear people coming home from a late night on the Town.
Hire a Bike and cycle the length of 4 mile beach at sunset when the tide is out.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

Two families stayed five nights and had nothing but pleasure. Rooms very comfortable and clean, kids loved them. Pool is large and delightful. Front rooms facing Davidson st have heavy road noise at times. Will return without hesitation. Managers very welcoming and helpful.

  • Liked — Spacious, cleam and modern
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank warrandyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2006

Port Douglas is truly a fabulous small resort town and the Central Plaza is a very convenient base for a short or longer stay in the area. The apartments are no more than 10 minutes (slow) walk in to Macrossan Street (where more or less everything happens in town), 5 minutes walk to the beach, and they are well suiteded for the traveler: a very well equipped kitchen, t.v. with free movie channel service, lovely balconies, poolside bbq, full laundry in each apartment, and great advice on tours and trips from the front desk.

The apartments are not luxurious but most definitely comfortable and relaxing. Our 2-bedroom had a large balcony accessed from one of the bedrooms and the main living area--and a huge jacuzzi tub in the other bedroom. We could have happily stayed longer than the week we had booked.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestCanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Property: Central Plaza Port Douglas
Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing