We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise and Perfection in Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise and Perfection in Port Douglas”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at Verandahs for 6 nights, in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment overlooking the pool in apartment 21. We are a family of four, and it was perfect. The layout of the apartment was superb, with a lovely balcony off the living area, with table and chiars and a barbeque.
Verandahs is very close to the beach and to the shops and to the Marina. Sue and Greg are just delightful, and I think Sue should be a travel agent, as she knows everything, where to go, what to see, how to get there, how long it takes, with maps and drawings included. Sue will also book any sightseeing trip you may like to go on, for no extra charge.
We did two reef tours, one with Calypso to Opal reef and one with Silversonic to agincourt reef, Sue booked both, they were both great, but Calypso has better customer service. On the way back be sure to stop into the Marina from 4pm to 6pm for the $7 fish and chips, or prawns, its delightful.
Verandahs is very close to the pristine 4 mile beach, and we hired bikes on one day from Verhandahs, and rode along the beach. It was closed that afternoon, due to a crocodile sighting. Be sure to visit the markets on Sunday, there is some lovely jewellery, and soap.
We had a fabulous holiday and would definitely return to Verandahs, it has the right position, close to everything, with Sue and Greg being the perfect hosts. We found our little piece of paradise in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Apartment 21 is on the top floor, and so you need to be fit to carry your suitcase up to the top lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie88Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    61
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
188
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The location of Verandahs is great - just a few minutes walk from the main street and the owners are simply lovely. They couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome - recommendations for a drink, and excursion and how best to spend time on the return to Cairns (a visit to Thala Lodge which is well worth a look). Bikes can be hired for $12 per day which is a great way to get to the other end of the beach. The only thing missing? a cocktail in the pool! But that's the price you pay for a smaller, more intimate place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Excellent accommodation in terms of appointments, comfort, facilities etc. Excellent location - just a few steps from everything. However it is MADE by Sue and Greg who looked after all our activities, gave advice on restaurants and genuinely seemed interested in making sure we had a great time. This trip was our honeymoon so we left the tribe behind - but if we had the kids this would also be the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We are a family of 5 and stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment. Firstly the location is great. Just round the corner form the main street with shops, bars etc and in the other direction the superb 4 mile beach. We were greeted by Sue and Greg who wre so welcoming and friendly. Sue was going away for a few days so pointed us in the right direction of good places to eat, visit and trips. She left us in the very capable hands of Jenny. The advice given was great, particularly to visit Silky Oaks resort for lucnh or tea! Our apartment was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. It was spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. It was also very quiet at night. The pool is gorgeous, a heated lagoon style which we often had to ourselves. We enjoyed some evenings having a BBQ there. I cant emphasise enough how friendly and helpful Sue and Greg and Jenny were. They helped us to make our holiday extra special. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the 2 nd floor overlooking the pool. It was quiet and lovely to be able to look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A great place in probably the best location in Port Douglas. I was extremely impressed by how friendly and willing to help the owners were.
I will certainly recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We love this place. It's the fourth time we have stayed at Verandahs. The apartment is great, very spacious and the kitchen is very user friendly. The heated pool is a great bonus with kids. It is very close (walking distance) to the beach and the shops. Best of all though is that it is managed by two very competent and lovely people. Sue and Greg are very professional yet still make the place feel friendly. They are very approachable and are always ready to help with anything. They really make you feel special and are ready to help with any request or problems. They know Port Douglas very well and will always have good recommendations in relation to eating out as well as recommending activities with a view to what you want your holiday to be.

Room Tip: We love the rooms that overlook they pool. We love the top floor because you are in the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 5 nights in August and it was great. We arrived in the evening and found quickly the apartment on middle floor. Verandahs is 5 minutes to the beach and the centre. Two large bedrooms with each ensuite bathroom, large terrace and everything very clean. Sue and Greg are very nice hosts to make the stay very enjoyable and we were very pleased with their hospitality. They arranged our transfers from/to the airport and are very helpful on providing suggestions for local attractions/restaurants etc.
We booked the Silvertronic Outer Barrier Reef and it was a fantastic day snorkeling at the reef.
Happy to recommend Verandahs for families with kids - nice pool.
Hope to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pberckma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Property: Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Address: 7 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing