We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tropical Setting”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel was a nice change from the big chain hotels. The stairways to the rooms were surrounded by tropical plants. They have two very nice pools built to compliment the tropical environment. It was an easy walk to the main street in town where we found plenty of good restaurants.
The included breakfast was perfect for us. Lots of fresh fruit, rolls, breads that could be toasted, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea, juices etc. We were always there early so we never had a problem with crowds as stated in other reviews. The room we had was very large, with a outdoor private balcony, a sitting room with the TV and kitchenette, the bedroom and the bath. The only problem we had was the air conditioner was in the bathroom in the back. Since the power was off when we were out of the room, It was warm when we returned from our daily adventures. The front room never really cooled off and when we took a shower in the bathroom, we froze.
The only other issue was that our room was on the 3rd floor, up a lot of stairs. We needed help getting our luggage up, but they did have a staff member do that for us. I assumed that for individuals who can not manage the stairs, they have 1st floor rooms available.
We found the management to be quite friendly. As we waited for our daily tours to pick us up, he came out and chatted with us. One day a woman came over from another hotel looking to buy a cup of coffee, and he gave her a pass so that she could get coffee free, even though she wasn't a guest. The lady in charge of the breakfast was so friendly that on the day we left, she kissed and hugged us!

Room Tip: If you have trouble negotiating stairs, ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    131
    53
    14
    9
See reviews for
62
205
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perfect location - so close to shops and restaurants on the Port Douglas main strip. Easy walk to the beach too. But still a quiet spot for relaxing. And a convenient base for daytrips. Leafy garden, great pools and the Balinese-style decor gives the place a nice tropical feel. Spacious rooms. I noticed some reviewers complained about breakfast but we didn't have a problem finding a seat by the pool - worst case you can take the food back to your room and sit on your private balcony. Muesli/fruit/coffee/juice/toast - all the basics were covered. Free DVD hire at reception was a nice touch - we enjoyed relaxing in the evening after dinner with a movie or two. Some staff were fantastic - others were a bit ordinary. Spa is well worth a visit - I felt amazing after my luxurious and very relaxing treatment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sendmail2linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Lovely setting, beautiful lush gardens and a great location as just a short walk from the main street. we enjoyed a week here with our two young kids however the breakfast room by the pool is tiny. Not very well set up as it is a small space and there are not enough tables or staff to manage. It is not ideal for young kids as it backs onto the pool.
The manager was very unfriendly and for this reason alone I will not be returning here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0zzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. Nice rooms, compact setting, heated pool, breakfast by the pool, close to the Main Street, marina and beach. Interconnecting rooms basically meant we had 2 of everything. The only down side is that breakfast can be a little crazy with little room to move around the buffet and seating is limited. The day spa is outstanding and operated by very nice people. I'd go back anyday.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely resort with friendly and excellent service,especially with our breakfast host!
Massage was great and relaxing.
Air conditioning works perfectly.
Enjoyed our stay immensely.
Thanks.
Regards,
Jan

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JANET R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

stayed at this hotel in 2007. Very lush, and tropical. Loved our room. Very romantic for couples. Nice pool area. Felt like you were staying in the rainforest. Our room had a small kitchenette area, so we walked to the mainstreet in Port Douglas, and got some groceries. It was a short walk to the mainstreet in Port Douglas for eating, shopping or a walk about! Very nice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Spent a week here for our wedding anniversary. Was fantastic as we had 3 days just relaxing and reading by the pool. Staff were wonderful and breakfast was lovely with a fantastic setting. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#36 of 43 in Port Douglas
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing