We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Canberra
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I booked a studio room for 2 nights over the internet. We arrived to find the room stuck in the corner with a view of the wall of the next building - so much for the Hibiscus! I later found out that all the studio rooms have this outlook due to the design of the building, whereas the apartments have a view towards the courtyard pool area. I wish I had known this before I booked.
The 'balinese' decor was a joke. The bathroom was an internal room that had a louvred 'window' into the lounge area which was great for privacy! There was a huge day bed in the room that was too big to be comfortable for sitting but there was no table in the room to eat food.
The timber walkways to the apartments were very dark at night - only lit by a few kerosene lamps. This was dangerous at a couple of points where you could have fallen off the walkway or kicked the stairs that jutted out onto it.
We noticed people having breakfast around the pool in the morning but we were not told anything about this when we arrived and there was no information in the room, so we just went up the street to the shops which on the positive side were not far away.
We planned to stay a few more days in Port Douglas but were so put off by this place that we moved to another place down the road which was much better and cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the studio rooms - you can find much better places in Port Douglas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    126
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
192
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My fiance and I recently booked a Spa Suite 5 days prior to arriving in Port Douglas. When we arrived, we were greeted by a lovely lady who walked us to our room and showed us a map of Port Douglas.

The room was better than expected and very private. We were in suite 50a which was a top floor suite. We had everything that we needed and more. It was private and quite, and being up the top meant we heard hardly anything.

The balcony had a table and two chairs with fully opening bi-fold doors to open up the suite completely to the balcony.

We utilised the spa/jacuzzi in our room both nights and it was completely relaxing. We also used both pools on site and it met our expectations.

The room had a flat screen TV, DVD player and iPod dock. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless.

The only reason I rated down one spot was because there was a few minor defects in our room, (that we weren't phased by) which were missing handles on drawers and the fact that the rooms are not serviced daily.

The resort is in a fantastic location and will absolutely be the place that we will choose when we next return to Port Douglas.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a "Spa Suite", very much worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had read previous reviews on trip advisor and were a little scared.. But were totally happy on arrival to get our clean, spacious apt. Beautiful setting, up high amongst trees, very Balinese style. Rooms well appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Bonus breakfasts, transport incl in price. We loved the privacy of our room also. Nobody walking past. Very cool.
Overall would definetly go back and stay and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: specify if you want ground floor. 3rd floor maybe bit hard for some travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in a studio spa. We were greatly disappointed with this resort especially given it's apparent 4.5 star rating. Our first night, no king size bed as advertised, no hot water, no working telephone, no tv remote control, stains on the bedspread, spa jets barely worked, cupboards dank and musty, crockery dirty, rust in the microwave and we're not difficult people to please. There is nowhere to eat meals except sitting on the bed. An outside setting is provided if you are willing to put up with the mosquitoes. We were grateful to be on the ground floor as inadequate lighting made negotiating staircases extremely dangerous. The resort is in desperate need of a full upgrade to bring it to the rating they claim to have. Breakfast was lovely served by the pool each morning, although better use of available space would help ease congestion. Most staff were pleasant, however we found management less than helpful, cold and unwelcoming. We felt intimidated asking for anything, as they were so unapproachable. Location to amenities is one of the only advantages to the Hibiscus .

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emtjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

had a great holiday made better by friendly staff and a great place to stay,close to all the local
entertainment and shops.having breakfast by the swiimming pool was a pleasure to be enjoyed
janice and wayne townsend

Room Tip: any rooms a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my partner and we had the best time! The hotel is beautiful and Bali theme inspired, beautiful timber walkways throughout the hotel. We liked that the rooms were not set out like the conventional boring hotel layout and our room was very private with a view of the front pool. In our room was a beautiful fresh platter or tropical fruit and champagne. The hotel is only thirty seconds walk from the shops, restaurants and the beach. We had the continental breakfast each morning which had a delicious assortment of food, coffee and tea made to order! Cafe style. The lady who runs the breakfast each morning was great!! Very friendly and it's nice to wake up and have a friendly person there to greet you in the morning. We also had two back massages which left us in a daze for the rest of the day! I was a little worried reading some comments before I went on the holiday but I was blown away I really could not fault it. It's in a prime position and really is a beautiful hotel. We spent our last two nights at another hotel to try something different and it had extremely better ratings than the Hibiscus and we regretted it we had the worst stay at the other hotel. Sometimes reviews arn't everything and it comes down to the individual experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Returned to this area of Queensland and after a few days in a Cairns, although nice, it was excellent to return to the this resort. I love the palm trees and the pool area with its modern bbqs. This time, as we booked early, maybe that didn't matter we got the room on the top floor on the end, room 35 (?). As it is on the end of the building, the balcony on this room opens to on two sides, and lines up with the tree tops. Last review said this balcony was slightly bigger but not sure about this, might just feel bigger because it is more open.
Wife hurt herself at the beach and the resort staff were very helpful and friendly.
Room has flat screen TV and has resort has modern Bali look about it and there is a spa/massage area. This end room has a big window in sitting area that I dont think the other room we stayed in last time had.
Hibiscus close to beach, about 4 minutes walk and 1 block from the main street, which in this town is essentual. The little kitchen in the room is great for saving a little bit of always having to venture out for food. Tip would be this well presented corner room, or the one below it I assume is the same but the view would not be as good, and to book any restaurants as soon as possible, they are popular and you have to wait a cuple of nights for the flashy ones. Great Place, great stay.

Room Tip: Top rooms on ends, balcony open on 2 sides, guessing no35 from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Runningman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#30 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing