We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This resort is a lovely resort with very clean, modern and spacious rooms that have air con and all the desired facilities. The staff are welcoming and couldn't be more helpful advising on the local area. The pool area was clean and lovley with a warm pool that was big enough for a miniture swim and comfy sun beds to relax on in the late afternoon. The resort is a short walk from the town which makes a nice stroll to do some shopping. Overall a very very pleasing stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    138
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
213
350
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights here visiting port Douglas. Ann could not do enough for us helping with trips, pool towels, late check outs etc. real personal care. Pool is lovely, rooms well equipped. Perfect location to get into the restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Freestyle Resort. It is impossible to find fault with this remarkably good (self-catering) accommodation. Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. The personal efforts Anne puts into ensuring her guests have a good stay have been commented on in many other reviews: she is indefatigable in making her guests feel welcome and in arranging tours and providing dependable advice on places to visit, eat and shop.
The resort is conveniently located a short walk from the main business streets of Port Douglas. It offers free wifi, free towels for use on barrier reef outings or with the swimming pool, and free "starter" sets of toiletries and hot drink ingredients so you don't suffer before you get a chance to visit the supermarket in town.
Thank you, Anne and Jason, for giving us such a fine place to stay for our visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just had an amazing 7 nights stay at Freestyle Port Douglas. I was guided by the trip advisor comments when deciding my accommodation. Freestyle didn't disappoint it was exactly what we were after. Lovely quiet smaller Boutique style resort. Very very clean, home away from home. Gorgeous pool and tropical gardens. We stayed in the 2 BR loft style apartment with the kids bedroom upstairs. The stairs wouldn't suit small children too steep but our 13 yo and 10 yo fine. Ann and Jason are fantastic and very helpful if you have younger kids they have adjoining apartments with no stairs. It's not too far from Macrossan st probably about a 10 min walk. Cars are pretty cheap to hire so we had a car for the week. We self catered for breakfast and lunch and ate out at night. We ate alot at the Hogs Breath Cafe on the marina wharfe as the kids dine there when at home. We can't wait to go back to Freestyle which we will be soon. As if the place couldn't get any better Ann and Jason were upgrading with new beds and furniture just as we left. Can't wait to go back and try out the new beds. Ann has a tour desk and will book your tours for you and guide you to the best ones. Thanks Ann and Jason for a lovely Holiday !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhorsegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have stayed at Freestyle Resort quite a few times now and every single time, we are received with real genuine friendliness, not to mention a lot of help with arranging any activities and assistance with dining venues. Shops, restaurants, marina are all within a short walk. We sometimes purchase fresh local seafood and cook on the freestyle bbq, so convenient. The rooms in the resort are always spotless as is the whole resort. Freestyle is a very intimate resort allowing for plenty of private quiet time, or socializing with other guests. The cooking facilities in the rooms are all that is needed for a relaxing holiday, not to mention the wonderful balconies, an ideal spot to sit and relax with a glass of wine to finish off the day. We will go back to Freestyle over and over again. Such a friendly intimate atmosphere and environment, not a large commercial style resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at Freestyle and enjoyed every minute. Anne welcomed us warmly and took us straight to our room at 10.30, much earlier than most hotels would. She gave us great advice on booking trips and where to go in the nearby town centre. We received a welcome pack of teas, coffee and milk to help us get started plus a delicious platter of fruit.
We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and comfortable. the free WIFI was quick and reliable which helped us keep in touch. The pool and spa were clean and most welcome, especially in the warm evenings. We always look forward to holidays in new places but accept that there may be some minor disappointments, this was not the case at Freestyle.
If not for the fact that we live in England we would go back soon. In the meantime we have recommended it to family and friends in Australia.

Room Tip: Not all rooms will have a view that you prefer so be specific if you want to say overlook the pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a two-bedroom duplex for 2 nights. I loved Anne's warm and informative welcoming and right away got a few ideas of where to eat and what to do. It was no issue to check in early. The room was obviously way to big for only 2 adults, but so convenient to each have a bathroom when getting ready in the morning. The apartment comes with a very well equipped kitchenette, a balcony overlooking the saltwater (?) pool as well as a small family room with flat screen tv and all the channels you could wish for in a hotel room. There is a paying washing machine and dryer on site as well, which we gladly used. I will definitively come back to Freestyle should I come back to Port Douglas.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
576 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing