We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

had a great holiday made better by friendly staff and a great place to stay,close to all the local
entertainment and shops.having breakfast by the swiimming pool was a pleasure to be enjoyed
janice and wayne townsend

Room Tip: any rooms a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    126
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
192
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my partner and we had the best time! The hotel is beautiful and Bali theme inspired, beautiful timber walkways throughout the hotel. We liked that the rooms were not set out like the conventional boring hotel layout and our room was very private with a view of the front pool. In our room was a beautiful fresh platter or tropical fruit and champagne. The hotel is only thirty seconds walk from the shops, restaurants and the beach. We had the continental breakfast each morning which had a delicious assortment of food, coffee and tea made to order! Cafe style. The lady who runs the breakfast each morning was great!! Very friendly and it's nice to wake up and have a friendly person there to greet you in the morning. We also had two back massages which left us in a daze for the rest of the day! I was a little worried reading some comments before I went on the holiday but I was blown away I really could not fault it. It's in a prime position and really is a beautiful hotel. We spent our last two nights at another hotel to try something different and it had extremely better ratings than the Hibiscus and we regretted it we had the worst stay at the other hotel. Sometimes reviews arn't everything and it comes down to the individual experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Returned to this area of Queensland and after a few days in a Cairns, although nice, it was excellent to return to the this resort. I love the palm trees and the pool area with its modern bbqs. This time, as we booked early, maybe that didn't matter we got the room on the top floor on the end, room 35 (?). As it is on the end of the building, the balcony on this room opens to on two sides, and lines up with the tree tops. Last review said this balcony was slightly bigger but not sure about this, might just feel bigger because it is more open.
Wife hurt herself at the beach and the resort staff were very helpful and friendly.
Room has flat screen TV and has resort has modern Bali look about it and there is a spa/massage area. This end room has a big window in sitting area that I dont think the other room we stayed in last time had.
Hibiscus close to beach, about 4 minutes walk and 1 block from the main street, which in this town is essentual. The little kitchen in the room is great for saving a little bit of always having to venture out for food. Tip would be this well presented corner room, or the one below it I assume is the same but the view would not be as good, and to book any restaurants as soon as possible, they are popular and you have to wait a cuple of nights for the flashy ones. Great Place, great stay.

Room Tip: Top rooms on ends, balcony open on 2 sides, guessing no35 from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Runningman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hibiscus Resort is in a great location, only 1 block away from Macrosson Street, a 3 min walk to the beach, everything within walking distance.
The 1 bedroom studio apartment was good, and provided the basics we needed.

Room Tip: Try and get on a ground floor apartment if you have lots of bags, otherwise you'll have to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 8 nights from the 9th July in a studio room on the top floor. No lift but we were offered help to carry our bags. The room was spacious for a studio and beautifully decorated, the table and chairs were on the deck but there was also a smaller table and two comfortable chairs inside. The air conditioning was great plus 2 ceiling fans meant it was easy to control the temperature. Staying for more than 7 nights meant free airport transfers and breakfast. The breakfast is set up by the pool, excellent choice of cereals, breads, pastries, huge bowls of fresh fruit and yoghurts etc plus barista style coffee, it was excellent and a nice way to meet other guests.
The location was very good, walking distance to everything and quiet at night. Staff were friendly and helpful. One of the 2 pools was heated and both were in a lovely garden setting. Loved Port Douglas and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here in 2007 for almost a week and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, great appartement and nice breakfast. Pool was refreshing, the frogs kept us company on the patio and the fact that it's near to the town was perfect as well. Price is about right, but could include breakfast in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. They showed us to our apartment on the ground floor next to the reception of the hotel. The apartment was clean, but it was serviced only once during our 7-day stay. Location was perfect as we were able to walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Wi-Fi internet connection was available at a small charge per hour. Since my laptop could not connect to the network, staff kindly lent us their notebook to check our emails, at no charge.
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple.

Room Tip: Apartments facing the main pool have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conpoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#12 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing