We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort close to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Freestyle. We were travelling with another couple and shared a two bedroom unit. It was adorable, with a bedroom and bath on the main floor, and a second bedroom and bath in the loft. It had a nice roomy balcony overlooking the outdoor pool. We used the pool and it was great. The hotel is about two blocks from the main shopping area in Port Douglas. Overall, it was clean, well cared for and the manager, Anne, was exceptional in her efforts to make us feel both welcome and informed about restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolsticeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for seven nights. First floor pool view. Fantastic accommodation. Clean. Friendly helpful owners. Well equipped. Not right in town but a nice walk home after indulging on Port Douglas's restaurant options (10 min walk) Easy walk to the beach (5 min walk) It's simply great value for money.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank enners78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay in Port Douglas. Great location and perfect accomodations. What really made our stay was Anne. Our flight had been delayed from the states and Anne was super helpful in making sure out airport transfers were adjusted. Every question we had, Anne was able to provide a great recommendation. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the value studios. It had a nice little garden outside and was a great value for...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Younglm423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our apartment was newly refurbished and a good choice for our 5 night stay. We had a view overlooking the small, but adequate pool which was cleaned daily. The resort is very well located within easy walking distance of the main street, beach and wharf in Port Douglas and the hosts were very welcoming and helpful and will offer advice on tours/trips and book them for you with the tour companies. Port Douglas is well served with cafes, restaurants, bars and a good supermarket as well as takeaways.
We were in Oz for a 3 week trip from the UK and wanted a base for the reef and rainforest trips for our last few days. This resort was just about perfect for us.

Room Tip: If you are not fit, then ask for a ground floor room since there is no lift for the upper floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My, now, husband and I stayed at the freestyle for our Honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Anne and Jason were so kind and welcoming, staying at the freestyle was like a home from home. There are washers and dryers for guests use which is fantastic if you need to freshen up your washing. The kitchen was kitted out perfectly and there were plenty of utensils and crockery for eating in. The apartment we stayed in was spacious, well laid out and had plenty of comfy furniture.

Anne who mans reception is so helpful and gave us some great tips on which trips to go on. Flames of the Forest cannot be missed-it was the most amazing food experience!

The swimming pool and gardens are absolutely beautiful. We loved the covered spa area of the pool, it was lovely to sit in the water out of the sun. Coming from the UK we were excited to see the flat top barbeque for the guests!

The hotel is a mere, few minutes’ walk away from the main street and from the four mile beach- our first morning we knew we’d arrived in paradise as we could smell coconuts on the breeze!

We absolutely loved our stay at the Freestyle, Anne and Jason made us feel so at home when we were half way around the world. We highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTartanLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Jason was such a great host, gave us very helpful information/ maps as soon as we arrived! Hotel is extremely neat and well kept, rooms were perfectly sized and presentation was lovely- only a tiny walk from main shops! We appreciated all the help and tips from Jason, who made it such a relaxed and easy going holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

On arriving in Australia the first place we stayed was in Port Douglas, at the Freestyle. It was just great. We stayed for a week and felt like we could have stayed there the whole 4 weeks!

Freestyle is not a 5* hotel and does not claim to be. What it is a good quality, simple apartment hotel complex - boutique, peaceful, clean and extremely relaxing with an attractive tropical pool and BBQ area. It is not right on the beach nor right in the town but it is in a good location for getting to both.

The apartment we had was spacious and spotlessly clean with all the cooking utensils you could possibly need to self cater should you be that way inclined. The separate lounge area was huge with tasteful, simple decoration. The balcony area was perfect and had space to hang out wet clothes (although in the tropical heat not much dried!!). The bedroom was a reasonable size with an open cupboard area and a free safety deposit box to use. The bathroom was again a reasonable size with toiletries provided. The aircon and fans worked a treat.

The service from Anne obviously always gets a mention and rightly so. She is friendly and helpful but leaves you to get on with it if that is what you prefer, totally unobtrusive. She booked our trip to the Great Barrier Reef which was fantastic and helped us with information to hire bikes. She also rearranged our arrival pick-up from the airport by 5 hours at short notice (over email) which gave us a full extra half a day in the resort rather than hanging around the airport - what great service, thank you.

There is so much to do in the area. We would recommend doing the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Mossman Gorge and the Wildlife Habitat. PD is a good place to go but a small point is that we found the restaurants a bit more expensive than the rest of the places we visited in Australia.

You won't be disappointed, it's a no brainer- just book it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £99 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing