We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3.5 day stay at Verandahs where we met our college daughter who is studying abroad for the semester. What an ideal, no, perfect, choice for us - and what a find Sue, the manager is! Because there are so many choices and types of accommodations in Port Douglas, selecting one requires some acknowledgment of what is important to you for this particular stay. There are many resorts in PD, but we felt 1) they were too far from town (we did not have a car) and 2) we would be spending the majority of time away from the property and therefore we would not take advantage of what a resort offers and what you pay for. Secondly, with a college-age daughter, we wanted room to spread out when we returned from our days out. Therefore, a spacious, modern, clean and affordable apartment (with great AC) on the tip of town (a sixty second walk to the first restaurant), with a pool, terrace (or verandah) and the best personal touring assistance imaginable was just right. I agree with the other positive reviews. I can't imagine being disappointed with a stay at Verandahs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    60
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
186
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location within walking distance to all restaurants, and attractions. Rooms were very well appointed and clean, beautiful pool, BBQ facilities and surroundings. Sue the manager is a wealth of local knowledge and extremely helpful. We will certainly be back and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Located just around the corner of the beach end of Macrossan St, you are effectively in comfortable walking distance to everything you need to see in downtown Port Douglas. We fell in love with Sue the manager who is so helpful and we trusted her advice on where to go and where to eat and we're not disappointed. The apartments are very spacious and good value for money compared with other places we have stayed at in Port Douglas. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Agree with all of the positive reviews of other contributors. For us, an important aspect is that every balcony in the complex has it's own bbq. Many places have only a communal bbq which is far less convenient. Port Douglas is not the cheapest place for eating out so a personal bbq is really handy.
Also, you have a world class ice cream shop only 100 meters away!

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise of kids in the pool ask for an apartment at the rear of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Verandahs and found it well run, comfortable and perfectly situated. It had everything we needed and the owners were very helpful. They got in touch with us prior to our arrival and had everything ready when we got there.

We also enjoyed lounging in the pool and the easy walk everywhere in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It's so good I could live there. Its got wow factor. Maybe if you had kids they might not have much to do, like the big resorts.(more fun without kids anyway). Managers (Sue) very helpful with organising trips. Good one Sue.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 10 days in January.

The apartment was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and perfectly clean. The pool was GORGEOUS, and the location was about a 5 minute walk from the main street and the beach.

Having said that, the best thing about this place was undoubtedly the hosts; Sue and Greg. Almost every day we went into Sue in reception with about a million questions. She was always delighted to see us, was incredibly warm and helpful. She booked us trips and transfers to the reef, the crocodile park, the wildlife park - she gave us the best restaurant recommendations, lent us dvds, and she also was fair and honest in everything she told us - she wasn't after making a quick buck off our trips, she wanted us to get the best value for money.

My partner was unlucky enough to hurt her back during our stay and had to go to the doctor. Sue booked us an appointment, checked in on us, offered to drive us to the hospital... just couldn't be nicer.

We happened upon this place by chance via our travel agent, and we felt so luck that we did. Believe me, you should stay here. It's the best.

Brona and Suranee x

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brona C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Property: Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Address: 7 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing