We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Have just returned from a great weeks stay at Hibiscus. The deal was obtained through cudo. So glad we took it. Nice relaxing, great location, excellent reception girl, nothing was a problem. Easy walk into town and the marina.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    127
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
195
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked the Hibiscus from a deal on Luxury Escapes that included 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with continental breakfast, a dinner for 2 at Harrisons, two 30 min massages and a bottle of bubbles and strawberries on arrival. Was a bargain deal but unfortunately for us we booked our flights first before ringing the resort to book our dates in for August ( booked back in January) but they were booked out of the 1 bedroom so we could only get a Studio room for the same price. Was our fault for not checking before we booked the flights in. ( boxing day sales so could not change without fees) The studio room was still fine with cooking facilities and a small bathroom but very small and a view over the car park. The resort was lovely and like a little Bali oasis, I would of loved to sit on the balcony overlooking 1 of the 2 pools. Breakfast was great but a little crowded but fantastic selection for a lighter breakfast. The location was fantastic too, I would stay here again for sure. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming too. Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't too kind so we didn't get to use the pools as they looked beautiful. They also had bbq facilities if you wished to cook.Also free undercover parking and in our deal we got a 1.5 hr Sunset Cruise on Sailaway but it was cancelled due to maintainence issues so we received a 1.5 hr river cruise on Lady Douglas but the weather was terrible so no sunset and no crocodiles ha ha, just bad luck for us. Overall a lovely Resort for a great price.

Room Tip: A room overlooking 1 of the 2 pools.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank binbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment. I'd like to return! It's at the end of a street that' just off the main Macrossan Street and a short stroll to the beach so gets great location points! The plantation shutters in the rooms were great becasue they blocked out the morning light which is an important factor for me plus they look great! And let the cool air in when you need it. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. Lovely balcony to sit out on overlooking the pool. The pools were great (and heated yay!) So why not five stars? Well, the rug in the main room was a trip hazard. Curled at one edge so we put a book on it during our stay. You might think I'm being picky and well yes I am but I think it's important that this sort of thing is fixed. The kitchen is looking a little tired but again I'm being picky. We stayed one level up overlooking the pool where they have breakfast outside for guests, beautiful spot, but I was woken up both mornings by the staff member setting up brekkie at 6ish in the morning. Difficult to do silently I know! Not an issue if you're an early bird or heavy sleeper but was an issue for me. So you might want to request a room that overlooks the other pool away from happy breakfasters! Finally a light is needed at the bottom of the stairs which lead into the car park as I fell down a step one night. All that said it's a great place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We returned to Hibiscus Gardens seven years after our first stay there and we loved it then. This time we return married and with two children. The value for money and location is great. We had two adjoining rooms. They are a little dark but very comfortable and have everything you need for a family of four. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen has the basics. The pools are great. You are close to the beach. Easy parking underneath if you have a car. Walking distance to the main street. The staff are friendly and the morning breakfast is pretty good. It's an easy family holiday and offers value for money. The onsite spa is also very good. At times you can feel like you are in a bit of a fish bowl as all the rooms face onto the pool but it is a nice outlook and tropical flowers adorn the building and balconies. Try to get a room up high as the balconies are better and more private.

Room Tip: We have always had a room on one of the top levels and that has been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousKateTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently had 8 days at this wonderful boutique hotel. We stayed in Unit 30 which is a studio. The room was beautifully appointed and the small private balcony was a bonus. It provided for all amenities including irons, TV, music, etc The hotel is very close to town 50 mts and about 350 mts from the beach. The girls on reception were helpful. The hotel has 2 pools and BBQ facilities available. The room also has a small kitchen with crockery and utensils provided if you want to cater for meals. Port Douglas is a wonderful small town with so much to offer. We had exceptional meals at the Salsa Bar, Harrison, Buci, and a new Spanish Tapas Bar opposite the market area. You MUST come here!!!!!

Room Tip: Loved Apartment 30.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padame007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantirna, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with a Luxury Escapes deal. Staff were fantastic - very helpful and friendly. Room was in bottom level of 3 stories and didn't get much light. A bit dark and smelled slightly damp. Quite, central, convenient location. Lots of noise from the people in apartment above. Would go back, but only if I could book 3rd floor apartment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff were very helpful. area was beautiful and well maintained.
The only down fall was the mosquitos but that was due to the time of year we visited. if you went in the wet season - october - february you would find no mosquitos.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#11 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#12 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing