We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had read previous reviews on trip advisor and were a little scared.. But were totally happy on arrival to get our clean, spacious apt. Beautiful setting, up high amongst trees, very Balinese style. Rooms well appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Bonus breakfasts, transport incl in price. We loved the privacy of our room also. Nobody walking past. Very cool.
Overall would definetly go back and stay and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: specify if you want ground floor. 3rd floor maybe bit hard for some travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank incite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in a studio spa. We were greatly disappointed with this resort especially given it's apparent 4.5 star rating. Our first night, no king size bed as advertised, no hot water, no working telephone, no tv remote control, stains on the bedspread, spa jets barely worked, cupboards dank and musty, crockery dirty, rust in the microwave and we're not difficult people to please. There is nowhere to eat meals except sitting on the bed. An outside setting is provided if you are willing to put up with the mosquitoes. We were grateful to be on the ground floor as inadequate lighting made negotiating staircases extremely dangerous. The resort is in desperate need of a full upgrade to bring it to the rating they claim to have. Breakfast was lovely served by the pool each morning, although better use of available space would help ease congestion. Most staff were pleasant, however we found management less than helpful, cold and unwelcoming. We felt intimidated asking for anything, as they were so unapproachable. Location to amenities is one of the only advantages to the Hibiscus .

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emtjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

had a great holiday made better by friendly staff and a great place to stay,close to all the local
entertainment and shops.having breakfast by the swiimming pool was a pleasure to be enjoyed
janice and wayne townsend

Room Tip: any rooms a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my partner and we had the best time! The hotel is beautiful and Bali theme inspired, beautiful timber walkways throughout the hotel. We liked that the rooms were not set out like the conventional boring hotel layout and our room was very private with a view of the front pool. In our room was a beautiful fresh platter or tropical fruit and champagne. The hotel is only thirty seconds walk from the shops, restaurants and the beach. We had the continental breakfast each morning which had a delicious assortment of food, coffee and tea made to order! Cafe style. The lady who runs the breakfast each morning was great!! Very friendly and it's nice to wake up and have a friendly person there to greet you in the morning. We also had two back massages which left us in a daze for the rest of the day! I was a little worried reading some comments before I went on the holiday but I was blown away I really could not fault it. It's in a prime position and really is a beautiful hotel. We spent our last two nights at another hotel to try something different and it had extremely better ratings than the Hibiscus and we regretted it we had the worst stay at the other hotel. Sometimes reviews arn't everything and it comes down to the individual experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Returned to this area of Queensland and after a few days in a Cairns, although nice, it was excellent to return to the this resort. I love the palm trees and the pool area with its modern bbqs. This time, as we booked early, maybe that didn't matter we got the room on the top floor on the end, room 35 (?). As it is on the end of the building, the balcony on this room opens to on two sides, and lines up with the tree tops. Last review said this balcony was slightly bigger but not sure about this, might just feel bigger because it is more open.
Wife hurt herself at the beach and the resort staff were very helpful and friendly.
Room has flat screen TV and has resort has modern Bali look about it and there is a spa/massage area. This end room has a big window in sitting area that I dont think the other room we stayed in last time had.
Hibiscus close to beach, about 4 minutes walk and 1 block from the main street, which in this town is essentual. The little kitchen in the room is great for saving a little bit of always having to venture out for food. Tip would be this well presented corner room, or the one below it I assume is the same but the view would not be as good, and to book any restaurants as soon as possible, they are popular and you have to wait a cuple of nights for the flashy ones. Great Place, great stay.

Room Tip: Top rooms on ends, balcony open on 2 sides, guessing no35 from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Runningman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hibiscus Resort is in a great location, only 1 block away from Macrosson Street, a 3 min walk to the beach, everything within walking distance.
The 1 bedroom studio apartment was good, and provided the basics we needed.

Room Tip: Try and get on a ground floor apartment if you have lots of bags, otherwise you'll have to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 8 nights from the 9th July in a studio room on the top floor. No lift but we were offered help to carry our bags. The room was spacious for a studio and beautifully decorated, the table and chairs were on the deck but there was also a smaller table and two comfortable chairs inside. The air conditioning was great plus 2 ceiling fans meant it was easy to control the temperature. Staying for more than 7 nights meant free airport transfers and breakfast. The breakfast is set up by the pool, excellent choice of cereals, breads, pastries, huge bowls of fresh fruit and yoghurts etc plus barista style coffee, it was excellent and a nice way to meet other guests.
The location was very good, walking distance to everything and quiet at night. Staff were friendly and helpful. One of the 2 pools was heated and both were in a lovely garden setting. Loved Port Douglas and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 - 22 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £96 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing