We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is centrally located to everything in Port Douglas, shopping, the marina, restaurants and 4mile beach. The rooms are large and private with 2 swimming pools to choose from and the continental breakfast is awesome. You can also cook your own meals in the room with BBQ's outside in the pool area. The staff is super friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2heartsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at the Hibiscus resort for a week and the end of Nov 2013, was absolutely fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms where nice size and clean with beautiful furnishings. The only disappointment was there was no bar to get drink and nibbles from whilst lazing in the gorgeous pool and breakfast could definitely be improved offering more variety and including a hot breakfast.
Was great value for money, will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for a couple days with my fiance and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Port Douglas. When walking up to the reception you're greeted with the calm scent of Nag Champa and a smile from the host. It's a smaller property but there are two pools and a night there are tiki torches lighting the paths between the resort.

Being that the room we booked was setup in a two twin configuration we were moved to the spa room which was a welcomed upgrade. The room was nicely appointed and apart from needing a proper dusting the only thing that could have been better was to improve the process for converting two twins to a king bed as the seam between the two was rather uncomfortable.

Overall, it was a great stay and we would/will return. Port Douglas was fun to visit and the diving was top notch. Am looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Didn't actually stay at this resort, but went to the spa for a massage while in PD. It was absolutely divine. The staff were really accommodating from the start, the products were lovely and the music was calming didgeridoo sounds - not those annoying "relaxing" CDs most spas have on repeat. A beautiful experience and I'll be back for sure. Only minor issue was it finished a few minutes early which was a bummer because I was loving it so much!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Pagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed on a 5 day deal which included breakfast and massage. Resort is only a 5 to 10 min walk to shops and restaurants in Main Street. Safe swimming beach is less than 10 min walk. Room was located on top floor (walk up 30 steps)' overlooking small pool. We were more than happy with the apartment, bed was comfortable, adequate cooking facilities, separate toilet, shower and bath. Breakfast provided a range of cereals,breads, fruits and drinks. Weber BBQs are provided near both pool areas.

Room Tip: Select a room on top floor. We had room 24 which overlooked the small pool and spa.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R0sie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have recently stayed at the Hibiscus Spa resort in Port Douglas Eastern Australia. A very comfortable apart hotel style room with living area, small kitchenette, good sized bedroom and bathroom. A continental breakfast was included which you have open plan by one of the two swimming pools and the spa is a tranquil area with lovely massages.
The hotel is only a hundred yards away from the town centre which is a really lovely small size with loads of eating places. The beach and Marina is also close by where you can take boat trips to the Great Barrier Reef.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimonerosKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We purchased a 5 night package to Hibiscus and were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The lady behind the desk was very helpful showing us our room. The room was quite large with a balcony which looked over the pool/spa area near the front of the resort.
The actual resort was beautiful with decking and flora which resembled something out of Thailand.
We spent most of our time by the pool and spa, and used the BBQ's provided to cook our dinner.
The ladies at breakfast each morning were so polite and welcoming. The macadamia museli there is to die for!
We had a massage as a part of our package which was blissful, and we really enjoyed our time at the Hibiscus. We will be back. Such a relaxing and peaceful place, great location to the main street and to the marina.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 - 22 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £96 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing