We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Country Vic
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for family with young children”
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This is a belated review. In July we had a wonderful 9 days at Verandah's with three children ages 4 and twins who were almost 2. Our hosts were smiling, pleasant people and every-so-helpful, providing play equipment for our children. The room was a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground (first floor). There were some stairs to get to the pool but this was only a minor issue (the swim out apartments offered by other accommodation places were far more expensive than our apartment!). Our apartment was lovely and we had a huge outdoor verandah area where it was safe for our children to play outside without constant supervision. The living area was large enough and the kitchen was functional enough. It was not noisy at all being so close to the main shopping strip. The main bedroom had a huge ensuite and the family bathroom was very nice with a bath and toilet. The beach was a pleasant walking distance away. The pool was on the small side but this was not a concern for us. We would certainly recommend staying at Verandah's.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndTwoMakeFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    63
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
193
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I wish that all vacation rentals could be like Verandahs. The apartment was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The location was perfect in that it was just around the corner from the main street. The pool, which is located between the two buildings that make up the property, was right alongside the BBQ grill so if you want to swim while you wait for your food to cook, it's the perfect set-up. All of this would not be possible without the likes of Sue. She is phenomenal and she knows her stuff. When we told her what we were looking for in terms of day trips, she offered a few suggestions and highlighted the pros and cons of each. She even did a little weather research to pick the best day for us to do a day trip out to the Great Barrier Reef for some snorkeling. You can't go wrong with Verandahs. It's too bad that I can only give it 5 stars because it deserves 10.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Port Douglas is a quiet little town in October so being a block from the high street is not a disadvantage from a noise perspective. Very clean and well proportioned apartments with comfortable furnishings made this part of our trip to Aus very enjoyable.
Sue was very knowledgable about the local trips and nothing was too much trouble for her to book, from half day trips to the rain forest to our transfer arrangements back to Cairns airport.
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a sanctuary during their trip to the Port Douglas area.
Thanks Sue x

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukguyincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed at The Verandahs in October and it was perfect, the apartments had everything that you could want they were spotless clean and very spacious with a very nice pool in the garden where you could relax.
It was the perfect spot for eating out and going to the beach but also it was a quiet location.
As for Sue and Greg well they were the most friendliest and helpful couple that you could find, nothing was ever too much for them to do,from telling you places to go and arranging trips out.
We would certainly stay at The Verandahs again and have reccomended it highly to our friends.
( Molly maid)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Location was perfect, 1 min walk from the main street, and 5 to the harbour. Appartment very clean and well stocked for cooking. Big appartments too - certainly not poky, and very modern. The pool was great, although didn't use it much. The people who run it went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. In fact, the manageress Sue could not do enough for you - she even arranged for pick ups of our sunglasses that we had left on the greyhound bus in Cairns. Just brilliant. Wouldn't hestitate to go back there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveTheShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This was our second stay in Port Douglas, and we are so glad that we chose Verandahs. We were traveling with my mother-in-law, her partner and our 18month old child. Sue, Greg and Ben were fantastic. They couldn't have been more helpful, even providing us with toys to keep my daughter amused and managing to find a lost wallet. The apartment was extremely clean and they had it ready for us even though we arrived mid morning. It looked out over the beautiful pool/BBQ area. The pool was lovely and warm and never crowded, in fact we had it to ourselves most times we were using it. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a short stroll to the beach one way or the shops the other. I would definitely stay at Verandahs again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himselfher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The apartment was spacious, modern and well appointed. Our verandah overlooked a cool green garden with an inviting pool. The pool had deck chairs, pool toys and a large bbq next to it even with tomato sauce provided! The hosts were very friendly and gave great advice about fishing trips and where to eat. We were made very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waggamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Property: Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Address: 7 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing